We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
151
128
58
36
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
128
58
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel decent size ten minutes lovely beach table tennis choice at breakfast mini golf course house wine swimming pool reception staff the main road monastery sardinia cheese
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 403 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a lovely suite which was private, quiet and a unique combination of old and new. The hotel is a short walk to a fantastic beach and the pool area was so relaxing with beautiful views.

The food in the restaurant was good, but the waiting staff were run off their feet, resulting in slow service and a less than friendly attitude from some of the staff. Having said that, Georgio and Sydney were fantastic attributes to the waiting staff.

The games area could do with an update. The mini golf area could be really great if it had a bit of TLC.

Overall - a good stay, which could be fantastic with a few simple changes.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hannah c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMONASTERO, Direttore at Hotel il Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Hannah,
Thank you so much for dedicating your precious time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
Your feedback is important to us. We value and appreciate your compliments, suggestions or complaints in order to improve our services and the way we communicate.
We hope to see you again the next time at Monastero hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Il Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We have stayed at the monastero quite a few times and have always found it pleasant, comfortable and clean. Services have always somehow lacked in quality (lots of plastic fittings in the bathroom that break and are not fixed) but the chamber maids keep the rooms spotless which makes up for any short comings.

Food has always been of good quality at the monastero, it has always been fresh, well prepared and varied.

There was good choice at Breakfast. it was good to see fresh fruit available without requiring a supplement. Some mornings it did look a little past its sell by date but there was always plenty to choose from.

We ate at the monastero restaurant three times over two weeks we stayed and found it very disappointing. The quality of dishes left a lot to be desired. While plentiful in serving size, the quality was definitely lacking. There was no finesse in how it was presented and served. Dishes completely lacked any imagination (piled up rather than presented). Food looked like it was prepared in bulk and then served which made it quite unappealing and in one case tasted particularly off (which was reported to the manager of the restaurant). Wine was good. It would have been great if they had not removed the house wine from the menu thereby limiting choice to more expensive wines .

Rooms were kept spotless by a good team of chambermaids. I am a little perplexed as to why fittings are not maintained. The swimming pool is regularly cleaned and garners are making a great job of sprucing up the square.

All in all, a good stay but a real pity about the food ...

Room Tip: 105 to 101 are great rooms if you dont mind a fkight of stairs
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank The_Lieutenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMONASTERO, Direttore at Hotel il Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear The_Lieutenat,
Thank you so much for dedicating your precious time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
Your feedback is important to us. We value and appreciate your compliments, suggestions or complaints in order to improve our services and the way we communicate.
We hope to see you again the next time at Monastero hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Il Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and I must say it was a very pleasant stay. We arrived very late (nearly midnight) on the first night and this wasn’t a problem for the reception staff who were still up and about to greet us.
The room was a double. It was a little snug, but it had the basics of a bed, bedside tables, wardrobe, mini fridge, safe (which didn’t work), and a table. Unfortunately there were no drawers so we had to pile everything up neatly on the side. The ensuite was again, compact, but it had the essentials of a shower, toilet, bidet and sink. The other couple we went with had a much larger ensuite, so it obviously depends where your room is as to how much space there is available.
Breakfast was a buffet of sweet cakes and cold cuts of meat and cheese. It was definitely ample to start the day with. We only ate lunch in the hotel on the last day, but it was lovely with generous sized portions. We had one evening meal in the restaurant. The food was absolutely lovely (in fact, the best I’d had in Sardinia), however the service was very poor. The waiters appeared to be totally unprepared and had no idea what to do. My drink was removed from the table twice before I’d finished it, with dirty great fingers touching the inside of the glass. This was rectified by a replacement drink, however, it shouldn’t take me complaining to not have it removed in the first place. We were asked several times if we wanted dessert, but it took 45 minutes for someone to actually come and take the order as apparently only one person was allowed to do it. We had to ask them to go and tell him that we wanted to place an order - they couldn’t think to do that themselves. This actually spoilt an otherwise lovely evening.
The swimming pool was lovely and we spent a number of afternoons there. It wasn’t over crowded and there was plenty of places to sit.
The most enjoyable part of my holiday however was horseriding which we booked at the hotel. We went on a two hour hack first thing in the morning and it was fantastic which took us on the beach and through some fantastic scenery. It was definitely worth the money even if you are a competent rider. I was with a total beginner and we only walked but it was wonderful.
All in all, we had a lovely time at the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others. Some obviously love it so much they chose it to get married at ❤️

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Flamed22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMONASTERO, Direttore at Hotel il Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Flamed22,
First of all, I would like to thank You for choosing the Monastero Hotel in occasion of your recent stay in Sardinia.
Please allow me to express my sincere apologies for the situation occurred during the dinner service.
What has happened is a consequence of a human error due to wrong communication within our departments.
As you mentioned on your review, there were many waiters and this has happened because the Team felt the pressure to satisfy your expectation as fast as possible.
We should never ever rush, but we should always take the appropriate time, respect our procedures and guidelines to avoid any similar occurrences.
Madame, I want to reassure you that this is a very isolate episode, the cleanliness of our staff and specially hotel too is well known, a true key strengths and assets of our Housekeeping Team. Without a strict procedure we would never be able to achieve such positive results for a long term period.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our swimming pool.
Hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate we can overexeed your expectation.
Your sincerely,
Hotel Il Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Il Monastero. We loved how the feel of the medieval monastery was integrated into the modern hotel. We had a great time at the pool with our 2.5 year old daughter and we ate great local food in its restaurant. The service was very kind and willing to accommodate your wishes. Furthermore, a gorgeous beach was closeby. Very well recommended for relaxation away from the busy world!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Passenger744609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMONASTERO, Direttore at Hotel il Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for dedicating your precious time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am really happy to know you had a great stay with us at the Monastero Hotel and we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Il Monastero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Hotel staff were fantastic; very willing & friendly. Hotel itself needs some modernization as it is getting a bit tired. Restaurant v good. Location isolated and you need a car. However, the nearby beaches are brilliant. Perfect if you want to get away from it all. Wi-Fi, TV, etc is rudimentary. No shops other than small supermarket. Best thing; didn't hear any English speaking people for 2 weeks - bliss.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank claytonwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews