We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
127
83
52
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
83
52
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong weekendbeautiful locationstoney lakedining roomindoor poolon sitethe pubmain buildingsausageboat housecourse tasting menubedroom cottagewater trampolineattention to detailhiking trailscottage countryfood was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 326 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2017

A laid back resort that is the perfect setting for getting away from it all. The cottages are rustic and comfortable and the views are perfect. There's not a lot of boat traffic, so it adds to the peacefulness.
Ben and the staff are super friendly and go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. Ben makes you feel like family.
This was our third year at there and we've booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 859Keith859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thanks for your review, Keith! We're looking forward to seeing you again next summer.

Cheers
Ben Samann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

My family and I just got home from spending the past 3 days at Viamede and expected a lot more for the price you pay.
Starting off, it's located on a beautiful lake which is the best part.
Can't complain about the food either. The breakfast is very limited, but tasty. The boathouse has great food but some of the servers need a lot more training.
The gym was a lot better than expected. No towels or water, but was great.
The cleanliness of the whole facility is shocking to say the least. I guess by "cleaning" the rooms, they meant making the bed and taking the garbage. That's the extent of what happens. Doesn't matter if there is sand or rocks on the floor, they don't sweep or wash the floors. Had to move the bed to get something that dropped and there was a tonne of dust, dirt etc. The same coffee stains and food were in the floor in the main dining room. I guess they forgot to hire cleaners. The place is defiantly rustic, but also filthy.
The staff are quite pleasant but many are not trained properly. Our bills were messed up after every meal so make sure you look at the bill. We were told that we couldn't have a copy and we would have to see it upon check out. Never heard of this policy before.
When we went to check out, out bill was wrong and they were completely confused.
The tennis court isn't a tennis court. We called to ask if there was a court and were told it was paved but in good condition. It was shocking to say the least.
The resort refers to itself as family friendly but it really isn't. There are limited high chairs (which were always filthy) and I had to carry the stroller up and down the stairs on many occasions. Nothing is paved and there are rocks everywhere.
Outside the pool there is a huge safety hazard. Part of the roof of the shed beside is head height and extremely sharp. An accident waiting to happen if it hasn't already.
Go to this resort if you don't have high expectations.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Carly,

I am sorry to hear that we didn't live to your expectations. I can assure you that we do indeed sweep and mop floors as part of our housekeeping services, but as you mentioned, we are a rustic property, and not a high-end metropolitan hotel.

All the best,

Ben Samann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at Viamede Resort. It was our first time there. The vibe at the resort was very informal and relaxed, which suited us well. They have great staff there to help or answer questions if needed- everyone we encountered was very helpful. The resort is a bit rustic and in need of some maintenance / repair, however everything we needed worked fine and the room was clean and stocked. I would recommend replacing some of the broken equipment at the beach and pool (e.g paddles, life jackets, pool noodles). It was great to be able to just walk over to the beach and grab a canoe or Kayak and just head out for a paddle at anytime- no need to sign up or sign equipment out.

We had dinner one night at the Boathouse restaurant, sitting on the deck overlooking the water, which was quite nice. We enjoyed our food and the service was great! The second night we enjoyed a very lovely candlelit 5 course meal at Mount Julian restaurant. If you stay at Viamede we highly recommend having at least one meal there. Each course was fantastic and we couldn't wait to see what would be served next. I had some food restrictions that I advised them if when I made the reservation and they did a fantastic job of accommodating while providing a wonderful dining experience. The customer service here was also fantastic.

I would rate the facilities 3 and the restaurants and customer service a 4-4.5

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vacationer720706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers
Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We just got back from a weekend at Viamede, and absolutely loved it. The atmosphere is very laid back and they have an amazing pet policy. We took our black lab, and she had just as much fun as the kids (even learned how to swim- yes a lab that is afraid of water, she is rescue so who knows if she ever saw it). The cabin we had was right next the beach and was perfect for the 8 of us (4 adults two kids). We had breakfast in the lodge, lunch at the cabin (we BBQ), adn ate dinner at the Boathouse. We had a gorgeous view of the lake, and everything we needed in the cabin. The cabins, at least the one we were in is very rustic but with upgraded bathroom and kitchen. Our only complaint about the cabin if you even call it that, even was how loud the water pump was during the night. The Boathouse restaurant on the grounds was just ok, but this is coming from someone that is gluten intolerant so it's often hard for me to find much to eat. The soup I had last night was delicious. It's fairly deep fryer/ frozen food dependent and could use a review of the menu. There is a fine dining restaurant on site that we can't wait to try when we don't have kids with us. We loved the clubhouse with free tea, coffee, fruit and cookies. They serve breakfast in there, and it was fantastic for being included- eggs, bacon, sausage, roasted tomatoes, cereal, toast, fruit and yogurt. There were lots of activities for the kids, though they spent most of their time in the lake on the kayaks, canoes and water trampoline. There is a dedicated activity area as well as a playground and tennis court. They even have a fenced in dog park if you have a dog that likes to run free. We never even made it into the indoor pool since the weather was so nice (but a nice option should it have rained). There are lots of games and movies in the main building. All of the leisure activities are included and the owner even took the kids out tubing yesterday afternoon and then fishing at 6 am this morning. That was definitely a highlight!! Each evening they start a bon fire and leave a basket of s'more making ingredients which is conveniently right next to the park. If you are looking for a place that is laid back and light on the rules, this is the place. We took the kids over to the farm that is also on the resort, and they loved it, especially the pigs! If you go, be sure to go on a short hike to see the 100 year old oak too! It's a small resort, so it's quiet and everyone we met was

Room Tip: They do euro style so they don't provide a top sheet (you can ask for one) they just do a duvet instead and change the covers. Not all the cabins have the same amenities so be sure to ask what your cabin has if you are renting one. I didn't see the rooms in the lodge so I can't comment on the inside of those, but many have a nice view of the lake. All the water is filtered and is delicious. No need to tote water bottles. Our cabin came with a fully stocked kitchen, but if anything is missing, just ask they are great about providing you with information and stuff you need! I love that the alarm clocks are in the night stand and not the standard. We were on vacation time and didn't need to know the time. There are muskoka chairs all over the place to just plunk down and relax all over the resort, but with the cabins as well.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelleywhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you for your review Shelley! I hope we'll see you again soon!

Cheers,
Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

The cottage we were to stay in was not cleaned! The fridge, diswasher, toaster, and dining chairs were too dirty to use. The windows had cobwebs and there were dirt marks running down the walls. The BBQ was disgusting, certainly needs to be replaced! The bedrooms did seem like they were ready, too bad the rest of the place wasn't cleaned up as well. Bathroom had towles for two people, there were four of us and the the soap dispenser was dirty and almost empty. We decided to leave and the Manager was not all interested in finding out our concerns or try to correct any of this. His response was I will check into that, after we told him it was too dirty for us to be comfortable staying there!!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend you choose a different place to stay!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrainedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

We are sorry you are disappointed, Lorraine. We are a cottage resort, and with that comes a certain rustic appeal - we do not have designer rooms as you may find at a high-end big-city hotel. However, our rooms are clean, stocked with plenty of towels for all the guests, and we truly strive for top notch customer service. All the best.

Ben Samann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews