We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Eskilstuna
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel is situated close to the city center by a small lake and stream in an old industrial area in Eskilstuna. Surroundings are hence really nice for a stroll. My only complaint is the uninspired breakfast which was in contrast to the really nice free meal served in the evening. Staff both at front desk and in restaurant were very pleasant and we got a room with a view over the water upon request. Albeit the breakfast was on the sad side, chances are we will return here anyways since the overall experience was a good one.

Agree on previous description of tiny pillows in the bed ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giraff42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    95
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
54
114
18
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Clarion of Eskilstuna is the favourite choice for me and my wife when in Eskilstuna. It is wonderfully placed by the river, very close to the city centre and close to the old town as well as the museums such as the Rademacher craftwork centre. Eskilstuna may not be the cultural centre of Europe but it is a quiet little Swedish town. Staying at the Clarion is very good, comfortable rooms, good food, good service, - very much above some other hotels in the town.
So give it a go! Eskilstuna is a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel which is actually quite nicely located on the river. Its the former hq of historic volvo plant machinery and has an industrial museum nextdoor which is free to visit if a hotel guest if you wish. The hotel staff try really hard to satisfy and are very pleasant and helpful. One really good bonus is the hotel provides both an afternoon tea and main evening meal for its guests which is free of charge which adds exceptional value to the stay. Some reviewers have stated the food is like school food but this is personal choice and im disappointed that such comments are passed when the hotel is trying to offer something which is far above most normal hotels offerings. The rooms were fine and we had a newly refurbished bathroom which was better than our last room. My only issue was the pillows were so small that a folded pair of socks would be bigger. I requested if larger pillows were available but i ended up buying my own at a local bedding store. Nice stay though!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank julian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I got to stay in Eskilstuna many times and Bolinder is definitely my first choice. The rooms are ok/nice, the service is always very helpful, the parking can be reached directly via the hotel. There is a "free" restaurant (simple buffet style) which is excellent: no need to go out, to go for fancy things, to chosse in a menu: it's there (not breath-taking, but usually ok). If you really want to go out, the city center is 5min walk from the hotel (nice walk along the river).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel in October 2011. The location is very good as it is a 2 minute walk from the centre of town and also is situated right next to the river which makes it quite picturesque. I was quite surprised however that a hotel that classes itself as 'first class' offered me a single bed. Higher class hotels I stay in these days always offer a double for single occupancy room. Especially when I am paying over £100 per night. The room was comfortable enough however my ensuite bathroom only had one floor mat and a skimpy body towel. I was happy to help the environment and keep my towels for the second day I was there by hanging them up on the rails but the cleaners not only changed the skimpy towel but took the floor mat away and didn't replace it! I was also disappointed to find that the only toiletry offered was a soap dispenser in the shower and on top of the sink. I wouldn't have minded however they didn't even offer to supply any other items such as a shower cap at the reception desk. Also when I travel to budget hotels I bring my full set of toiletries with me but when I am coming to a 'first class hotel' I expect these items to be provided.
The breakfast was fine, it wasn't that extensive but there was a nice selection of hot and cold items.
The hotel was spotless and the staff were friendly so I came away feeling like I would use the hotel again if I were to stay in Eskiltuna in the future.

Room Tip: If you want to have a view of the river from your bedroom window, request this upon booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewbyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mjolby, Sweden
Level Contributor
147 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We visited the Parken Zoo and on a whim decided to stay the night in Eskilstuna, we gave the Bolinder Munktell a go. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful.
After checking in we went up to our room, it turned out to be a nice and bright room overlooking the river.
Besides breakfast, afternoon tea/coffee and a nice evening buffet are also included in the price which makes the Bolinder Munktell quite a bargain. The breakfast was quite good as well and contained everything you would expect. The staff in the restaurant was also very nice and friendly.
Overall, a pleasant surprise. Very good value for money and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gothenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

Never never again!! Poor service, and worst of all - the breakfast was so bad we could not believe it was called a "first class hotel".

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilliamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskilstuna
0.6 km away
Comfort Hotel Eskilstuna
Comfort Hotel Eskilstuna
#2 of 9 in Eskilstuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.5 km away
Elite Stadshotellet Eskilstuna
0.6 km away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#6 of 9 in Eskilstuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Sundbyholms Slott
Sundbyholms Slott
#5 of 9 in Eskilstuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 km away
City Hotell Eskilstuna
City Hotell Eskilstuna
#4 of 9 in Eskilstuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
26.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Etage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell
Address: Munktellstorget, Eskilstuna 633 43, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Bolinder Munktell)
Region: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Eskilstuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Eskilstuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell, a unique hotel in central Eskilstuna. It offers a beautiful view over the creek. We offer you both breakfast, afternoon sweets and an evening meal. Staying at Hotel Bolinder Munktell is to live in the middle of Eskilstuna's industrial history. Everywhere in the beautiful building you find embellishments and motifs that tell us about the background of the area as a tractor and engine fabric. To learn more, visit the Munktell Museum in the same house. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Eskilstuna
Eskilstuna Clarion
Clarion Collection Eskilstuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing