We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
132
83
53
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
83
53
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long weekend beautiful location stoney lake dining room indoor pool on site main building the pub mount julian sausage boat house water trampoline course tasting menu bedroom cottage hiking trails view of the lake cottage country
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 332 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2017

Viamede's "Quick Escape" package was just what we needed for a little sanity break. Not too far from the city but a world away from work, traffic and noise. We had a great little cabin right on the lake and nothing better than sitting on your deck in the morning and watching the loons and geese with their goslings swim by. The 7 course dinner with wine pairing was wonderful - and the butter tart ice cream at the end was to die for. The service was great - lots of extra little touches - including butter tarts with breakfast because we raved so much the night before. Lots to explore - hiking trails, a little on-site farm that supplies the chef... wonderful place to get off by ourselves and great value for money. Thanks to Ben and all of the staff.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CFletch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your Quick Escape, and yes, we agree that Chef's butter tarts are out of this world!

Cheers,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2017

I had the unique pleasure of spending two consecutive weekends at Viamede: the first was for my 45th nursing class reunion (23 women) and the second was for a spring conference (75 women). Viamede is a bit rustic, it is early in the season and some of the cabins needed a little more attention to detail - specifically cleanliness. The food was abundant and delicious for the most part, with the exception of the first night on the 1st weekend when Chef Jay was not there. That meal was definitely below average.
The best selling point of the resort (aside from the spectacular setting) is the staff. These people could not have done more to make our stay pleasurable. From Ben, the GM, who responded to every request with a smile and "can-do" to the very friendly, accommodating Anna and Hannah. Everyone there was a joy to deal with.
It rained all weekend but we still had fun....the indoor pool is great although the tiles could use a good scrubbing.
The best, most comfortable beds. I'd like to go back later in the season when the weather is warmer and I could take advantage of the many outdoor activities.

Room tip: Everything is right on the lake.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thanks for your review, Joan! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. We appreciate the feedback on the cottages and food and will make sure to address those areas.
Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2017

We had no idea what to expect, but we'd heard from people who had visited over the years, so we figured we were in for something special.
We went up mid-April, wanting to get out and enjoy the warming weather. We were greeted by the Lake and the budding trees, it was just what we needed.
Our cottage had an incredible view overlooking the lake, and we barely left the deck. We didn't use the barbecue located on our deck, but we did have a kitchenette in our cottage which was ideal with the kids. We made Jiffy Pop and snacks - though we did enjoy most meals at the resort dining room. But we'll probably get a barbecue basket next time we visit, that just sounds like a lot of fun.
Our cottage had a fireplace which we thoroughly enjoyed. When we mentioned we'd be making a fire, the resort staff gave us a basket filled with chocolate, marshmallows, graham crackers and fire pokers – a s'mores kit! We were even lent the resort dog and the kids had a blast with her!
The parkette was right beside our cottage and the kids could go and play as much as they wanted to. It was quite ideal.
The staff at the resort were incredibly welcoming and nice. The food was spectacular. The amenities were fantastic. There's this gorgeous pool that has a swim-out door so that it's actually indoors and out. The sauna and pool have the most spectacular view of the lake and the light at sunset is like nothing else!
Our cottage was right in front of the main house, and we had fun running up in the middle of the night for movies, tea and little adventures.
It was a perfect weekend get-away, close enough to the city to make it an easy drive. The Kawarthas are lovely. Next time maybe we'll take a canoe or paddleboard out. Those were available and looked like fun. Maybe even some fishing.
There were great little spots to go - relax, work out, hang out - we just enjoyed ourselves so much!
Oh - and the beds, SO COMFY!

Room tip: There are resort rooms and cottages. We really liked being in our own cottage right on the water.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Dear Elisa,

It was a pleasure having you and your family here. Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers
Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

I was excited to arrive at Viamede resort having missed two previous nursing reunions held there. It is located on a lake with quaint cottages bordering it There is a main lodge and indoor pool in which you can swim thru a plastic screen to an outdoor pool and hot tub. there is an assortment of varying sized log cottages There is an outdoor pool at the lake's edge and kayaks available in the warmer weather. There is a fenced dog park and numerous hiking trails.Sadly, when we entered our cabin it looked like company had arrived unexpectantly. The floors were dirty, the cupboards lacked plates and knives , The kitchen curtains were falling down or held together with bent coat hangers The bath towels were few in numbers. Some ladies were sure there beds had been slept in and not changed.and insisted they do so at 10:30 at night The first night's meal consisted of lovely roasted vegetables, dry ham, dry pasta alfredo , mushy baked beans , homefiries .I guess they thought we liked carbs No coffee or tea was included with the meal. The second nights dinner was a plated chicken dinner, safe standard fare A coffee bar was set up at our request Over all the facility looks tired. The cabins stain and deck stain is peeling, broken lawn furniture on the decks could easily have been discarded. There is certainly a lot of stocking up and sprucing up to be done before the summer season. Overall, nothing good ruin a weekend seeing old friends but I was very disappointed in the resort

Room tip: being at the waters edge is nice but check that the rooms are clean and stocked with supplies
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marg634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Dear Marg,

I am sorry that your cottage was not cleaned to our usual standard. We are addressing these issues as we gear up for summer.

Cheers,
Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

I went with some friends for a shoulder-season girls' writing getaway. The food was amazing - the poutine my friends ordered looked divine, the chicken wings were great, and breakfast had sausages that were to die for. The rooms were cozy, the in-room fireplace was awesome, and the indoor-outdoor pool was a ton of fun. The hiking trails are great and we borrowed a dog to take along! I'm definitely going back. The wifi isn't great - especially outside of the main building but that's completely expected in cottage country. Board game, book, and dvd lending library is a really cool extra.

Room tip: I love staying in the main building - I didn't need to go outside to get to breakfast.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Dear Jenn,

Thank you for your review! I'm so happy you had a great time. Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers!
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews