We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilderness Paradise”
Review of Viamede Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viamede Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
Ajax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wilderness Paradise”
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Went to Viamede for the first time in Oct 2015. Had a fantastic time. Rooms are comfortable and clean and staff is exceptional. That being said this is not a new resort and if you are expecting modern luxuries you will be disappointed. If you are like us and just want a clean and comfortable room to stay in while you explore nature and all its glories then this is the place for you.
All stays include an amazing breakfast that we couldn't even finish. We had a fresh omelette made with sauteed peppers and goat cheese and maple walnut waffles served with fresh fruit.
Also included in the stay was a full recreation program. There was canoeing, hiking, crafts, movie nights, campfires complete with smores and visits to feed the animals on the resort owned farm up the road.
The views are beautiful and you can get a great view of the sunset over Stoney lake for those romantics out there.
A+ to Ben and his team. Special thanks to Michelle and Deana for keeping us entertained and just generally being good people.

Room Tip: Main building has the best Stoney lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2015
Dear Heather M,

Thanks for the kind comments! We're glad you had fun and it was a pleasure meeting you!

Cheers,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    71
    42
    21
    22
See reviews for
81
119
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2015

My husband and I scooted out to Viamede the day after our wedding to kick back and recuperate. It was PERFECT! As it was low season, Michelle showed us a couple of rooms and let us have our choice. One had a more "cottage/rustic" style, the other had a wood burning fireplace (we took that one!). Our room was modern, clean, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Although there was construction nearby, we didn't hear any of it during our stay.

We ate the complimentary breakfast one morning and it was exactly what we expected - a basic but tasty hot buffet. We enjoyed dinner at the Boathouse one evening and were amazed at the quality of food and service, and great prices! We love that a lot of the produce is grown on site! Our server even recognized another customer who comes annually and chatted with him like an old friend - great "small town" style service :)

We were a bit bummed that the spa was not open, but Michelle at the front was great to recommend a spa nearby for us.

We can't say enough great things about the front desk staff! They brought us complimentary wine for our honeymoon, arranged a treat to be delivered to us (compliments of our parents), helped us arrange a late check-out with no hassle, and were all around very accommodating.

We are already planning to return for our one year anniversary!

Room Tip: We were sad that our 1-room suite didn't have a water view, but the room was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2015
Dear D1264,

Thank you for your review! We're so happy you enjoyed your honeymoon. All the best for many happy years together and we'll see you next fall!

Cheers!
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drummondville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2015

It's a nice to go if you like Outlook activities. It's quite far and you must follow the directions close if you Don't want to get lost. The food was good but the same menu come back often. Housekeeping wasn't so good maybe bécasse I was out of business season.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the beach so you'll be in a quiet place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2015
Dear Monic M,

Thank you for your feedback. I am somewhat perplexed at your comment about the menu being the same. Mount Julian restaurant changes its menu every week to reflect seasonally available ingredients, and we have just put out our expanded winter menu at The Boathouse. Lots of variety to choose from!

I'm sorry you weren't happy with housekeeping. Could you please call me with your specific concerns so that we may rectify the situation? You can reach me at 705-654-3344.

Cheers
Ben Samann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2015

This was our first trip to the Viamede Resort we received as a gift. It was overall very disappointing. Rooms are out dated, very tired , we had to rehang our curtains they were falling down. When we arrive our room was freezing , couldn't take our shoes off cause the floor was so cold .We were told we had a jacuzzi in our room , but it was just a regular air tub.We had a squirrel or mouse in our wall that kept us up . We booked a nine course meal for supper , the dinning room was beautiful and the waiter was very good,but the food was poor . We did have 9 courses but all portions were about the side of a 1/4 cup , and nothing special….after nine courses we were still hungry, after every course we thought would get the Main course to fill us up …but never came ( went back to room and ate snacks to fill up ) . The meal with wine cost us over $400 . One night , one supper and one breakfast for more than $600 . During the breakfast there was a large dog in the front lobby that barked the whole time we were eating. We have travelled to many different resorts this one was by far the most disappointing . Other couples we ate breakfast with left early also because they were so diappointed. If we would have stayed at another couples resort near Algonguin we would have got 2 nights , 2 breakfast, a gorgeous room, and a massage for around the same price. We don't have alot of opportunity to get away as a couple this was disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelerT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Dear travelerT1970,

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Our rooms and cottages have been updated, but they are not perfect. And, as we are in a rural location, one may come across the occasional mouse. Rest assured we do deal with these critters as soon as we are made aware of them.

The courses in the tasting menu at Mount Julian are smaller than your average restaurant. With 5, 7 or 9 courses, our guests usually find themselves perfectly sated at the end of their meal. We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality in our dishes, so I'm sorry to hear it wasn't to your liking. I do hope you'll give us another chance to wow you.

Best regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We cannot comment on the resort as a whole, as we only dined at the Inn at Mt. Julian restaurant with my wife's parents on their 40th anniversary. This place was recommended to us by renters at a neighbouring cotage, and they insisted it was the best place in the area for a special occasion. They were correct.
Upon arrival, our waiter was waiting at the door to warmly greet us, wish a happy anniersary and take us to our table, a windowside seating with a stunning view of the lake.
We elected to try the 7-course tasting option. We all agreed afterward that it was easily the finest meal any of us had ever experienced, made all the more so by our charming, sophisticated waiter and his outstanding wine pairings and immense passion for his work.
We were one of three tables in the restaurant on a week-end, and we could hardly believe that it was not crammed to capacity. Granted, the prices are high, but the entire experience is worth every penny. Even with other tables to tend to, we were made to feel like valued VIP guests throughout the entire evening.
The attention to detail with the plating, the flavours and the portions was immacculate, the overall ambiance of the dining room (a step-back into the mid 20th century, complete with period music on a vintage record player and professional wait-staff in vest and bow-tie) was warm and thoroughly enjoyable. Our meal meandered through nearly 2 1/2 hours, and at the end of a work-of-art dessert, we still felt as though we could enjoy another 2 hours!

We have a cottage on Clear Lake, and have never once felt compelled to review any of our dining experiences while away from the city, however we are all looking forward to sharing our experience with the Mt. Julian restaurant next year. Thank-you chef Kevin for a world-class meal, and thanks to our waiter Ryan for reminding us that five-star service is still a living concept outside of the city. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guenther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Dear Guenther M,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy your wife's parents' anniversary celebration was a success. We look forward to welcoming you again at Mount Julian!

Cheers
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Spent 2 nights at this resort and was disappointed with the hotel. First of all, upon checking into our room we discovered the toilet had not been cleaned properly from the previous guest (or housekeeping is non existent). The furniture needed dusting not only in the room but in the common areas etc. Construction is still going on and that put a damper on our visit. Our hotel rate was over $150.00 per night. The adjoining property is very pretty but we would not return to this resort. It is dated and needs a major facelift.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Dear chacha,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. We will look into the housekeeping concerns you mention. We have done extensive renovation at the resort with more to come, but we always appreciate guest feedback.

Cheers,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2015

This was our second time staying at Viamede. Last year we stayed in a “1 bedroom cabin” and it was pretty shabby, cramped, and definitely not what we expected. We heard there were new owners and they were updating, so we took a chance on staying again because the area was so beautiful. This year we stayed in cabin 420 (a “studio” cabin) because we wanted more room.
The GOOD: Amazing scenery. The dining room has a beautiful view. DOG FRIENDLY at no additional cost is awesome and much appreciated! We enjoyed the privacy and the view from our cottage porch as well, and were pleased with the "studio" sized cottage. Perfect for the 2 of us and our 2 dogs. Obviously you had put new floors in (hardwood now instead of musty, industrial carpet). There was a full kitchen. And, a wood-burning stove, which was lovely. Breakfast every morning was very good, a full buffet of tasty options. It was obvious that you had spent $ in the past year renovating several buildings, railings were sturdier, and generally everything looked fresher. While we were disappointed that the indoor pool was not completed, things were much improved around the property. The activity field was equipped (there was nothing last year), there were self-serve canoes and kayaks available, bikes with helmets, and it was free to use, which was great. The BBQ attached to the cottage had a full tank of propane and worked well. There were plastic Muskoka chairs which looked new on the porch too. The furniture was in good shape, some of it looked brand new, and the tv, while small, worked well when we wanted to watch a DVD at night. It was our own little piece of peace and quiet, and we loved it. The staff was friendly.
THE BAD: No phones in the cottages? When we had a question, we had to walk all the way to the main lobby, or make a long distance call on our cell. We brought our dogs, and informed reservations at the time we booked, but there were no dog bowls left for us. Had to walk to the lobby - was told maybe they could find some, and eventually they were found for us - 2 of them, we needed 3 as we needed 2 food bowls and 1 for water. Excited about the wood-burning stove (we love having a nice fire), the wood provided didn't fit (too big), had to walk to the lobby to ask about where to get smaller pieces. Was told "We don't have an axe, so that's all we really have". We had to raid the wood shed ourselves to find suitable-sized wood, and we weren't even sure if we were supposed to do that. The wood stove was chock-full of ashes, so we had to clean it out ourselves with no containers to put it in, so we had to improvise with filling dog-poop bags, and ashes got everywhere. The housekeeping really needs to be improved. For $239 a night, with housekeeping included, I thought it was really bad. The cottage had dog hair all over (hadn't been vacuumed – we have smooth-coated dogs, and this hair was obviously from a long-haired dog), and the bedding didn't look fresh (sandy dirt on the sheets). By the time we realized it, it was late, and I wasn't about to trek over to the main building in my pj's to complain, so we brushed it off the best we could. The floors were not cleaned daily, (it rained the day we arrived and the floor needed a mopping), the bed the first day was just haphazardly made. “Housekeeping” was just basically dropping off more towels and picking up garbage. We had 1 roll of toilet paper in the cottage, and when housekeeping came the next day, they didn't leave a back up, so we ran out the next day. The next day, no one came by 2pm, so, after walking over to the main area, I was told they were busy cleaning rooms for arriving guests and was handed 2 rolls of toilet paper and some fresh towels to take back to my cottage. The housekeeping person finally arrived around 4pm that day, and grabbed the garbage. The poor woman, she was the only staff cleaning for a whole resort?? For a "full kitchen", providing us with 2 forks, spoons and knives, along with 2 tiny plates and 2 tiny bowls (like, you couldn't use it for cereal, it was too small), it certainly made preparing and then eating a meal a challenge! Yes it's a cottage, I did not expect luxurious appliances or top-quality cookware – but the dollar store sells adult-sized plates and bowls, and maybe an extra fork or spoon on top of the 2 would be nice! The prices for the restaurants are extremely expensive, and since we were already paying what I think is an expensive price for the cottage, we'd planned on making our own suppers. The one pot and pan, obviously dollar store quality, were also very small. "Free Wifi" is only in the lobby of the main building.
Overall - the area is still beautiful. Our privacy, even with a cottage right next door, was still ensured by the wrap-around porch. The breakfast is great. I can't speak to the other meals served since we didn't use the restaurant, dining room or “Boat House” pub. Our dogs are our children, and they had a great time exploring the grounds with us. Everyone there seemed to have a dog! The potential for this place is great, but there are little details that are neglected that make little hassles very annoying and takes away from the experience. Not sure if we'll return next year - we had hoped we'd found our "Thanksgiving getaway" spot, but after spending almost $1000 for a 3 night stay - the visit should've felt perfect and just wasn't.

Room Tip: Choose a "studio" over the "one-bedroom" cottages - same size, studio feels more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Dear EHFoley,

Thank you for your detailed review. You are correct, we have made a lot of improvements recently, with more to come this winter. I do apologize if housekeeping was not up to par during your stay. We are working to bring this in line with our guest's expectations.

Cheers,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.0 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
103 reviews
33.1 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
373 reviews
36.2 km away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
231 reviews
35.2 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
188 reviews
11.5 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viamede Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Property: Viamede Resort
Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Viamede Resort North Kawartha, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing