We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
158
69
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
69
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentscleaned every dayminute walkchez carlostoastiesspar shopbudget optionclean rooms and groundsordered breadgreat snack barbroken sunbedsfree bus from the hotelquiet apartmentpool areacactus bararrived home yesterdayhard plastic
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 247 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a very relaxing week stay at Zarco. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Paolo. Would recommend this hotel for families as it's quiet location is not near busy bars etc. Excellent WiFi in apartments and courtesy car to Marina several times a day. Great restaurants/cafes nearby. We used Travel Republic for booking holiday and Best Transfers 4 U for airport transfers - both were excellent and would recommend.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Joeandsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

These apartments are clean, spacious and in a relaxed location. The area is popular with Portuguese families who have holiday apartments. The staff are well mannered, helpful and attentive. While we were there they seemed to be adding new furniture and modernising the reception. The hotel could do with a lil revamping but it is lovely. The pool is perfect size for the 25 apartments and even with a family in each one it wasn't over crowded. This hotel seems to attract quiet families who are their to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet. The only issue is there limited space to relax around the pool and before 8am everyone has put towels on sunbeds so no one else can use them. The hotel do have signs saying not to but i think they could enforce this more as people were putting towels down and going out for the day.
Because its a 20min walk to a supermarket and beach the hotel do charge a lil bit for food. £1 euro pizza was €9 from them(cooked). etc... I would advise you to travel down to the intermarché and stock up as the hotel room has a microwave,kettle,hob,coffee maker, and blender so you can cook for yourself. Or you can visit Resturante a carpa just 3mins walk from the hotel. Food is outstanding with large portions.
The rooms were clean and the maids knocked everyday to clean and offer towels and clean bedding.
It is a lovely hotel overall and good value for money when we booked. Would go again and are currently looking to book again already after a day of being back home. If you are looking at booking Zoomarine while there we found it cheaper to book direct online with transfers through them with pick you up just outside the Spa next to the Cactus bar.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

We had an enjoyable holiday at Zarco. The staff are all lovely and the apartments are indeed spotless however I do have a few observations.
Firstly the pool is very small, especially in comparison to the photograph shown here. We weren't sure we were in the right place at first as the photo was so deceiving. The pool area is very green and well maintained. There were some broken sun beds, it's true, however more arrived throughout our holiday, only to be broken very easily. I would suggest investing in better quality sun beds for longevity.
The pool area is clean (some ants, so make sure you dispose of any rubbish effectively). The amount of people reserving sun beds was hugely disappointing! Often all beds had been taken by 8am! Why? Some people reserved beds, went out until late afternoon and then came back to their sun beds, with padded cushion and parasols. I find that so wrong. Use your sun bed, leave it when you go out for someone else to use. Then there's enough for everyone to enjoy! Throughout our stay I was disappointed to not once have one of the padded seat covers to sit on. I wish I had the tenacity to remove towels and belongings to claim a bed/ sun bed cushion etc when no one is there using them.
The room we found disappointing, it had a lovely view of the pool, but was small. We had paid for our eldest child as an adult, assuming that she would have a 'proper bed', no, just a sofa bed. That said, the room was cleaned thoroughly every day with towels changed as and when needed. The shower in our room was amazing, wonderful and powerful but did have a tendency to flood the bathroom a little. The room had a fridge, tv, microwave, hairdryer etc. It had a kettle with a leaf too short to plug in!
The hotel was a little too far out of Vilamoura for us, it cost €5-6 each way in a taxi to the beautiful marina where we spent most evenings. We didn't use either of the restaurants near to the hotel. Most nights we walked back to Zarco through the lovely park, which was a safe, well lit 30 mins, evening stroll.
We used Uber too for the first time whilst there, to transport us to the market in Quarteria, (Wednesdays), where we also used Lidl to stock up on cheaper groceries.
We enjoyed the water sports on Falesia beach, again using a taxi to get there. We used the little road train to explore the 'old town' which was pretty and had wonderful cafes and restaurants.
We had a truly enjoyable holiday, having been to different parts of the Algarve on numerous occasions we did find Vilamoura expensive and personally prefer Alvor, Lagos and Carvoeiro.
The Hotel Apartmentos Zarco attracted nice families though. It is in a quiet area, no loud noise, no entertainment, no late night trouble. Everyone we met was lovely and the staff really are helpful. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Samantha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

We made a last minute booking for Aug, there wasn't much available, but we were encouraged by the great reviews for Zarco. Unfortunately we were disappointed. A lot of reviews commented on how clean the rooms were, ours certainly wasn't. I had to buy cleaning stuff as I was not prepared to wait till the following days clean. The kitchen was dirty, the cupboard doors were all covered in splatters, and the floor was dirty. The cutlery rack was stained and full of crumbs. The apartment floor was also covered in crumbs. The fridge was pretty gross, all black and mouldy at the bottom, and leaked. The bathroom tiles were again all covered in dirty stains. The shower curtain was all black and mouldy at the bottom, and the shower was so tiny there was no avoiding getting it stuck to your legs, trying not to do so caused the entire bathroom to flood. There was a constant putrid drainage smell from the bathroom. The light above the bathroom mirror did not work and neither did one of the bedside lamps. Despite being three of us, there was only enough crockery, towels etc for two people.
The outside space was nice HOWEVER, despite clear signs stating that people should not hog beds by leaving towels on them, they did so daily. As our room overlooked the pool, we could see people skulking out like zombies BEFORE 7am to lay towels on the beds, and would not appear to use them for many hours later. People would also go off during the day, leaving towels there for when they got back. Many of the beds were also broken and had no mats. My daughter got her leg stuck in one of the broken beds, resulting in a v bad cut. We often could find nowhere to sit outside apart from the small cafe area chairs, which were directly in the hot sun. SO WE HAD TO GIVE UP, we were limited to when we could use the pool etc due to this issue.
On a positive note, the staff were very helpful and friendly. In particular one gent (possibly manager?) who was very helpful and knowledgable of the area, he was more than willing to stop and give advice/make recommendations.
The outside space and main areas were nice and clean as well.
The walk to the marina (about 20 mins) is lovely through a peak area, and there is a handy shop just round the corner.
The apartments are also lovely and quiet.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Loracpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for an affordable family holiday Portugal is the place for you! Flying directly from Cardiff with ability to book parking and transfers online. The hotel is not huge but a small family run business. All the staff are friendly and welcoming and the hygiene and cleanliness was exceptional. The hotel has a small pool with sun loungers surrounding, providing excellent entertainment for children and the option for a cool dip! The onsite cafe provides reasonable snacks and a local Spar provides cheap shopping for essentials. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the beach and mariner which has stunning views and tasty eateries. This holiday is well recommended as a family break or opportunity to escape!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank LISA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews