We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Prakriti Farm(Rupnagar)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Heritage Haveli(Rupnagar)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Merriment Nord(Rupnagar)
Booking.com
View Deal
Sm Resort(Rupnagar)
Booking.com
View Deal
Sukh Elysium(Rupnagar)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
85
87
34
23
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
87
34
23
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip linequad bikingadventure activitiespaint balljungle safariawesome placetable tennisnature walkbeautiful resortkids and adultsfamily and friendsperfect destinationnice foodthree daysnorth indianatural forestfun filled
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 258 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the property with my family and relatives for one night. We booked 6 forest view rooms as the name suggests u can expect all the forest creatures in ur room so we all had atleast 3 lizards in our bathrooms, cockroaches and crickets in our room and on the beds. Food was pathetic with very short menu. Service was very poor. They charge you extensively for everything. Not recommended at all.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Manisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear Manisha,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Lodge. Though we spray our rooms inside and around every evening, especially during the summer and monsoon months. Sometime it does happen that one leaves the door open and the insects get attracted to the light from within the room. Ththough we recommend that the guests keep their door closed at all times. I do hope that you do give us another chance in better weather, and I'm certain that we can change the way you think about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2017

We arrived about 8pm, absolutely shattered. Refused room service and told we could share a buffet with the party that was going on. Declined as the party was VERY loud (the ground was shaking over 200 yards away). Music was supposed to stop at 10. It didn't, then followed by drunks shouting into the early hours. This wasn't the worst bit. We had a shattered glass bedside table and a cracked toilet seat that nipped when sat upon. I had to laugh as the first thing I found on the dressing table was a list of what we would be charged if we damaged anything. When I complained, the staff thought it was funny. I then complained to our tour operator who sent an agent to look. He went ballistic, and they won't be using Kikar Lodge again. This hotel could have spoilt an otherwise super holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robpithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. Yes we did have a group that had requested a DJ, and unfortunately it close down at 1030 instead of 10pm. As for your feedback about the room, o have already taken the necessary action and have had it replaced. I again apologise for the inconvenience caused by the DJ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Went their with family and friends on a biking event .Service is just o k. Food wasn't very good. Atmosphere is serene . Property is good for people looking for a quiet place away from city rush . Advanture activities like zipline, Quad Bike are available on payment.

Room Tip: Plan your tour in a group
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsbasur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. Though we are very good in service and our quality of food is also of a good standard, I am sorry that it did not meet up to your expectations. I wish you had expressed this during your stay and we would have given you a choice immediately. I look forward to having you back with us and do give us an opportunity to change your thoughts about us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

We went in a big group from Delhi to kikar lodge for a weekend getaway.
It was a 5hour non stop ride by road. Few of us reached late. The last few kilometres are a little scary in the evening.

Rooms- rooms are okay. Wooden huts, small washrooms with buckets and mugs. Very indian style. Hot water off and on. Very stinky washroom in our room.

Food- all meals inclusive. Breakfast very indian. Don't expect pancakes or waffles here.

Lunch and dinner were decent.

Activities-paintball- bad guns
Table tennis-broken racquets but didn't really matter, we enjoyed playing.
Have other activities too but didnt try.
Bonfire at night.

Overall property- huge!
Swimming pool

We had to carry our own suitcases at check out as their staff was too slow.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Anuraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Thank you for your feedback,
I have already taken the required action in regard to the table tennis and paintball guns. We have replaced the old ones with new. Though we do not have wooden huts at the Lodge, we do have hot water boilers that give out constant hot water which does not finish.

Breakfast at the Lodge consists of 3 North Indian dishes, 3 South Indian dishes, 3 continental dishes, a fruit spread, cereals hot and cold milk, tea coffee and eggs to order, and yes from our bakery we have muffins, Danish pastry and 2 types of bread. We do not have waffles and pancakes presently.

As your group was large the luggage was being sent to each room and it does take a little time before all the luggage gets to all the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Situated in the foothills of Shivalik range the Kikar lodge is 6km from Nurpur Bedi town of Ropar Distt of Punjab The approach to is horrible Road is narrow bad and ill maintained Property is not well maintained Rooms are ordinary Restaurant is stinky Services provided are ordinary at exorbitant price Staff is rustic rude and un-co-operative It was nightmare to visit this place

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Satinder C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear Satinder,
Thank you for your feedback,
The last bit to Kikar is narrow, i.e. 15 feet and then once you enter the property it opens up again. We have concreted the entire road from our main gate to the Lodge.
i do apologise if you found our staff rude, this is a first as never before, and I mean never before has this issue been raised. Having said I shall look into it personally and again do apologise that you did not enjoy our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews