We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Clara S

Good value fir money

Review of Hotel do Mar
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 30, 2023via mobile
I have not been in this hotel for 30 years so was a bit concerned, but shouldn't be. Although is on the old side, has been improved a little but still very good value for money. Great location, just across from the beach and able to walk to the centre and restaurants very easily.
Staff 5 star, always very helpful. Breakfast was OK, plenty of choice and plentiful.
Always loved the pool, the fact that is a 1.7mt deep pool and 4mt in the middle is great, and because of this is very rarely that there are any kids in the pool at any time.
The bar is also great, good athomosfere and again staff very friendly and helpful.
Although this is a 4 star hotel, you only get Shower gel / shampoo, need to take all other needed things (namely body lotion, demaquiant pack, etc) , there are also no tea or coffee or kettle in the room, but there are glasses. There is a small fridge.
Overall was a great stay, I still recommend this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
Room Tip: I'm sure July and August is going to be very busy, but the hotel has private parking and is very...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$214
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Hotel do Mar
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
C$156
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Hotel do Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Trip.com
1.0 km from Hotel do Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
A Casa da praça está situada numa das praça mais emblemáticas da Vila de Sesimbra! Visite-nos e sinta o vibrar de uma vila pequena e acolhedora com tanto para oferecer!
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Hotel do Mar
Beachfront
Room service
Береговая линия
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Hotel do Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.6 km from Hotel do Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Hotel do Mar
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$171
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Hotel do Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
6.2 km from Hotel do Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sesimbra
Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveller rating
162
345
225
88
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
162
345
225
88
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool fish fantastic views room key floor furniture sea beach corridor fir portugal village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 875 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2023 via mobile

Not ideal for young people, no entertainment, no shows, no live music. Located just in front of the ocean, lovely ocean view, good breakfast, friendly front desk staff, but it is not enough to make this property "4 stars hotel" in 2023. As a very experienced traveler, I could say, it is definitely 3 stars quality might be 4 stars 40-50 years ago but not today, not in this century.

Room tip: Free parking on site, do not stay at 5th and 6th floor at east wing as there is no ocean view obstructed by the trees therefore 505/ 605 to 605/620 not recommended.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank nebucadnezzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 7, 2022

Booked using information from their Web site which advertised a la carte menu went down this evening to find buffet style one choice meat one choice fish complained to night reception who stated it had been suspended for groups. And that my travel agent should have informed me. One of the reasons we booked this hotel was its web site advertising wide variety of foods. Stayed on the algarve before the hotel restaurants where superb. So much for believing web sites.

Room tip: Check about meals before you book
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank I1824WJjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel do Mar, Vendas at Hotel do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2022

First of all , we are deeply sorry for your displeasure, but our website was not updated about the service “ à la carte”.
We work daily to be able to provide an excellent service and we always bet on quality products for the preparation of all the meals served in our restaurant.
We regret that we did not meet your expectations, but in fact and based on the comments of other customers, we can see that our restaurant has had a growing affluence and to guarantee a greater diversity of food and still maintain the quality of the food, we decided to create a buffet.
We appreciate your words and hope to continue to deserve your preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2022

Stayed there during the week days. Nice location and good pool and access to the beach.

The hotel was probably a great one in 1990s but now it is a good place if you like crammed rooms, old furniture etc. Staff are helpful and friendly.

Location - 9/10
Check in - 9/10
Friendliness of staff - 9/10
Room - 5/10
Pool - 8/10
Bar - 4/10 (had to wait 15 minutes to get the attention of the bartender)

Hotel - Please fix the access to the hotel from the beach using the room key. I had to ring the bell and wait for 5 minutes before the door could be opened

Room tip: Ask for rooms in the newer side of the hotel. The old building has construction site next to it and it is noisy
Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anand1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 13, 2022

We have been coming to this hotel every year for the last 2 decades and it had been a marvellous place to stay…had. To be fair, their consistently good views, varied breakfast and helpful pool staff are qualities to celebrate. But there is a vibe of an old giant trading on past glories. The beds are so hard that you have to have very good abs to get up, the paint around the outdoor pool is as crusty as me in the sun after few days and indoor pool has more chemicals in it than Ypres at the height of 1915. Pre-payment for rooms seem a bit of a further punch in the face. The rather dark water coming out of the bath taps are an odd choice of colour. And though we toast to the health of this place in the marvellous bar with terrific bar staff, we can’t help but think that the trading on past glories has finally run out of steam. Now, we might be in the minority as the world’s great and good continue to visit and so they should, but after years of loyal yearly attendance we must doff our cap to time, who is doing a terrific number on a previous titan of Sesimbra, now tired, and even itself desiring a holiday of its own. T

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank TDL_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 18, 2022 via mobile

We have recently spent a week here & we had a fantastic time .
The hotel has fantastic facilities & is absolutely spotlessly clean with very friendly & helpful staff . The breakfast was particularly good & very varied - something for everyone! The pool area was splendid with a plentiful supply of sun loungers & parasols . Towels & bedding were fresh every day f required . Obrigado ☀️🇵🇹

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Q8409CMchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews