We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
183
104
59
36
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
183
104
59
36
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stoney lake dining room indoor pool on site main building bedroom cottage mount julian boat house sausage boathouse pub hiking trails course meal cottage country wine pairing jacuzzi tub view of the lake food was amazing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 432 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2019

What a wonderful time we had for a NYE getaway!

From the moment we drove onto the property grounds, we were in awe at the beauty that surrounds the Resort. The happy and sincere welcome by Ben and the staff were enough to let us know we were in for a wonderful 3 days! Once we were told the history, we saw so many beautiful details. The staff doesn't even have to try to be pleasant, helpful, courteous ... I do believe that they were born to be there! :-D

The food? Wow!
Atmosphere? Wow!
Rooms (with wood burning fireplace)? Wow!

We will be back in the summer to sample the rest of the resort!

Thank you all for a very enjoyable and memorable stay!! oxoxo

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Mimi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Thanks for your review Mimi! We're so glad you had a wonderful time for your New Year's Eve and look forward to welcoming you back for the warmer weather.

Cheers,
Ben Samann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2019

I first stayed at Viamede in '95 for my honeymoon. I recall staying in one of the cabins and loved it. I recently had the opportunity to return for a one night stay in the main lodge and loved it! Ben and staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - making sure my stay was memorable. I highly recommend Mt. Julian's pairing menu. Incredible, local food and drink - paired to perfection. Thanks so much Ben! Hugs to Daisy and Toby!

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank HeatherRay329
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Hi Heather,

Thank you for the review and we're so glad you had a great stay!

Cheers,
Ben Samann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2018

It was our first time here and I didn’t read the reviews until after we booked. Sounds like those who are salty about Viamede are high maintenance types. If you’re like me, someone who likes casual but a bit higher-end than rustic with genuine service, then you’ll have a great time at Viamede.

The trails were quiet and about 9km of them. Plenty for an afternoon of wandering in the forest. Would have loved to ice skate the lake but the ice was not thick enough.

The indoor/outdoor pool was just delightful. Could have liked it a tad warmer. Stunning views from the sauna. Just, stunning.

Dinner at 1885 was very delicious and decent portion sizes. Breakfast was okay. Sadly our stay was during the week so we could not go to Mount Julian. Communal areas are cozy and because the resort wasn’t too busy during our stay, my spouse and I spent the whole evening after dinner sitting by the fire with our wine.

Our room in the main building was a good size and according to my smart watch metrics, I slept better than I had all week. Super comfy bed, and bathroom was more than decent. Decor on the dated side of things but that’s only if you care about that. Would have been nice to have a private patio, as all the rooms on the ground floor connect to the same patio. We were totally fine with this, but I can see how some may be not be cool with it. Can’t stress enough how friendly everyone was, both staff and guests.

Hopefully in time cosmetic improvements will be made, but it takes a lot of time, effort, and people to work on a place this size. It feels like those who work at Viamede truly believe in the place, and so you should too.

Down to it, we’d definitely be interested in visiting again! I’d be interested to see this place in the Spring just before the summer rush. Thanks for the great getaway!

Room tip: Lake views all the way.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank islandinthepacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2018

Hi islandinthepacifica,

Thanks for your comments! It was lovely to meet you and your husband, and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. All the best!

Ben Samann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2018

I was there in December for a weekend getaway where the outdoor activities weren't available but the resort did a great job in making sure we had things to do. Ben (GM), Matt (employee) and the Chef (I think it was John) were all fantastic and went above and beyond to take care of the guests! I stayed in the main building that was attached to the indoor pool. The indoor pool with the lake view and the sauna was amazing. There were board games, cookie decorating, a collection of DVDs to watch etc. I can't wait to go back in the summer!

Room tip: The main building had the indoor pool attached and the rooms are quite clean.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajeshjey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2018

Thanks for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you in the summer!

Cheers,
Ben Samann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

We decided to get away for a weekend. My wife found the “Yule” package here. It included all our meals and a room with a king bed. We had just basically planned to go hiking most of the weekend. My wife had gotten sick just before we were to attend Viamede. The staff was AMAZINGLY accommodating. They offered to bring anything we needed to our room. They were super awesome to work with. The food, that was all provided at 1885, was AMAZING. Portion sizes were great and we definitely didn’t leave hungry. We are already looking at going again this winter season. Considering how sick my wife was we still had an awesome time.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jday231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

We're so glad to hear you had such a great stay. Thanks so much for coming, and I hope your wife is already feeling better!

Cheers,
Ben Samann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews