We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
125
289
147
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
289
147
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom apartment self catering kitchen utensils large balcony sea view rooms are huge kitchen area bit dated time share beds were comfortable nice pool location was perfect pleasant stay stayed here for a week pool towels short break cold meats
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 609 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2014

Stayed here for a short break in December 2014 and was very impressed. The room was very large, more like a suite, with two sofas, two TVs, one in the bedroom and one in the main room, a very large balcony with sliding doors from the bedroom and the main room. Apartment was very well equipped and had everything we needed, sea view from the balcony and very close to the Marina.
The only small issues were that the bathroom was a bit dated and in need of an upgrade and as it was December I couldn't find any means of heating the room which could get a bit chilly during the evening, but apart from that perfect, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms get the sun most of the day although the taxi rank at the Casino could get a bit noisy at night.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you have spent a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dom Pedro Portobelo for another enjoyable stay.
Best regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2014

Trip with my wife to Vilamoura on a late exchange. Generally the hotel is adequate enough, rooms are a throw back to the 80s with lots of wood and old style TVs. Bathroom is old shower curtain and mixer tap. Lighting is poor in the apartment. However, pleased that a maid came in every day to clean up, change towels and make the bed up.

One bed apartment was spacious enough however the sliding doors to the patio do not prevent any noise from the street outside disturbing your sleep. Woke up on a number of nights with people talking, lorries, taxi rank noise on the road.

The hotel is opposite the Casino so sea view is limited. Position is ideal for walking into the marina and to the beach and there is ample car parking behind the building. There is a bar and restaurant although in November extremely quiet. Reception have offers on golf tee times and staff were efficient and responsive so no complaints there.

The place could do with upgrading but strangely, probably due to its position and the cleaning, for all the faults we did quite enjoy our stay!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hazelnutineverybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we take good note of your comments.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2014

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago and we were satisfied overall, after having changed rooms. The 1 bedroom appartments are very spacious, kitchen well equipped but in desperate need of extra sockets - you can't use microwave, kettle and toaster all at the same time! It is in need of up dating. Bathroom was extremely tired and worn looking. Housekeeping is poor and needs an eye kept on, as they are not very good at replacing towels, toiletries etc. The female receptionists were lovely, the males disinterested and unhelpful, a great shame as there is no tourist information office in Vilamoura. Avoid using the Ticket shop to book trips, they are unreliable and their customer care/service is non-existent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, the higher up, the better for the view!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we take good note of your comments.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2014

This year we booked the Dom Pedro Portobelo because we wanted an apartment which included a separate room with kitchen and lounge. It was excellent, very spacious with balcony spread over the two rooms. It had a great sea view and was cleaned every day. Downstairs lounge and pool were good except for the bar. The woman bar attendant was very rude.We only used the empty bar because there was a downpour outside The prices for drinks were the most expensive in Vilamoura. We later used the Dom Pedro Golf bar which was more luxurious and was 3 euros cheaper with a much larger measure. No wonder the Portobello bar was always empty.The bar and restaurant are a franchise separate to the hotel. They need to upgrade and be as good as their sister hotel.Last year we stayed at the Dom Pedro Golf Hotel. It was very good in every way except for upstairs. The bedrooms and corridors were badly needing upgrading. Perfect would be the upstairs Portobelo and the downstairs Golf.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_DomPedro_Alg, Manager at Dom Pedro Portobelo, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your detailed review, also for your preference for Dom Pedro Portobelo and Dom Pedro Golf. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we take good note of your comments.
Thank you one again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Rosa Custódio
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews