We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifull hacienda in andalucian style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda El Santiscal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This hotel is very authenthic spanish, has a great atmosphere and very friendly host and cook.
besides that it is located on a very good location, near the mountains, the coast as well as Sevilla.
And the food i very delicious. we hope to come back here!
Karin and Jan

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Karen and Jan:
Thanks for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you liked our services and amenities. We hope you return to visit us. This is a region with many attractions and our Hacienda, we believe, the ideal place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. A very warm greeting from our chef and the whole family of "El Santiscal"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

stayed two nights and enjoyed the restful surroundings as well as the location which is very well- situated for trips in to the mountains and to see the 'white villages' around Grazalema - not to mention Arcos itself which is well worth an extended exploraton. The nature (birds especially) is easy to see here and quite exotic for those like us who live further north.
Warm personal welcome, friendly, good food, and discreet service.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Our standard room initially seemed small but on balance it was excellet too. Swimming pool not tes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

We agree with you that Arcos de la Frontera certainly worth an extensive visit and required historical documentation, not in vain all the top of the city was declared a historic monument. Its strategic location, hanging from a high Rock makes it seem incredible that the houses can be there without falling.
We hope you come back soon to visit us and to enjoy our village and its surroundings. Here we wait for you. Merci beaucoup et a bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We only stayed here for three days, but we are sure to come back another time. Beautifull location, good food and wine, lovely scenery. The rooms were perfect and the service great. Be carefull when you want to reach the lake to watch the birds, it can get stuck in the mud as my wife did!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, we do not know about the other rooms, but I guess all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

We feel very much to know that your wife had a mishap when accessing the Natural Park area for bird watching. Always we notify that the descent is difficult, especially because of the steep terrain that, being owned by the state, we are not allowed to change or touch. Also the fact that it is complicated, facilitates ecosystem protection of birds, because that way it prevents people with motorcycles come to barbecuing or swimming in the lake, which would cause many birds to flee the place. It is also possible that the fall was because the ground was too muddy due to the heavy rain we have had uninterrupted until a few days ago. Precisely the end of April we had a hail storm, something incomprehensible to the date in question.
We really appreciate your lovely words about our services and we are very happy that finally, your wife did not suffer any damage. We hope to see you again soon¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a lovely Hacienda outside Arcos de la Frontera. The owners are very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were spacious, warm, and comfortable. The food was fantastic. It is a very peaceful setting. Though we only stayed for one night I would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elle_B5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Most of our guests come to our Hacienda as part of a circuit for the entire region, Seville, Granada, Cordoba, Malaga and Cadiz finally, since we are located geographically in the center of the province with very good communication to places of interest. However, due to this, the stay is only one night, but once here and visited the area, they find that it is much better to be several days with us, for the very short distance to many tourist attractions without having to bothering to pack the bags daily. Therefore, we welcome you on your next visit, try to stay for a longer period with us. We are sure you will not regret this decision and we can provide, if you advise us in advance when making your reservation, the management of tours, tickets, shows,etc., to the best attractions in the whole region.
Thank you very much for coming to meet us and we await you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

For our 45th wedding day anniversary we took a trip to Andalusia and the stay at this wunderful Hacienda was by fare the most memorable. The familiy makes you feel like home from the warm welcome to the cozy rooms. And the organic dishes they served (all home made) we're just excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ludwig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you from all the Hacienda El Santiscal' family. We are very happy that you remember us so warmly and your nice words about our services make us feel that we must continue working in this way. We wish that you come back for your next anniversary to be unforgettable. We promise to do all our best. Hasta siempre¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My wife and I stayed for a whole week at this beautiful hacienda in a rainy March week. Knowing on forehand that it wasn't going to be the sunny Spain weather we hoped for we where a bit anxious of being confined to the hotel more than normally. We discovered this totally unfounded, not because the weather turned out fine, which didn't, but purely for the reason that the hotel was a great place to stay. The service was on a level unlike any other place we've been before and didn't leave us wanting. The couple that own the place took their time to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Besides being a great host and a fun conversationalist, Hussain (forgive me if I spelled his name incorrectly) is a great cook.
The location is pretty remote, so if you want to go for a drink (or twelve) in Arcos the only options to come back to the hotel is either a long walk or a taxi. The buses are not really an option, since they stop driving at around nine. But if that doesn't bother you, this Hacienda will make a great stay. With between one or two hours drive to all the bigger cities (Seville, Gibraltar, Cádiz, Ronda) it makes a good base to discover the area.
The only negative point I can come up with at this point is the fairly high prices of the drinks.
Even with the bad weather, this was one of the best we've had so far and we'll be back for sure with hopefully some sunshine.

Thanks to Hussain and family for a great holiday,

Zane & Ricky

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwerkhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Zane and Ricky:
Thanks for taking the time to write your opinion, which is really valuable to us and truly appreciate it.
Indeed, not only during your stay, but until now which continues to rain, we say it has been one of the long, harsh winters of those who we remember. There have been occasional floods and misfortune with lodges and with many crops.
So, knowing that you would be with us for a week when the weather would not do many things, so we wanted to give our full attention to your stay. Again thank you for your compliments for our small charming hotel, our services and also to our cook "the big boss". He especially appreciated your words about his work in the kitchen.
We will take in mind the appreciation on the subject of drink prices, but we just like to clarify that because all services are exclusively for residents (do not have a bar, a lounge with fireplace, pool, open to the public ) is so they are a bit more expensive than in any pub.
In any case, we hope to have you here again soon, now that the good weather starts, so you can enjoy the surroundings, the garden, the pool, etc..
A warm embrace
Hussein and Francisca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent just an afternoon and night in this beautiful hacienda and wish it could have been longer. The setting is perfect with views from the garden and from our room to Lake Arcos and beautiful mountain scenery; Arcos de la Frontera was just a five minutes' drive away. The hacienda dating back to 1485 was very tastefully furnished and decorated to a very high standard in sympathy with the location and history of the property. The attractive garden had a pleasant pool with a tinkling water urn feature and plenty of sunbeds, parasols and towels to provide pampered comfort. Our evening meal was excellent and served in the romantic courtyard. The proprietor, Francisca, was very friendly, welcoming and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were delightful, not forgetting Lola.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear guests:
Thank you very much for your kind words. We were delighted to have you here with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Also our dog Lola, will soon have the puppies. A big hug from sunny Andalucia from the entire family of El Santiscal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
3.9 km away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
605 reviews
3.8 km away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
268 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
#8 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Cortijo Barranco
Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
58 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
292 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Santiscal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Santiscal

Address: Avenida Santiscal 173, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: C$94 - C$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda El Santiscal 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very name of this exquisitely restored and noble 15th-century manor house evokes a sense of romance and adventure as profound as the Spanish Golden Age itself.The term "Santiscal" comes from a Roman country villa located in the grounds of the Hacienda that was discovered in the late nineteenth century.Story has it there was once a knight called Juan de Armario. In 1485, when Ronda was laid to siege by the Christians, he was the first to enter the mine where the moors kept all their supplies and died in the venture. As a reward for his bravery, the King granted the knight’s sons five estates at the foot of the Sierra del Santiscal mountain range, where they built what would become the family residence, today called “Hacienda El Santiscal”. This beautiful fortified building has magnificent views to the Lake and its Nature Park thanks to its strategic location. You can now enjoy it for yourself.Our countryside property is located in Arcos de la Frontera, a historic city, capital of the Route of the "Pueblos Blancos" of Cádiz (White Villages), near the Nature Park of Grazalema, declared a Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO.Arcos de la Frontera, declared a Historical Monument in 1962, is one of the prettiest towns in Spain, perched on a high rock from which hung a multitude of white houses together with a medieval castle that is testimony to the magnificent past of this romantic and legendary town which belonged to the Arab court of Medina Sidonia.Today, Hacienda El Santiscal, is a unique accomodation that has maintained the flavor of yesteryear in its walls with the conforts of today, without losing the charm of the old manor houses, as has successfully adapted to the new times in order to become a green hotel, as they credited the two quality labels obtained in 2011, the spanish "Parque Natural de Andalucía" y the european one "ECEAT". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda El Santiscal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Santiscal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing