We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jayne19155019
Toronto, Canada

Excellent stay at Schurman's Shore Cottages

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 2, 2019via mobile
We booked 3 cottages at Schurman's Shore for 2 weeks in August and our family was very happy with our stay there! The cottages were very well equipped for meal preparation and each cottage had a barbecue. Beds were very comfortable. Even on a well water system, water for showers etc was plentiful. I was quite surprised as to how quiet everything was despite close proximity of the cottages. Families with children will be especially happy with the playground, safe beach and close proximity to all PEI attractions. There are washers and dryers available with a change jar and detergent pods to purchase. There are games and small library. Groceries and other items are available after a very short drive to Summerside. Mike and Heather were wonderful hosts and went way beyond to make our visit wonderful - thank you! I highly recommend making Schurman's Shore Cottages your vacation home in PEI!
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
C$129
  • Hotels.com
    C$129
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$120
  • Expedia.com
    C$129
6.1 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$139
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.1 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$106
  • Hotels.com
7.3 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$157
  • Booking.com
7.4 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$118
  • Hotels.com
8.3 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
26.8 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
7.1 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
From the front with office
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.0 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
25.1 km from Schurmans Shore Waterfront Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lower New Annan
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
16
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 17 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2017

My family stayed here for a week and loved every minute of it. It was worth every penny. The owners were friendly and helpful. My son even borrowed binoculars to look at the ocean with because he thought he saw a dolphin haha I think it was a rock! Cottage was very clean. Bbq with propane available to use at each cottage. Fresh towels every Mon Wed Fri! Bars of soap, toilet paper all supplied, 1 roll of paper towel and conditioning shampoo was there to use like a motel. Beach was nice. Found some sea glass and saw lots of Great Blue Herons or at least I think that was what they were! Lots of stuff for kids to play with and a nice newer playground with sand located center to all the cottages. Volleyball and basketball nets with balls in a box. The freezer in the fridge is quite small and we almost did not have enough room for all our food so just keep that in mind when you buy groceries. The shower is kind of small especially for larger people but the water pressure was great with lots of hot water! There were some mosquitos at night and we were there mid August. Just bring some good fly dope or keep a fire going! In mid August we were blessed with awesome weather but we had a few cold nights where you had to wear a sweater and pants to be comfy. Cable tv and WIFI worked good. Firewood available to purchase. There is laundry facilities and it costs $1.50 for a load of wash and $1.50 for a load in the dryer which is fair. There is a jar of change that they use in an honor system way in case you need to make change and tide pods available to buy there. There is an outdoor clothes dryer with clothespins for everyone's use. Fire pit and picnic table at every cottage. Our cottage had a porch swing which I loved to sit and watch the beautiful sunsets over the water. The small red sand beach was waveless and unsuitable for swimming. It was still lovely to look at and walk. Beds bedding and pillows were clean and so comfy. I had the best sleep there especially with the windows open. Location is great. 25 min from the bridge in Borden-Carelton. 45 min drive to Cavendish. 7 min drive to Walmart, Superstore, Sobeys, Giant Tiger, Sportschek and lots of fast food places in Summerside. Even a Tim Hortons! Kensington is only about a 9 min drive. 45 min drive to Charlottetown! 25 min to Darnley. There is everything you need there to cook with like utensils, plates, glasses, pots and pans, water pitcher, ice cube trays, dish soap. There are dressers and a spot to hang some clothes in the bedrooms and night stands with lamps too. Large garbage can outdoors on the lot near cottage. Dvds, books and games to borrow where the laundry facilities are. I cannot say enough good things about this place and the people who run it. I would definitely come back again and was sad to leave. PEI is such a magical, charming place to visit and it refreshes the soul.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank roadtripfunseeker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

We have been going to Schurmans Cottages for the past 3 years.
We are booked for a month in July.
The Cottages are clean and comfortable, you have everything you need and if you don't you ask and are helped. The owners are great and so friendly. They make you feel at home.

Room tip: Views are amazing!!!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank proud_memere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

always good,great people,beautiful views and sunsets..kids have a wonderful time
best place to stay..delicious seafood cooked at cottage...everything you need for a family vacation..good central point to explore the island.all local conveniences nearby

Room tip: all cottages are good
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wayneanddianee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

We love Schurman's Shore cottages. This summer we brought family and friends with us. We rented 6 cottages total and had a wonderful time. The cottages have everything you would want and are always clean. The sunsets are something you will never forget. It is hard to imagine that the sunsets are as beautiful as the pictures but they are, every night!!! Mike and Heather are wonderful hosts. We have been going to PEI and staying at Schurman's shore at least every 2 years since my daughter was a baby. She is now 12 and has 3 younger siblings. Can't wait for our next visit!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage at Shurman's that included a kitchen/dining/living room. Full sized refrigerator, stove/oven and a BBQ for each cottage on the deck make it easy to buy groceries and save money on meals while in PEI.
The owners Mike & Heather are such a joy to deal with from the moment you arrive. Heather even gave us some fresh vegetables from her garden since we hadn't had the chance to stop for groceries. They also loaned us a couple of roasting sticks for my 2 kids! There is a fire pit in front of every cottage & campfire wood available at the front desk for a cozy night by the fire. We had some great conversations with Mike & Heather and they are such wonderful people. Above & beyond.
The cottage was not only clean but immaculate. Considering the sand that can accumulate while touring PEI, I have to give kudos to the spotless condition of the cottage when we arrived and apologize for the amount of sand we left behind!
The cottage is near the bottom of Malpeque Bay so the water is shallow & warm. There are a lot of snails, hermit crabs and tiny fish for kids to explore. No waves and the water is never over 2 feet in depth. The sand is very red and the kids enjoyed it very much. It is especially great for children age 1-4 since it is so shallow and safe where the cottage is located.
There are toys, a volleyball net & horseshoes for everyone to enjoy during their stay. If you run out of clothes, Mike & Heather have a laundry facility available to wash your clothes. There is a clothes hanger outside for everyone's use and the constant PEI wind dries everything quickly.
Final note: You will see the most beautiful sunsets in PEI while at Schurman's cottages. Enjoy the peace & quiet.

Room tip: All the cottages are great!
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CanadianAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews