We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy renovation of a historic property”
Review of Parador de Caceres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Caceres
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Classy renovation of a historic property”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is one of the classic paradors, with a great location in the old walled portion of the city of Caceres. They've done a beautiful job with modernizing the bedrooms and part of the buildings while maintaining the feeling of being in a historic palace. Walking around the old city at night, with the buildings illuminated, was a wonderful experience. Very friendly staff, helpful front desk, and excellent restaurant with local specialties, in a beautiful setting that included an outdoor patio. Only downer was that an early heat wave hit while we were there, and they had not activated the cooling system in our part of the building yet (it had actually been cold the week before, and they stated that they had to inactivate the heating system before they could activate the A/C...) Also had a great buffet breakfast included in our rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtraveler007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    244
    54
    15
    4
See reviews for
166
443
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We spent one night here on our way south. We did not find it dificult to find as there are signs to the Parador all over the town and we had been to Caceres before! We found the instructions helpful on the Paradores site as you have to press an intercom at the traffic lights at the entrance to the old town in order to lower the bollards. Parking is very tricky in the narrow streets but we were fortunate to arrive early and gain a space in the Parador street parking area behind the hotel. The reception staff were really helpful. Our room was really spacious and clean and so was the lovely modern bathroom. First class. I know this Parador has been recently renovated and everything is spotless. The character has been retained and is full of atmosphere. We had a good meal in the restaurant, the weather being too poor to go out and find anything else. The location is excellent for exploring the old own. Breakfast was included in our package and it was really fresh and the coffee was hot for a change!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosita061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Difficult to find - especially as the streets are so narrow. But the welcome and reception generally were superb. Luiz - on reception - is a concierge in a million. Friendly, well-informed, practical, multi-lingual. The hotel is extremely fortunate to have such a person on the staff. Being Amigos - we benefited from the free parking (otherwise 18 euros a night). We followed the hotel minibus to the garage, and then Luiz took us and any luggage back. Same procedure on leaving. Wonderful.

Great room - despite being no 101! A comprehensive breakfast.

Room Tip: We only saw 101. Designed in the latest fashion. Comfortable - and amazingly powerful shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent two nights at the Parador de Caceres. As others have said, it is a bit tricky to get to but well worth the effort. It is in a perfect location for exploring the old city. The parador, according to other reviews, has recently been remodeled. As you look around, you can see the original structure of the old palaces that were incorperated into the modernization. Since it is the first parador we've stayed in, we have nothing to compare it to but it is beautiful. The rooms and bathrooms are very modern and comfortable. Our room was over the front entrance and was large and quiet. We had a lovely view over the surrounding hills. There are many places in the parador to relax, read a book, or surf the Internet for free using the parador's computer. The breakfast had something for everyone from cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, cheese, and local sausages to eggs. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler49855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed three nights, early November 2011. The room was excellent. The breakfast, incredibly complete. The Staff very helpful and cordial.
If you drive your car, you MUST get a very detailed route to get to the street in the back of the main entrance. In fact, you will get to a light and call from the phone at the post to get the hotel to lift a couple of barriers in the middle of the street.
I failed to get a detailed map...and ended up stopping a cab and asking him to convey me to the Parador (and of course, it cost me a fare).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Letsgoblues1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We were looking forward to revisiting this recently restored Parador, but found that it too like most of the other recently updated Paradors was lacking in character and cuisine. Only the reception desk, bathroom in our room and breakfast made us realize that we were indeed in a Parador, that is until the usual large bill was presented to us after two nights.

We ate nothing in the restaurant that could not have been prepared and presented in many country restaurants in Extremadura with at least twice the appeal.

Save your money and the tricky access (please be sure to read Parador website access notes) by taking some other hotel located outside the Caceres old town zone.

Room Tip: Palacio de Carvajal, which houses the local tourist office in the old town is both an interesting bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed in this Parador in 1994 or 1995, and again in Nov 2011 so I feel well placed to judge the impact of the recent renovations.

"Lacking charm" is harsh. The old Parador had lots of unused spaces, was a bit cold and echoey. Didn't feel comfortable in it, unlike the many others that I've stayed in.

The renovations have transformed the comfort levels of the place *as a hotel* whilst keeping the building alive as a cultural monument and an exemplar if the city and region.

I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caceres hotels
0.1 km away
NH Collection Caceres Palacio de Oquendo
2.3 km away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
5.4 km away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de Arenales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
982 reviews
0.1 km away
Atrio Restaurante Hotel Relais & Chateaux
0.3 km away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Caceres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Caceres

Property: Parador de Caceres
Address: Calle Ancha 6, 10003 Caceres, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caceres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Caceres
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caceres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Caceres 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador will be closed due to renovation work from September 1, 2009 to Spring, 2011. The closest Paradors to stay at are those in Mérida, Trujillo, Guadalupe, or Plasencia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Caceres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Caceres Hotel Caceres
Parador De Caceres cáceres
Parador De Caceres Hotel cáceres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing