We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viamede Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Burleigh Falls Inn(Burleigh Falls)
US$139
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sword Motor Inn(Bancroft)
US$110
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nomi Resort(Harcourt)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
112
75
48
26
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
75
48
26
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstoney lakedining roomon siteindoor poolthe pubmain buildingmount juliansausagebedroom cottagecourse tasting menuwater trampolinelong weekendboat househiking trailscottage countrybeautiful locationfood was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 290 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2015

My husband and I scooted out to Viamede the day after our wedding to kick back and recuperate. It was PERFECT! As it was low season, Michelle showed us a couple of rooms and let us have our choice. One had a more "cottage/rustic" style, the other had a wood burning fireplace (we took that one!). Our room was modern, clean, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Although there was construction nearby, we didn't hear any of it during our stay.

We ate the complimentary breakfast one morning and it was exactly what we expected - a basic but tasty hot buffet. We enjoyed dinner at the Boathouse one evening and were amazed at the quality of food and service, and great prices! We love that a lot of the produce is grown on site! Our server even recognized another customer who comes annually and chatted with him like an old friend - great "small town" style service :)

We were a bit bummed that the spa was not open, but Michelle at the front was great to recommend a spa nearby for us.

We can't say enough great things about the front desk staff! They brought us complimentary wine for our honeymoon, arranged a treat to be delivered to us (compliments of our parents), helped us arrange a late check-out with no hassle, and were all around very accommodating.

We are already planning to return for our one year anniversary!

Room Tip: We were sad that our 1-room suite didn't have a water view, but the room was gorgeous!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear D1264,

Thank you for your review! We're so happy you enjoyed your honeymoon. All the best for many happy years together and we'll see you next fall!

Cheers!
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2015

It's a nice to go if you like Outlook activities. It's quite far and you must follow the directions close if you Don't want to get lost. The food was good but the same menu come back often. Housekeeping wasn't so good maybe bécasse I was out of business season.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the beach so you'll be in a quiet place.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2015

Dear Monic M,

Thank you for your feedback. I am somewhat perplexed at your comment about the menu being the same. Mount Julian restaurant changes its menu every week to reflect seasonally available ingredients, and we have just put out our expanded winter menu at The Boathouse. Lots of variety to choose from!

I'm sorry you weren't happy with housekeeping. Could you please call me with your specific concerns so that we may rectify the situation? You can reach me at 705-654-3344.

Cheers
Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2015

This was our first trip to the Viamede Resort we received as a gift. It was overall very disappointing. Rooms are out dated, very tired , we had to rehang our curtains they were falling down. When we arrive our room was freezing , couldn't take our shoes off cause the floor was so cold .We were told we had a jacuzzi in our room , but it was just a regular air tub.We had a squirrel or mouse in our wall that kept us up . We booked a nine course meal for supper , the dinning room was beautiful and the waiter was very good,but the food was poor . We did have 9 courses but all portions were about the side of a 1/4 cup , and nothing special….after nine courses we were still hungry, after every course we thought would get the Main course to fill us up …but never came ( went back to room and ate snacks to fill up ) . The meal with wine cost us over $400 . One night , one supper and one breakfast for more than $600 . During the breakfast there was a large dog in the front lobby that barked the whole time we were eating. We have travelled to many different resorts this one was by far the most disappointing . Other couples we ate breakfast with left early also because they were so diappointed. If we would have stayed at another couples resort near Algonguin we would have got 2 nights , 2 breakfast, a gorgeous room, and a massage for around the same price. We don't have alot of opportunity to get away as a couple this was disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank travelerT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear travelerT1970,

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Our rooms and cottages have been updated, but they are not perfect. And, as we are in a rural location, one may come across the occasional mouse. Rest assured we do deal with these critters as soon as we are made aware of them.

The courses in the tasting menu at Mount Julian are smaller than your average restaurant. With 5, 7 or 9 courses, our guests usually find themselves perfectly sated at the end of their meal. We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality in our dishes, so I'm sorry to hear it wasn't to your liking. I do hope you'll give us another chance to wow you.

Best regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2015

We cannot comment on the resort as a whole, as we only dined at the Inn at Mt. Julian restaurant with my wife's parents on their 40th anniversary. This place was recommended to us by renters at a neighbouring cotage, and they insisted it was the best place in the area for a special occasion. They were correct.
Upon arrival, our waiter was waiting at the door to warmly greet us, wish a happy anniersary and take us to our table, a windowside seating with a stunning view of the lake.
We elected to try the 7-course tasting option. We all agreed afterward that it was easily the finest meal any of us had ever experienced, made all the more so by our charming, sophisticated waiter and his outstanding wine pairings and immense passion for his work.
We were one of three tables in the restaurant on a week-end, and we could hardly believe that it was not crammed to capacity. Granted, the prices are high, but the entire experience is worth every penny. Even with other tables to tend to, we were made to feel like valued VIP guests throughout the entire evening.
The attention to detail with the plating, the flavours and the portions was immacculate, the overall ambiance of the dining room (a step-back into the mid 20th century, complete with period music on a vintage record player and professional wait-staff in vest and bow-tie) was warm and thoroughly enjoyable. Our meal meandered through nearly 2 1/2 hours, and at the end of a work-of-art dessert, we still felt as though we could enjoy another 2 hours!

We have a cottage on Clear Lake, and have never once felt compelled to review any of our dining experiences while away from the city, however we are all looking forward to sharing our experience with the Mt. Julian restaurant next year. Thank-you chef Kevin for a world-class meal, and thanks to our waiter Ryan for reminding us that five-star service is still a living concept outside of the city. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Guenther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

Dear Guenther M,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy your wife's parents' anniversary celebration was a success. We look forward to welcoming you again at Mount Julian!

Cheers
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2015

Spent 2 nights at this resort and was disappointed with the hotel. First of all, upon checking into our room we discovered the toilet had not been cleaned properly from the previous guest (or housekeeping is non existent). The furniture needed dusting not only in the room but in the common areas etc. Construction is still going on and that put a damper on our visit. Our hotel rate was over $150.00 per night. The adjoining property is very pretty but we would not return to this resort. It is dated and needs a major facelift.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank chacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

Dear chacha,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. We will look into the housekeeping concerns you mention. We have done extensive renovation at the resort with more to come, but we always appreciate guest feedback.

Cheers,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews