We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Plaza de Italia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Iberia(Caceres)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Goya(Caceres)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (108)
    Filter reviews
    108 results
    Traveller rating
    31
    44
    19
    6
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    31
    44
    19
    6
    8
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 108 reviews
    Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

    The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodated our early check-in. Great location close to the Plaza Mayor. We had a good-sized room with twin beds and lovely view. The hostal staff were quick to clean our room while we were out sightseeing in the morning, so we could come back for a rest in the afternoon. The bathroom has a small shower, but there was lots of room to put our toiletries, and toiletries were provided. It had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Good value for money.

    We initially had some trouble with the wifi signal, but it was quickly resolved. Unfortunately, the second day I had no connection again.

    We asked for a room with a view, and we could see the fields beyond Cáceres from our window. We stayed in room 23.

    The breakfast in the hotel is expensive at €5, but there are excellent cheaper breakfasts around the corner at Bar Las Cancelas and Café Cristobal.

    Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    Thank Yvette D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 April 2016

    This hostal is about a 10-minute walk down to the Monumental Cener, and a 15-minute walk back. It is a bit uphill. Y0Ou walk down directly into the Plaza Mayor, on the way passing Los Ibericos, a great place to eat.

    The young people who manage the hotel are very nice, very helpful and speak good English. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on, but not "hidden gems".

    The room is comfortable, with reading lights (I look for those) My only complaint is that the room was very small. The double bed was just that, a double bed, and a bit small for two larger people. However, there was no room to put a larger bed, as there was less than 12 inches of space from the bottom of the bed to the wall, which made walking around to the far side a bit of a pain.

    We chose not to have breakfast her,e as the "pastries" were industrial ones wrapped in plastic - but if you like cereal, coffee, orange juice, etc., it is very convenient. The coffee is from a Mr. Coffee coffeemaker, not my favorite in Europe!

    Room Tip: I think all the rooms are exactly the same size. All face the street, which is very quiet.
    • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Peg K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 May 2015

    Arriving by car, we found easy free parking along Plaza de Italia, and left the car there overnight. If you prefer there is also a public multi-storey parking facility nearby. The hostel room was quite small, but functional in providing us with a cheap bed for the night. The room was clean. If you get a second storey room, be aware there is no lift, but the staff help you carry bags if necessary. Wifi was available, but not consistently throughout the room. For better service you needed to stand close to the door or inside the bathroom. There was no noise from the outside street, but noise carried through from our next-door neighbours. This is probably inevitable in an old building, and rather than reflecting poorly on the hostel we would say it unfortunately is a reflection on the inconsiderateness of some fellow travellers. It takes 5 minutes to walk to the old town centre.
    The overall highlight of Hostal Plaza Italia was their friendly staff! Unfortunately we did not get the name of the guy who greeted us on arrival. He spoke excellent English, had a great sense of humour and gave us a list of the best restaurants to avoid the tourist traps. We ended up going to Cacharreria which is probably the best tapas restaurant we have ever been to. Thank you so much! The following morning Alejandro answered all our questions about the local region, gave us driving instructions and even carried our bags back to our car. Thank you!

    • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Service
    Thank Familytravellers22
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 April 2015

    The rooms are very clean. The bathrooms are a bit small but also clean and in a good state.
    The hostal is close to the Plaza Mayor as well as to the Plaza de toros and the city center.

    The owners are very nice and speak English. They welcomed me at 4am the first night I got there and now that I live on my own in Cáceres, we are still in touch.

    Room Tip: It is not a noisy area so I am convinced you will be fine in any of the rooms.
    • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Kathagina
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

    I stayed one night in this hotel. It is simple but brand new, rooms have comfortable beds and air conditioning. It's less than 10 minutes walking to the historic district of Cáceres. The owners are a young couple and make you feel at home. They're very knowledgeable about the city and will give you tips about what to visit, where to eat, etc. Great value for the price

    Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    Thank Ben_RC2013
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews