We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful accomodation in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Pietro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Liss
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the San Pietro from 11 to 18 May as part of a First Choice holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is in a wonderful location just above Limone (but be aware that it is a 15 minute walk from the town and the route is quite steep).

It is designated four star and this can certainly be applied to the accommodation. Our room was spacious and well equipped with a large furnished balcony and conscientiously cleaned daily. The view over the lake was stunning (I think all rooms face the lake but please check). And the superbly maintained gardens are a delight.

The dining experience was OK but not wonderful. I knew beforehand that evening meals are buffet style but I was not expecting the dining room to be so cramped. Tables were set VERY close together. A cosy table for two was most definitely out of the question. The food was plentiful and good but usually only luke-warm. And since we were in Italy, where were all the Italian cheeses?

The bar was a bit of a disappointment as well. It was closed prior to dinner, so we could not buy an aperitif. This was no big deal in itself since we merely used the mini-bar and had a drink on our own balcony. Also, we found it a bit strange that we could not buy a glass of wine from the bar. Only a bottle or half bottle. And the wine list consisted of only one type of white wine, one rose and two reds. And this in an area where all sorts of wine are grown locally - the Osteria Livio (a bar just up the road from San Pietro) has at least twenty available.

Entertainment varied from good to excellent (the classical trio were especially noteworthy).

But overall we greatly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeljohnmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanpietroLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear client, we thank you very much for your kind review. We will also take into consideration your remarks. So, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    67
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
38
95
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wootton Bassett
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Have hust returned from 10 fantastic days at the San Pietro- EVERYTHING was above expectation. The staff service, cleanliness, rooms and food were all excellent. The choice of menu at all meals was superb with something for everyone- the staff are also extremely helpful and would if required cater for dietry requirements. We stayed half board with a more than ample buffet breakfast (cereals, fruit, breads, eggs, meat, cheese etc etc), complementary afternoon tea ( with cake & biscuits) and then a further buffet evening meal (where it was possible to start with salad, select fish from the buffet, indulge in a main course and follow with a buffet of desserts and cheese- all with complementary wine and soft drinks). Definate excellent value for the quality and quantity of food- if we had eaten in a restuarant each night as a family of 4 to this quality I dread to think what we would have paid.The location of the hotel pools and terraces has to be the envy of all other hotels in Limone. A great family pool, a large indoor pool and added bonus of a further huge relaxy pool and terrace free from ball games. I agree with other comments that there is a walk into Limone but there is a shuttle bus and to be above the town rather than directly in the middle was great a bonus. HIGHLY RECOMMEND and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlelilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We have just returned from the most fantastic holiday in the San Pietro Hotel. This was our first time to Italy and it turned out to be an absolute treat. We read some of the reviews of this hotel (fortunately for us AFTER WE HAD BOOKED) and we decided to see for ourselves what it was really like, and boy are we glad we did. What some people find to complain about is just daft. The rooms, dining areas and pool areas were spotless, the staff were courteous and the atmosphere was superb, very relaxing. There were lots of Germans there (thankfully the rules specified NO TOWELS ON SUNBEDS BEFORE 7am) which was respected. The shuttle bus was always on time and for 80cents each way, and absolute bargain. The location of the Hotel is wonderfull and we had a beautifull view of the Lake from our balcony. On arrival in our room was a bottle of sparkling wine, water and chocolates to welcome us, what a treat. We shall definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millymullally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We returned to Limone for the second year running after staying at the San Pietro's sister hotel the Christina the year before. The only reason we upgraded was owing to the fact the price for the 3* was the same as the 4* San Pietro. The service was as excellent as the previous year and the difference in the rooms themselves was noticeable. Other than that the food and excellent service was the same. The only noteable difference other than the room was the access to an additional terrace with a pool and also access to the indoor pool which we used several times in our week.

Limone is a great family place. However, the hotel is a 15min walk from the hotel to Limone (the uphill on the way back is perhaps not as suitable for older visitors) which helped us to work off the large meals we had (a wide selection of salads, pastas, soups, 4 mains and cakes/ice creams/fruit). The drinks are on free vend for vino (red and white), water, cola and orange. Breakfast choices were also excellent with a hot and cold selection with fruit and cereals. We often found ourselves going from breakfast to evening meal with the help of the odd ice cream here and there.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this (and the Christina) although would opt for the San Pietro if there is only a small difference in price. Stay Here!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine_and_Iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week through Thomson and had a really good experience. The room was well sized and very clean. View was gorgeous and gardens outside our balcony were very pretty. Food was mostly good with lots of choice and unlimited wine and soft drinks, the staff were helpful and friendly. 3 pools to choose from, although the family one got very busy this didn't bother us as we preferred the adult one or the indoor pool. Also, there were no problems getting a sun bed as hotel are strict on leaving towels on them. The only negative we have was the distance from town. Last year we stayed closer and we missed this convenience. The hotel do put a mini bus on during the day however it does not run in the evenings and it is a steep walk back up to the hotel. Some entertainment is put on by the hotel in the evenings. We saw a fantastic trio playing classical, jazz and musical numbers who were very good. The Brazilian dance trio, however, were not really that good or appropriate for a family establishment! All in all we had a lovely stay here and would recommend to others as we felt it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YamYamLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed here for three nights. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from Limone centre but is positioned high in the hills which give it unrivalled views of the lake. All rooms look out over the lake. Lots of free parking here as well which is a nice added bonus.

The breakfast here was brilliant and they cooked your eggs how you wanted in front of you. We had lunch as well which good but never tried the dinner buffet. The rooms are very large with decent size balconies, it was cleaned every day and mini bar was refilled. The hotel has three pools, two outdoor and one inside. The gem of this hotel is the top outdoor pool which is classed a quiet pool for adults only. It only has about 20 sunbeds so you need to get there fairly early. The view from the pool up there is unbelievable. Very peaceful spot to relax and enjoy the weather.

We walked into town one night and it was a bit tricky because of the hills so we got taxis there after. Would go back to this hotel again if only for the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellisd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridged South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the San Pietro and it is very difficult to find fault The hotel was lovely and the view from our room simply breathtaking. We found all the staff pleasant friendly and helpful. Whilst we agree with other reviews that the food was a bit "samey", it was very good quality and plentiful. The free wine with dinner was very welcome in our party of thirteen. The bar was a lovely room and the entertainment of a high standard. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swalters295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#16 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Capo Reamol
Hotel Capo Reamol
#18 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#24 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Villa Dirce
Hotel Villa Dirce
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietro

Property: Hotel San Pietro
Address: Via Tamas 20, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietro Hotel
San Pietro Limone Sul Garda
Hotel San Pietro Limone Sul Garda, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing