We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
130
83
53
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
83
53
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long weekend beautiful location stoney lake dining room indoor pool on site main building the pub sausage boat house course tasting menu bedroom cottage water trampoline attention to detail hiking trails view of the lake cottage country
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 330 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2016

The location is great and the views are amazing. All the staff members we were in contact with were friendly and efficient. Yet the food and the presentation was mediocre at best. The rooms and the common areas need updating and redecorating. The only nice feature was the bed and linens. Otherwise, the whole place looked rundown.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pantac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Dear pantac,
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of updating many areas of the resort, but it is indeed a rustic location.

Please do contact me directly with the details of your meal. The culinary experience at Viamede is usually second to none, so I certainly would appreciate your feedback.

Cheers!
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2016

Just like having your own cottage, without the work or responsibility. We stayed for three nights during the week after Labour Day, on the Golden Getaway package. Very good value for the money, including breakfast and $80 vouchers for dinner. We had a room with two very comfortable double beds in the Main Lodge which we found perfect for our needs. In addition to wonderful Muskoka chairs on the verandah overlooking the lake and pool, our end of the verandah was blocked off for the exclusive use of the four rooms at that end. Patio doors with screens opened on to it. Heard and saw loons almost immediately when we arrived so we knew we were in cottage country. And the lake was still warm enough to swim in. Very quiet while we were there. Breakfast wasn't anything special...your typical complimentary hotel buffet breakfast. Dinner in The Boathouse was good while our five-course tasting menu with wine pairing in Mount Julian Inn was fabulous (as was Jamie). We ate out for lunch...one day at Honey's Diner (have a butter tart for sure) and one day around the lake at Stoney Lake Market Grill. Both were very nice places with good food and friendly service. We do agree that maintenance and house keeping could be better but overall we had a wonderful time and hope to do it again next year.

Room Tip: We had 102 in the Main Lodge. Good WIFI, verandah directly overlooking lake and pool, quiet, close to everything.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Dear t42,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again next year!

Cheers!
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

We took advantage of a mid week special with mixed results. Our room was well appointed and private with its own outdoor sitting area and a lovely view. Meals were casual with limited choices served in the Pub restaurant. Outdoor equipment needs more organization as the canoes were battered and poorly maintained . The organized activities including evening movies offered were focused on the younger guests. Not really good for a couples getaway. Lots of families during July and August so it was not the tranquil break we had hoped for. Viamede is a pet friendly resort and most families included their dog. Couples are advised to go in June or September if you want a quieter experience.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank joyarcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Dear joyarcher1,

Thank you for your comments. Summer is indeed a busy time for us, and we have many families on-site. During the fall, winter and spring seasons it is quieter and perfect for a quiet couples' getaway. We hope to see you again another time!

Cheers,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

We are just finishing our fourth trip to Viamede and have already booked our trip for next year. We have been coming to Viamede since we sold our cottage. It has all the things we loved about owning our own cottage and none of the bother. The activities are amazing--the disc golf course is a work of art, the hiking trails are gorgeous, and we love canoeing, kayaking, stand-up paddleboarding, and swimming. There's also a lovely new indoor (and outdoor) pool, with a steam room, sauna, and gym, as well as a new games room for rainy days. The restaurants have excellent food, with Mt Julien satisfying the most demanding locavore foodie. And, of course, it's pet friendly (and also family friendly and couple friendly).

Many of the other reviewers have pointed out the imperfections of the place and yes, there's a lack of attention to detail in some areas and I dearly wish for better wifi. But this is intended to be a cottage resort, and not a fancy city hotel. It's not the cheapest resort (or the most expensive) but we think it's great value for the facilities offered and the access to outstanding food.

We would particularly like to compliment the staff. What we love most about Viamede is that if you ask for anything, the young, smart, helpful staff jump to help. In fact, this trip an error was made in our reservation. The wonderful managers Deanna and Jami did such a polished and professional job of managing the situation, we felt inspired to write this positive review to say how welcome they made us feel. No place is perfect, but Ben (the owner) does a great job of hiring, training, and promoting smart staff, including students, and empowering them to provide good service and we really appreciate and respect that. One more day then we will see you next year (and possibly even for a winter long weekend).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Dear Rhea,

It was a pleasure having you and Buster here again! Looking forward to seeing you all next time.

Cheers,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

This place is perfect. A resort set on beautiful Stoney Lake - with a fabulous pub ( The Boathouse - great menu) and an extraordinary dining experience at Mount Julian - tasting menu with pairings was so good, we did it twice.
Everyone we met was friendly, helpful & professional. Will definitely return, maybe for one of their workshops.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Hello Judi D,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Mt Julian....twice!

We hope see you again!

Cheers!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews