We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
52
88
20
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
88
20
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river rafting eco camp national park early morning forest office across the river great place bird watching rasam in advance duck great indian excellent location attached bathroom jungle walk rafting trip order food
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 169 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

This is very ordinary,our most ordinary In 6 weeks through NE India.I can't understand why they built it so far from the park?Run by a bunch of disinterested young blokes.take your mossy stuff.I was looking forward to Nameri ,but we weren't anywhere near it in Nameri Eco Camp.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank unclesmasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017

Four of us decided make this trip. The total trip duration was nine days (13.05.2017 to 20.05.2017).
After going through Trip Advisor earlier postings, we engaged an Innova Crysta from Nayan Kalita (Mobile No 7086077901). The negotiated Innova rate for 8 days was Rs 35,000 @ Rs 5K for 5 Days in hills + 4K for 3 days in plains - 2K (negotiation). Mr. Kalita is quite dependable and he gave us what he promised and also kept in touch with us all along.
The plan was
Day 1 - Travel from Bengaluru to Guwahati (by air). The Innova picked us up at the airport. We then travelled from Guwahati airport to Nameri Eco Camp (via Tezpur) where we had booked to stay the first night.

There are two routes from Guwahati to Tezpur. One is thru Sipajhar, Orang and the other thru Nagoan. The roads thru Orang is normal country roads with bad patches in places. Take the road thru Nagoan which is four lane highway and this road is far superior.
The distance between Guwahati Airport to nameri is ~208 Kms thru Orang & ~238 Kms thru Nagoan.

Due to our ignorance, the driver took the route thru Orang. We had reasonable lunch in a road side hotel (named Highway XX). Traditional lunch / dinner in Assam is a plate meal and comes with rice, dal ,curry, some chutney and salad (sometimes). One could order for an extra Veg / Non Veg Dish.

We had booked the accomodation at Nameri Eco Camp about 45 days in advance and paid an advance of Rs 2000. The cost of the accomodation is Rs 1800 per night (which does not include any meals). The rooms in this resort get taken up fast, so pls. book you accomodation well in advance to avoid disappointment. There are other resorts as well around like Jai Bhorelli Resort but to get accomodation in any of these resorts you need to book early.
The resort contact numbers are 0371-292644, 9854019932, 8472800344, 9435145563

We reached the resort at about 4 PM. These are tented accomodation with attached bathrooms. They are sort of semi permanent structures. We visited the Pygmy Hog Conservtion center next door. Pygmy hogs are the smallest hogs and are under threat of extinction. We also went to the Jai Bhorelli river @ about 6 PM. Sitting next to the river, we enjoyed the gentle breeze and the peace & quiet. Dinner was wholesome (not elaborate) We could order from ala carte menu. Food price is inline with the costs in other hotels / resorts.

Being at the edge of the National Park, we did come across spiders, beatles and other insects.

While Nameri Eco Camp advertises that they do Level 1 white water rafting, we found that it is more of rowing in inflatable dinghies (for ~14 Kms in the direction of river flow). The charges for these are Rs 2,050 for a 2 person boat and Rs 2,700 for a four person boat. We did not take this as this is really not white water rafting. River rafting is from 6:30 AM. You could give your name for river rafting after you reach the camp.
One could also take a three hour forest trek (with a forest guard) provided by the Forest Department. They also issue a permit at 6 AM for the trek. The cost of trek for 4 people ~ Rs 430 (including Rs 50 for still camera). We took the forest trek, the guards are knowledgeable & they tell you about the numerous birds (specially hornbill) flora & fauna. We did this on Day 2 morning (14.05.2017) . More in my next posting on our activities on Day 2 and stay in Norphel Retreat in Dirang.

Stayed: May 2017
9  Thank Ramesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile

This small eco park is located on tezpur-tenga highway. It is home to log of bird species. N most prominent being the great Indian hornbill. A birdwatchers paradise also offers picturesque view of Himalayas n fun filled picnic on the river bank. The eco park in itself offers a no of rooms to stay n had enough open space to roam ard. One can also buy authentic Assamese dresses. There is a restaurant for food

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lalit Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017

This is a proper eco camp with tents (overall we saw about 13 of them).

The location is amazing and all the nice photos dont do justice to the greenery

The tents are well appointed and spacious, One tent was good enough to fit about 10 of us for a couple of hours of playing cards :)

The cottages are nothing more than a small upgrade on the tents should you really wish not to stay in tents..

Both tents and cottages are equipped with proper wash areas and bathrooms so there is no short of comfort.
The camp offers opportunity to trek through the forest after crossing the Jia Bhoreli river
One can also hire a raft (which lasts for an hour and a half), but nothig more than a grade 0 or grade 1 rafting.. it is still a good experience if you do it early in the day when it is not very hot
We plunged into the river after our rafting and had a nice bathe in the chill waters..

Now to the not so very good part

1. The camp is hardly accessible for any booking, after multiple attempts of trying to reach them, we manged to get hold of a travel agency in that part who helped us get the bookings so all our interactions were through our travel services company (Koyeli travels, who did a good job helping us with with the reservation)

2. It is run like a proper government establishment, completely by the rules, things could be better if they improved the quality of service

3. We called the resort an hour before our arrival to request for arrangement of Lunch, but were told to come there and then head to the restaurant... to our surprise when we reached, we were told the food was to be prepared after our order and would take at least an hour!!!! And all we were asking was their standard Thali lunch in the afternoon.. i just wish the person at the reception could have been more responsible in passing on the message to the restaurant an hour before so we wouldn't have to wait with hungry stomach

To the credit of the folks who run the restaurant, we ordered our next meals well in advance and were served hot and tasty food on time..!!!

Overall i would rate this a very good experience, excellent location, good food, but service could be better!!

Room Tip: Tents are a better bet than cottages
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oorsuthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017

Nameri Eco Camp does a great job of providing all the amenities one would expect of a budget resort but packaged in a camp. The tents are comfortable and clean with electricity. they have attached bathrooms which have individual hot water geysers and western style toilets. The kitchen serves up simple but delicious meals - both veg and non veg. The camp itself is only a few minutes drive to the river beyond which is the Nameri National Park and Tiger Reserve.

Overall we were pleased with our stay and though it was more than value for money.

Room Tip: All tents a similar
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abhaymaskara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews