We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Julian is a foodie heaven”
Review of Viamede Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viamede Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Mount Julian is a foodie heaven”
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We just had 4 specular nights there. While the cottage was rustic it was very comfortable and right on the lake. The place is dog friendly and, as such, we were in heaven. A golden rescue outfit was there for a bbq on Saturday with 150 dogs, with some from Istambul! Don't let this scare you if you are a not a dog person. This happens once a year. The lake is peaceful and warm with a nice little sandy beach. Kayaks and canoes free on the beach. A campfire is lit almost every night and they deliver the makings for s'mores! While an amazing hamburger and Caesar salad is served at the boathouse resto, Mount Julian restaurant is in an 19 century house and is more than extradoninary. Ingredients are sourced nearby and make for a shockingly sophisticated cottage country meal. Heirloom tomatoes, rabbit, forest mushrooms, trout, pickerel, squash, and beef. Vegetarian on request. I defy you not to enjoy the cricket and frog sounds on your nighttime walk back to your room. The hiking trails have warnings for wildlife and are lovely. Saw a deer. There is a transplanted 19century chapel on site that is enchanting. Wine tastings from local vineyards, and they have their own farm that they have a little tour of.

Room Tip: Try cottage 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Dear travelguy002,

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves (and the wildlife).

Cheers!
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    71
    42
    21
    22
See reviews for
81
119
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The location is great and the views are amazing. All the staff members we were in contact with were friendly and efficient. Yet the food and the presentation was mediocre at best. The rooms and the common areas need updating and redecorating. The only nice feature was the bed and linens. Otherwise, the whole place looked rundown.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2016
Dear pantac,
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of updating many areas of the resort, but it is indeed a rustic location.

Please do contact me directly with the details of your meal. The culinary experience at Viamede is usually second to none, so I certainly would appreciate your feedback.

Cheers!
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Just like having your own cottage, without the work or responsibility. We stayed for three nights during the week after Labour Day, on the Golden Getaway package. Very good value for the money, including breakfast and $80 vouchers for dinner. We had a room with two very comfortable double beds in the Main Lodge which we found perfect for our needs. In addition to wonderful Muskoka chairs on the verandah overlooking the lake and pool, our end of the verandah was blocked off for the exclusive use of the four rooms at that end. Patio doors with screens opened on to it. Heard and saw loons almost immediately when we arrived so we knew we were in cottage country. And the lake was still warm enough to swim in. Very quiet while we were there. Breakfast wasn't anything special...your typical complimentary hotel buffet breakfast. Dinner in The Boathouse was good while our five-course tasting menu with wine pairing in Mount Julian Inn was fabulous (as was Jamie). We ate out for lunch...one day at Honey's Diner (have a butter tart for sure) and one day around the lake at Stoney Lake Market Grill. Both were very nice places with good food and friendly service. We do agree that maintenance and house keeping could be better but overall we had a wonderful time and hope to do it again next year.

Room Tip: We had 102 in the Main Lodge. Good WIFI, verandah directly overlooking lake and pool, quiet, close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2016
Dear t42,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again next year!

Cheers!
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We took advantage of a mid week special with mixed results. Our room was well appointed and private with its own outdoor sitting area and a lovely view. Meals were casual with limited choices served in the Pub restaurant. Outdoor equipment needs more organization as the canoes were battered and poorly maintained . The organized activities including evening movies offered were focused on the younger guests. Not really good for a couples getaway. Lots of families during July and August so it was not the tranquil break we had hoped for. Viamede is a pet friendly resort and most families included their dog. Couples are advised to go in June or September if you want a quieter experience.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joyarcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear joyarcher1,

Thank you for your comments. Summer is indeed a busy time for us, and we have many families on-site. During the fall, winter and spring seasons it is quieter and perfect for a quiet couples' getaway. We hope to see you again another time!

Cheers,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We are just finishing our fourth trip to Viamede and have already booked our trip for next year. We have been coming to Viamede since we sold our cottage. It has all the things we loved about owning our own cottage and none of the bother. The activities are amazing--the disc golf course is a work of art, the hiking trails are gorgeous, and we love canoeing, kayaking, stand-up paddleboarding, and swimming. There's also a lovely new indoor (and outdoor) pool, with a steam room, sauna, and gym, as well as a new games room for rainy days. The restaurants have excellent food, with Mt Julien satisfying the most demanding locavore foodie. And, of course, it's pet friendly (and also family friendly and couple friendly).

Many of the other reviewers have pointed out the imperfections of the place and yes, there's a lack of attention to detail in some areas and I dearly wish for better wifi. But this is intended to be a cottage resort, and not a fancy city hotel. It's not the cheapest resort (or the most expensive) but we think it's great value for the facilities offered and the access to outstanding food.

We would particularly like to compliment the staff. What we love most about Viamede is that if you ask for anything, the young, smart, helpful staff jump to help. In fact, this trip an error was made in our reservation. The wonderful managers Deanna and Jami did such a polished and professional job of managing the situation, we felt inspired to write this positive review to say how welcome they made us feel. No place is perfect, but Ben (the owner) does a great job of hiring, training, and promoting smart staff, including students, and empowering them to provide good service and we really appreciate and respect that. One more day then we will see you next year (and possibly even for a winter long weekend).

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Rhea,

It was a pleasure having you and Buster here again! Looking forward to seeing you all next time.

Cheers,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This place is perfect. A resort set on beautiful Stoney Lake - with a fabulous pub ( The Boathouse - great menu) and an extraordinary dining experience at Mount Julian - tasting menu with pairings was so good, we did it twice.
Everyone we met was friendly, helpful & professional. Will definitely return, maybe for one of their workshops.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, General Manager at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2016
Hello Judi D,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Mt Julian....twice!

We hope see you again!

Cheers!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We had our wedding at Viamede this past weekend and I can not say enough good things about EVERY aspect of this resort. My husband and I were given a beautiful two-bedroom bridal sweet that was immaculately clean, cooled by A/C and had televisions in both rooms. Super comfy king sized bed and an in-room jacuzzi completed the deal. Most of my guests also had large king rooms on site, a couple had the smaller rooms, which are quite tiny, but prices reflected the difference in size/ lack of view, so no one complained, plus we weren't in our rooms much anyway.

The grounds are spectacular. Every inch has some new beautiful nook, which makes it pretty much the greatest venue for wedding photos a girl could ask for, and also means that there are tons of places for guests to wander around and explore. Our ceremony was in the chapel and even though it was a little warm, it was perfect and intimate and romantic. The staff provided everyone with chilled water bottles which was amazing. Reception hall over looks the lake and was decorated to perfection.

THE STAFF. There are not words to describe how wonderful the Viamede staff is. Anney was my coordinator and she was a super star. Any little hiccup and she was immediately on it and had the issue fixed in a matter of minutes. The rest of the wait staff (including Jami behind the bar) was FANTASTIC. I got so many compliments about how efficient and professional they all were. I loved them.

Likewise, my guests could not stop talking about how good the food was. The food was one of our major sticking points when picking a venue and my foodie family couldn't find a single thing wrong with it. Not just the wedding dinner either - the breakfast served every morning was just as great. Huge portions, cooked perfectly, so, so, so yummy.

Honest to goodness, anyone who gives Viamede less than four stars is either a spoiled rotten city person who doesn't understand the concept of a cottage resort or impossible to please because even with little bumps and stumbles along the way, I can honestly say that I couldn't have picked a better place for my wedding and my husband and I will most certainly be back because we are madly in love with Viamede and its staff. Thank you all for everything!!!!

Room Tip: Hill Top rooms are bigger and a little more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Meg,

Thank you for your review. Your wedding was just beautiful and we can't wait to see you and your husband again. Congratulations!

Cheers,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.0 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
103 reviews
33.1 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
373 reviews
36.2 km away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
231 reviews
35.2 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
188 reviews
11.5 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viamede Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Property: Viamede Resort
Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Viamede Resort North Kawartha, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing