We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in a picture postcard setting- Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Astor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limone sul Garda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Astor
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I stayed here last month so he could participate in the annual Lake Garda Marathon. We used the past Trip Advisor reviews of this hotel to make our decision and could not be happier. The hotel and staff lived up to all expectations and we could not find fault with any aspect of our stay.
We opted for the half board option which gave us a huge selection at breakfast and a more than adequate choice at dinner and proved very good value for money when compared to the costs of the local Limone restaurants.
The majority of hotel guests were older German trourists and the friendly and helpful staff all spoke German fluently but had enough English for us not to struggle .
As we were driving, we decided to book a secure lock up garage located under the hotel - an extra 5euro per day- but could have easily and safely left the car in the hotel parking area on the road level.
The only minor gripe...no air conditioning as this is shut down throughout the hotel after mid September. We had unseasonably warm weather and some air conditioning would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anzacbiscuit08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2008

We stayed at the Astor for the week commencing 25 June. We wanted a small family run hotel with easy access to Limone but away from the bustle of the town. We booked through Thomas Cook and got a good price - £432 per head B&B. We were not disapponted - it ticked these boxes. and nearly all the others. The outstanding quality of the hotel is the staff. They are universally friendly, efficient and thoughtful, and attentive without being obsequious. Our room was all that we wanted - the bed was comfortable, adequate storage, air conditioning, which we used most of the time in view of the outside temperature, and a good shower/bath and general standard of furniture. Breakfast was well varied and nourishing - the usual continental offering of cold meats, cheese and fruit, plus various cereals and breads and their accompanying spreads. The dining room was bright and sunny, as was the star room of the hotel, the bar/lounge, which served a good range of drinks: for example my daughter got engaged in England during the stay and the hotel offered a very drinkable bubbly at a reasonable price with which to celebrate it.. We only ate in the hotel on one evening: the dinner was good if unmemorable, but the pasta sauce was described as "turnip tops" and we found it a bit greasy. We ate mainly at the Pizzeria near the beach which had a good selection of typically Italian dishes. The pool is well located just down the road and is of a reasonable size and very clean and well maintained, with adequate numbers of loungers and umbrellas. The hotel also is close to the lake's beach which is good for lake swimming in clean safe water. All in all we thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterdeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

My wife and I had a most enjoyable fortnight here in September with excellent weather and an average temperature of 25c. Our room was clean and nicely furnished, the only downside being the twin beds which didn't go together too well!! Our balcony had the most wonderful uninterrupted view of the lake, which was great for when we wanted to rest and see the ferries and boats go to and fro. The meals were very good with a good variety over the fortnight. We had a choice of 3 courses for the evening meal with a cold buffet for breakfast. A very pleasant dining room again overlooking the lake. At the top of the hotel was the lounge and bar with a patio terrace which we enjoyed our nightly after dinner drinks (my wife prefering a pot of tea - '...you English and your tea!!..') Down below was a very pleasant swimming pool patio area together with the hotel's own beach and pizzaria bar. The centre of Limone was only a 10 minute stroll away. The hotel staff were very pleasant and cheerful together with an enthusiastic lady cleaner who came in every morning and did a marvellous job. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank chris_lynrussell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

As many other reviewers have said, it was very difficult to fault the Hotel Astor. This hotel really was ideally located, set into the hillside and overlooking the Lake with stunning views. The center of Limone is literally about five minutes from the hotel along a lovely pathway passing olive groves and old lemon houses (although you can't see the lemon houses as you walk since they had very high walls).

The decor of the hotel was perhaps a little dated, probably from around about the seventies (but not in a garish way!), but we felt this gave it charm and it did not bother us at all. Since there were three of us, we had a triple room which was of ample size, and we also had a larger balcony than any of the other rooms.

The room was furnished with beds, a small television, a reasonably large fitted wardrobe and set of drawers, bed-side tables, good sized en-suite bathroom with a good shower, and a sliding door onto the balcony terrace. We could not fault the room at all and the cleanliness was superb, with a very hard working and friendly member of the cleaning staff who cleaned the room very thoroughly every day.

The staff in general were lovely people and acted as if you were more than just hotel guests. The hotel also has a lovely terrace on the top floor with a bar. The views from here were amazing.

As we were staying bed and breakfast we only sampled the hotel restaurant once (the restaurants in Limone were so nice!). The only problem here was that we were unaware that dinner choices had to be made at breakfast, but the staff were extremely accomodating and were only too happy to fit us in even though we had not followed the correct procedure.

The restaurant was a little restrictive given that you had to be there between 7.00pm and 7.30pm, but dinner itself finished at around 8.30pm and was delicious. The menu for the night we ate there had three choices for each course, and an excellent salad buffet too. It was a very nice meal and the staff were wonderful.

The hotel pool was absolutely perfect, a good size with a shallow end and a suitably deep end too, and also a baby pool. There were plenty of sun loungers which were always easy to get hold of (having stayed in some hotels where you almost never get a lounger this was a real treat!). The pool also looked as if it was located on the site of an old lemon house, although I cannot be certain of this.

Downstairs from the pool was a delightful little pizzeria, where again, the staff were excellent. The food was fantastic, if a little restricted to the typical tourist range of food! The pizzeria was also very close to the Lake and the hotel has a harbour and beach area on the Lake. It has to be said that some form of swimming shoes are required in the Lake as the 'shingle' beaches were sometimes a little more rocky! But if you climbed down a short ladder from the harbour then you didn't notice this so much. The lake was very cold but also recommended!

It should be noted that while most of the staff spoke reasonable English, German was clearly their forte, and menus and signage was often geared towards those speaking German. However, this is true of many places in Limone and the Lake towns in general, although hardly surprising considering that parts of the Lake used to belong to Austria.

One other point to note is that when you arrive at the hotel, you arrive on the road running above the hotel and you have to enter it down a flight of stairs to reach the reception (not great if you are lugging suitcases, as we were since we arrived by coach!) There was also parking available, although we did not use this. The reception is on the top floor, and you have to hand in your key every time you leave the hotel, which was a bit inconvenient but not exactly a hardship!

The only thing that might put people off staying here is the long transfer time from Verona airport, which we endured on a coach doing numerous hotel drop-offs around the lake. It is also a long trip to Verona if you are doing a day-trip. But if you are thinking of staying here, please do not let that put you off staying in what is a really excellent hotel in a lovely little town on the lake. I really wish I had not had to leave and would go there again in a second.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Impala67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

This was our first time in Limone, Lake Garda and I couldn't fault a thing. The Hotel Astor was fantastic, the food was excellent, the hotel was spotless, everything was really well organised. The staff were friendly and catered for every need. There was a really great restuarant next to the beach area which also served great food. I would definitely recommend this hotel and resort and I would go back again tomorrow.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HampshireItalylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2006

We are a party of 4 between 36-51
This is the 2nd year running that we have stayed at this superb hotel. We could not find any fault at all. Antonio who appears to run the restaurant is absolutely brilliant, he never gets flustered never rushes, but always manages to get everything right, we also did not have to wait long for our meals, even though the restaurant was full, and there only appeared to be himself and another person serving. The hotel staff are all very friendly, and can not do enough for you.
All the rooms over look the lake, and has a lovely snack bar with pool which is right on the edge of the lake, the staff at the snack bar are also very efficient, and friendly.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday. We plan to book again for the same time next year. It would make it the 8th year running that we have stayed on lake garda, the 6th time in Limone. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sallytomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2005

Just spent a very nice 7 nights at the Astor and could not find fault with anything. The rooms were spacious and very quiet as the rooms are well away from the main road. Nice balcony overlooking the lake with fantastic views. Only a 10 minute walk into Limone and the boat dock. The food was first class. A good continental spread for breakfast and a good menu choice for dinner. There was always something for everyone as well as an ample salad buffet. Service was just right for us, the hotel was quite full so we had a nice gap between each course as some of the pasta starters were quite large portions. The staff do a wonderful job as they are very busy at dinner as most people tend to arrive at the same time. Dinner is between 7 and 7.30pm but if you go down around 7.15pm you will find things not quite so busy. The hotel has a very nice private pool and beach area with bar and cafe serving very good lunches at very competitive prices. This hotel is definitely worth every one of it's 4 stars. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DocHoliday22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
230 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
102 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#28 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
200 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Ilma
Hotel Ilma
#21 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
177 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 76, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#18 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: $116 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astor 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Astor Limone Sul Garda, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing