We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An objective review of Castel Bigozzi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Ranked #5 of 15 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An objective review of Castel Bigozzi”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Here is my objective review of the good, bad, and the ugly of this Hotel.

The Good:
Beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside
A great base to explore the Tuscan area.
Away from all the hustle and bustle of the city.
An authentic Rustic tuscan feel to the large rooms
Beautiful Castel and grounds with a nice pool
Friendly Staff

The Bad:
Breakfast was only mediocre and expensive for selection as compared to other hotels
Kitchenette in the room was completely non functional including the sink
Somewhat hard to find without a GPS
No restaurants nearby, you will have to eat somewhere before you come back
No do not disturb service
Charge for pool towels, Really?

The Ugly:
A/C was basically non functional, one small a/c unit for a two very large rooms, a control wouldn't let you lower it beyond "cool" in an attempt for them to save money. I hope they don't respond to this and say they would move us if we would have asked, the bottom line is your guests should be comfortable in any room at any time of year. This may not be as much of an issue if you are not staying in the summer months.

The shower was a joke, we stayed in smaller hotels with less stars that had much much better showers. A rickady accordian style shower without any place to even place your soap, the hot water is in and out the entire shower.

So in summary, if you are willing to give up some conveniences for a great Tuscan location than this is the hotel for you. Personally I wouldn't go back, I would rather roll the dice on another place. Many of the reviews seem enthralled with the look of this place, which is great but not worth overlooking some of the basics a hotel at this price and with this number or stars should have.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ep2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    66
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
42
135
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I came here in June. The hotel or castel was very private and had incredible views. We stayed in a main floor room and it was large, good air conditioning, comfortable and felt "spa"ish. We especially enjoyed the fantastic breakfasts (huge selection) while having a view of the country side. We enjoyed sitting out by the pool each night taking in the sun set and enjoying a bottle of wine. Free internet, very friendly atmosphere. Went to the restaurant in Strove and it too was absolutely incredible. I would definitely recommend Castel Bigozzi to anyone traveling to the Tuscan region. It is close to all sights and was simply incredibly relaxing. We would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler10098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Relaxin Place, Wonderful, and charming.
I have been there for 3 day and I loved it! only one suggestion for the owner...the hotel is not very near other resturant, for that it will be grat if the resturant by the pool open also for dinner..
The brekfast also was very good and setting on a wonderful terrace!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeFlambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here for three nights, and the hilltop site is absolutely beautiful.If you think of this place as more of a rustic bed and breakfast, then you'll be happy. But as a 4-star hotel, it needs some fine tuning. The staff, though nice, are very laid back. We had a "suite" with a large sitting room, good sized bathroom with two sinks and comfortable bedroom (good view from our bedroom window). But the suite was somewhat spartan and the bathroom was equipped more like a 2-star. The tight shower was a little flimsy plastic enclosure that felt like it might fall over if you leaned against it. There wasn't even a place to put your soap in the shower. There was a bar, but it was not well equipped, the ice machine was broken and the staff really didn't know anything about mixing drinks.

There are several redeeming qualities of the hotel, however. It's an old castle, so you get the feel of history. The views of the Tuscan hills are unbeatable, and the grounds are lovely. Breakfast is served in the pool house, and was very good. You sit out on the pool house patio, with great views at breakfast---reaqlly pleasant. The pool is large and there is a nice sitting area around it. Plenty of free parking. There is free internet. No restaurant here, but there is an excellent family-run place in Strove, which you can walk to from the hotel, or there are several good places in Monteriggioni a 5-10 minute drive away. Overall, I would consider it a 3-star hotel in a 5-star location. A few fixes would make it truly a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very comfortable rooms. Staff was very helpful. Wooden bucket as the sink in the bathroom was fun. Big shower you could turn around in. Breakfast was superior. Location between Florence and Siena was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Relais Castel Bigozzi was perfectly suited to our needs. We booked early, got an excellent rate, and the included daily breakfast. The location requires a car but is very near the main highway and parking is free.
The name is slightly misleading. It is not a 'Castel' but more like a renovated large main farmhouse with gorgeous views of the rolling hills and nearby towns. An olive grove lines the entrance, while vines surround the back. The rooms are very clean but not luxurious. Do not expect to be 'every last whim' pampered, but come with an excellent guide book, an interest in the area, and a full tank of gas and you will not be disappointed. The breakfast is in a bright room with more excellent views, and is ample.
There is a Coop supermarket on the road with all the important staples, and the Futura Osteria in nearby (7 minute drive) Abbadia Isola was exceptional and affordable, and is open for lunch and dinner.
Our highlight was the classic Tuscan scenery, while the major drawback were the very, very, very thin walls. We could hear our neighbors wash their hands and ....

Room Tip: 2nd floor double w veranda has sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Pats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

After touring all the main cities in Italy, we were ready to spend the last several days of our vacation in the Tuscany area. We reserved a room at Castel Bigozzi and were truly in heaven. The property is relatively small and intimate, which is what we were looking for. The views of the Tuscan countryside made you gasp as you sat by the pool, on the patio sipping your favorite beverage or while eating breakfast. The breakfast had everything from fresh fruit to delicious cakes and pastry. Definitely something for everyone. We would love to return here and maybe even try a massage next time. The town of Strove is small, but other communities are in very close proximity. Strove has only one restaurant, so if you want to eat there, definitely make reservations. The meal was fantastic and offered a special dinner and price to hotel guests. On our last day, we drove to the Castel Montigerroni, which was close by. We wish that we would visited it earlier since it had a number of interesting restaurants and we would have loved to try one during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
1.6 km away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
865 reviews
4.7 km away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
197 reviews
3.3 km away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Castel Pietraio
Castel Pietraio
#8 of 11 in Monteriggioni
126 reviews
23.0 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
31.5 km away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castel Bigozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castel Bigozzi

Property: Relais Castel Bigozzi
Address: Loc Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castel Bigozzi 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel Bigozzi, one of the oldest and embattled castles of this area, rises in the land of Strove.In the Middle Ages this castle belonged to the ancestors of the ancient noble Montanini Family. Its coats of arms well relates its history: a red shield, like the earth that surrounds it, a black lion, symbol of courage and battles, glory and defeat .Historical chronicles in fact report that it was a place of refuge and protection for Ghibelline troops. Today, Castel Bigozzi is a hotel residence, offering hospitality to guests from the four corners of the world.A place of antique charm, immersed in the stillness of the Tuscan countryside, where you will feel enveloped by the warmth of the hospitable environment and by the richness of a land that speaks the language of Art, History, Nature and Traditions. An ideal place to find peace and to spend a totally relaxing holiday, in a land that never fails to surprise all year around.To Nature lovers this area offers many pathways for outings on foot, mountain bike or on horseback, following trails of bygone days, bringing the wanderer to breath-taking landscapes like the famous "Crete" of Siena (the Senese Clavey Hills), the Chianti, or one of the many thermal springs of the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Castel Bigozzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castel Bigozzi Hotel Monteriggioni
Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing