We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
127
311
191
71
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
311
191
71
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool bacon east wing sea view overlooking the beach great bar lovely position beach holiday mid century deck bar portuguese style an older hotel tile floors rooms are clean stayed for nights enjoyed our stay old fashion
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 733 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

This is a great hotel, in a lovely position overlooking the beach. It does have an awful lot of steps, and is a bit of a maze. The lifts are very tiny too. The rooms are lovely, with large balconies and are very comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely fabulous with lots of choice. Would definitely return here.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Annette224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Second visit. Improvements noticed.
Dated but absolutely fit for purpose.
Great staff. Somehow this place grows on you. It’s Portuguese in design and flavour.
Everything in the room worked, great views, plenty of parking. Not romantic or posh.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank steadyslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here 3 days and it was more than enough... rooms are old and need renovation urgently... breakfast is not 4* worthy, if you want a better meal I would suggest the bar they have... the toasts are way better than the breakfast buffet.

The gym was old... and when I say old
Is really old and rusty... no ac either..

The outside pool was ok.. sauna was broken..

We played tennis was ok but they really need to replace the balls..

I would suggest the Sana hotel if you’re planning to come to Sesimbra..

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Meowsedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

This Hotel was such a disappointment regardless of being in an excellent location just by the sea front. We were given room 101 which is on the lowest floor and you can hardly see the sea which was what attracted us to this Hotel.
The Hotel is very dated, the decor and lighting are depressing, specially at night, the lift system is ridiculous, from Reception on level 9 we have to get a lift to level 5 then walk down the hall to get another lift to level 2 and then walk again to end of hall to take the stairs to level one... And the hallways are dark, smelly and reminiscent of the horror film 'The shinning'. There is no bottle of water or kettle in the room. Staff is friendly until you mention something is wrong and then they turn on you and never apologise for anything. Car park is a joke, far too small for a Hotel this big, we couldnt park there a single time as always full having to look for parking along the road that leads to hotel. The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is that it is clean and the food is nice, specially the breakfast buffet.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ThistleSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

The Hotel do Mar is one of three sizeable hotels right on top of the beach. The architect managed to design the hotel spilling down the steep hillside so that every room has a fine view of the beautiful bay and the busy beach. Every room also has a small private veranda. That comes at a small price in that navigating around the hotel involves a certain amount of walking and going from lift to lift.

There are attractive indoor and outdoor pools and the decor is relaxed, tending to minimalist. Like the town the hotel is smart and in good taste. If arriving on foot note that the reception is at the very top of the hotel (11th floor) and is a long, uphill walk from the centre of town.

In high season the hotel is always full and breakfast gets somewhat crowded.

The hotel is properly graded as four star in that there are limited concierge or porter services, no mini bar, rooms a little small by modern standards and one or two other facilities are not at five star level. But the location is so very good and the facilities that are available of such good standard that I can heartily recommend the hotel whether for a short stay or for a week long or two week holiday. Sesimbra is a quite lovely little town, very smart and with a splendid (if very crowded) beach, some sightseeing in easy reach and very good fish restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnM3381TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews