We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An amazing place run by the amazing Jackie.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamble Retreat Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamble Retreat Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Warsash B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An amazing place run by the amazing Jackie.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I wanted to stay here after seeing it in three in a bed.

This place is awesome, it is exceptionally clean and fresh with no issues.... Even if I attempted to try to find something it simply could not.

The welcome was fantastic and the initial walk round the house with Jackie just made me fall in love with the place even more.

The truth is that this place is more of a five star hotel.

I have been to many hotels and they dont come close to this place in service or exceptional value for money.

This place is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terraprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
55
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Sadly only stayed for a flying visit one night. Would love to return and stay longer to appreciate all that Hamble Retreat has to offer. Our room was booked on our behalf by friends who chose the Carribbean Room - the first thing you see is the huge shark hanging over the bed!! Dotted around the room and bathroom are other items relating to the Carribbean such as parrots and murals. Didn't have time unfortunately to use the fantastic looking pool, gym or jacuzzi. Breakfast was of good quality and plenty of it (you order as much as you want the night before on a form given you to on arrival.

The Coles are very a friendly, generous, trusting fun couple who are more than willing to chat and share their TV experience with you, in fact nothing is too much trouble (the instructions for their 'always open bar' are interesting)! We arrived earlier than planned on Saturday morning but Nick went all out to assist with this for us as we had an event in Southampton in the afternoon.

A great place to stay - it's as simple as that!

Room Tip: Book as early as you can! The master suite is booked up nearly every weekend but not sure about ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNottingham_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We saw this on tv and fancied a night there - we were not disappointed. Great location, beautiful rooms and exceptional service. This is my first review and so pleased the stay was just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g6yog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here last year for 3 nights. I'd had reservations about spending £90 a night, as we had never stayed anywhere so expensive before. However, it was worth every penny and more!

The welcome we received on arrival from Jackie and Nick was very warm and friendly, and we soon felt like we were staying with friends. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Too often we 've stayed at B and B's where you feel like the owners have no idea of the needs of their guests, but with Jaackie and Nick, you feel like they've anticpated all your needs, and if by chance they've overlooked something, then they would promptly rectify it.

The place is fantastic! The grounds are beautiful in tranquil surroundings, and all of your needs are catered for. The indoor swimming pool and jaccuzi were so relaxing - we were fortunate enough to have these facilities to ourselves - and when we felt more energetic, there was even a mini gym. We didn't try out the games room or steam room, as we used every spare moment to swim or realx in the beautiful grounds.

We stayed in the Egyptian room - the same room that the moaning woman on "3 in a bed" stayed in - and we had no complaints whatsoever.. It has a small balcony which you can sit out on and relax with a glass of wine and look out onto the grounds. It was hot weather when we stayed and it was lovely to sleep with the French doors open. There was a huge full length mirror - something often sadly lacking- state of the art TV, fabulous en suite large shower room, settee and tea and coffee making facilities.Robes and slippers were also provided. There was also a torch for late night returns home.(It's the little touches like that that make this so special)

Jackie is an amazing hostess, always ready to help. We were in the area for a wedding next door at the Maritime Academy and she was a massive help to me, advising me on what went best with what (I had taken several choices of accessories) and even brought us home made cake and coffee to our balcony when she realised we hadn't had time for lunch. Also, after I commented at breakfast to her that I had a stiff neck in the morning because I had forgotten to take my feather pillow with me, one miraculously appeared on the second night, with a little note form her wishing me a good night's sleep!

We were both thrilled to see Jackie and Nick win "3 in a Bed" earlier this year, although I do think the programme was edited somewhat to show Jackie in a bad light. I was also disappointed to read in The Mail on Sunday recently that they are selling up! I hope they change their minds!

This really is a gem of a place and puts other B and B's that charge similar prices to shame. We will definitely return, just as long as they decide not to sell up and move!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerQueen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

This is an excellently well appointed boutique B and B. Service is excellent and the setting is stunning. Ideal for a truly relaxing break. Village has some restaurants and owner will recommend evening eateries further a field. Downside - highly technical arrangements for room lighting, facilities need more written in room explanation. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights after seeing Jackie & Nick featured on '3inabed' TV programme. They were the winners and it wasn't hard to see why. Everything was of the highest quality, from the individual room designs...we had the twin with the shark hanging above us...to the beautiful bar/lounge with its unique honesty box to the fabulous grounds, sunning areas, indoor pool, solarium, sauna and top of the range gym and games room. Too good to be wasted on kids...perfect for romantic getaways or a place to just chill. Will certainly revisit - no detail was overlooked. Perfect hosts and a perfect stay. Special word of thanks go to Lynne, breakfast chef and housekeeper.

Room Tip: Recommend the superior room...its massive and has a pop-up TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryveryChoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warsash
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
5.0 km away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
10.9 km away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
9.4 km away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamble Retreat Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamble Retreat Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hamble Retreat Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 86 Newtown Road, Warsash SO31 9GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Warsash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warsash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamble Retreat Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Hamble Retreat' Boutique Bed & Breakfast is situated on the river Hamble, Briatin's most popular yachting river which is the focus of the South Coast's yachting scene. The location of 'The Hamble Retreat' is complemented by having ample parking and its proximity to the Warsash Maritime Academy. Together with the contemporary interior and calming atmosphere, it is the ideal place to study or relax, sleep and eat. Offering excellent value in opulent surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hamble Retreat Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing