We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice resort with room(s) for improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Soest, Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice resort with room(s) for improvement!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed a week for golf on several courses of the Pestana Group. Arrival was cumbersome, as we were placed in a room type we didn't book. As the hotel was "fully booked" there was no alternative but to accept the "garden room", away from the main building, somber, dark and no view at all. We were promised that the reception would do its best to move us to the main building a few days later, and they did. Our new room was on the top floor, overlooking the driving range of the golf course, and a far away glimpse of the sea. This room was excellent with a big balcony with chairs and lounge seats. It had a very good very clean bathroom.

We had booked half board, expecting to be able to eat in the four different restaurants the hotel has on its website. In effect all meals were in the main dining room. The buffet style meals were a mix of good to great entrees and desserts and generally somewhat poor main courses. The served meals offered thre choices for entrees, mains and desserts and were also of mixed quality. Not worth the five star rating!! The same goes for the chairs in the restaurant that look like they were bought on a flea market.

Staff in general were very nice and helpful, in particular the Head of Reception and the porter, Carlos. We further enjoyed the Vila Sol golf course, a very nice lay out with quite challenging holes, and enjoyed one of the most pleasant massages we ever had by Ana, very professional and very kind!

Would we go again? Maybe, but without the half board.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank tge_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    337
    106
    32
    29
See reviews for
240
323
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Spent a week here in Mid October. Stayed in one of the small villa/chalet on the grounds. Very quiet and peaceful indeed. Overlooking a beautiful garden with pounds and water-features. I’m not sure all these villas/chattels have similar views so its worth making an enquiry when booking. The chalet was close to a little indoor pool/Jacuzzi whit huge window overlooking Golf Course...absolutely amazing. It was incredibly private...I don't thing the rest of the residents were aware of it! There is also a huge swimming pool and water fall etc adjacent to the Hotel with outdoor bar and loungers. Pestana Hotels have access to a number of Golf Courses but the 27 hole Villa Sol is the best in my view. You can play a different combination every day and you will never tier of it. The Staff will arrange for you to play other courses in the Pestana group but you will need a cab (expensive) or a car. Relax afterwards on the veranda in the gorgeous Club House. (Photos of many visiting Celebs!). The food/snacks in the Club House are very good and very reasonable. The breakfast is simply superb…everything you could want. The food in the evening/dining room is ok and good value but a bit quiet for us. I found most people took a cab into Vilamora (€10 each way) where there are endless cafes and restaurants to suit every pocket. I’d suggest you keep away from the marina front unless you have deep pockets. Some great little seafood restaurants up the side streets but you have to fish them out!!
Overall…a little piece of Paradise…but you’ll need a car.

Room Tip: The villa/chalets near the Golf Course are best...(ask for West Facing) and you'll have your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sedboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This Hotel has recently been taken over by the Pestana Group and has improved no end since the take-over however beause of the location (approx. 10 minutes drive from Vilamoura and Vale Do Lobo), the Hotel needs to have better service and cheaper prices to entice more people to use this lovely facility. 15 Euros for a glass of champagne is a litte over the top!! The bedrooms are spacious and clean and have great facilities and the bar and restaurant are superb as are the pool area and pool bar, but again the prices are far too high. The atmosphere is a little a lacking but I think if they got more people to use this Hotel then the atmosphere would improve.

Room Tip: We asked for a room in the Hotel but was told that there was none available - we were given a gardne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank REDKR211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We returned here this February for the 2nd year running. The staff in the hotel are very helpful and friendly and the rooms and service are a good standard. They have started to offer a daily special in the Club House each day which includes a drink and seemed good value.The hotel has lockers for your golf clubs and we like not having to take them upto your room when you have finished playing.

We like the location of the hotel as it is close enough to Vilamoura to go for a meal/drinks in the evening.

We were originally booked to travel in November 2011 and a couple of days before we were due to travel we were forced to delay our holiday due to a family emergency. Your Golf Travel, the hotel and Cliff the Trolley Man all were excellent and made alternative arrangements for us at a couple of days notice and no additional cost, so thanks to them all.

We certainly will be considering returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairhaven8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I have been regular visitors to the Vila Sol for a number of years. We have just returned from a week long stay and are now considering whether it is time to find another venue. The hotel location is excellent but many of the common areas are now in need of refurbishment. Especially the restaurant where the soft furnishings are almost threadbare. We were provided with a free meal aspart of our package and it was without doubt the worst meal I have ever had. The buffet evening meal should be avoided at all cost! Even the duty manager could not eat his. Whilst not part of the hotel the Spa has always been an important part of staying at Vila Sol as my wife is a non-golfer. To find it closed and in receivership was disappointing. The Hilton nearby has an excellent (if expensive) Spa if you require this amienity. Staff were also less welcoming than in the past - there also seemed to be fewer of them. Over all I'd say the hotel is at best a 4 star in the current state - come on Pestana the Vila Sol deserves better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Surrey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

In February I organised 2 seperate trips to Pestana Vila Sol, taking 8 people on the first trip and 16 on the second to coach them golf and take them round the golf courses, I had doner the same in October last year. The hotel was superb, the staff were really helpful and friendly and the garden rooms were perfectly located for us using the far end of the golf range and this I had asked for and was, and when a problem did arise the team were brilliant at solving it.
Having the far end of the golf range to myself was excellent, and as it has been so dry for months in Portugal, the ground was suffering and needed rain, but still it was very playable.
I surveyed my customers on their return on what they thought of the hotel and the golf facilities and they were universally positive, I am in process of arranging several more trips to this perfectly appointed, well positioned, great value golf resort.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are lovely and something different, altghough Hotel rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golfgolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Mistakenly the booking agency has promised a brandnew SPA, but the SPOA was clsoed down one year ago. A small indoor swimming pool, but this was not nice at all. Summer facilities might be nice, but in February everything was in maintenance status, did not look very nice.
Breakfast excellent, personnel very nice and helpful.
AC / heating in the room was turned off, so it was very chilly all the time, and almost freezing in the bathroom.
Nice terrace, but unfoftunately despite having 20 degrees and sunshine in the morning, tables were not cleaned and breakfast could not be taken outside.
Rooms nice, but the view was not on the Golf course, like promised, it was on the trees in fron of the Golf course.
Recption presonnel very nice and helpful. Fitness and leisure facilities not very nice.
Next to Golf course Vila Sol (which is fairly nice, but have seen nicer). Next time, I would be chosing a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.5 km away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
3.0 km away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
2.6 km away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing