We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
199
150
44
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
150
44
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet setting country retreat pool area half board spanish style a great place to stay enjoyed our stay el kettle spain francesca glassed views seville courtyard character village
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 421 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent three days here and after Reading other commments on here I have no idea what anyone complaining is talking about. Yes there is an urbanization one side but once you drive down thier long driveway you may as well be in another world. Peaceful, and beautiful. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake and the pool and the beautifully kept gardens. The service was perfect, friendly and efficient. Would love to repeat if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanaalicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest:
Wholeheartedly thank you very much for your words and we are pleased to see that you have captured the soul of our little housing. We always emphasize on highlighting our most significant added value as silence, peace, nature, character and of course service, and we strive to make everyone feel at home. We hope that you come back to visit us again. Hasta pronto¡¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The old hacienda is an oasis of peace. The owners are very friendly and helpful when needed. The garden is nice with a small pool and a magnificent view.
The rooms are different in size and we had a big enough room overlooking the garden. It isn't hip or 'design' but rural and comfortable.
The hacienda offers dinner as well on request and it was very convenient to stay in the first night. The wine was good, the atmosphere is good but the food wasn't over exiting. So is breakfast. Not bad but not exciting either.
Arcos (the old part) is a sweet town not too far away with plenty of places to eat and drink and a great view from the Parador at the top of it.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the garden seem bigger than the others. All are very quite, there is hardly any traffic around the hacienda.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving your opinion which of course helps us to improve our services. We know that our dishes are not design nor intend to, because what we wanted to give our guests the feeling of being at home with minimally processed products, homemade or from local producers. We wanted to capture the simplicity of the countryside, both in our decor and our kitchen. We hope at least to have met your expectations. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having arrived at Arcos de la Frontera on Sunday mid day there was a slight concern that the information office would be closed and finding somewhere to stay might be difficult. Our luck was in and we were pointed in the direction of Hacienda El Santiscal. From the moment we arrived we knew it was the place for us. Beautiful old Hacienda in stunning countryside and very quiet. Beautiful rooms and even the least expensive had a charm of its own. What a good idea to have a round swimming pool when you have stunning views all round. You see it all! We could not have been better looked after by Husain (The Chef, who was not only a brilliant cook but also had great sense of humour) his wife Francessca and their beautiful daughter. Attention to detail was 1st class.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want to spend. All good
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

WE CAN ONLY SAY, ​​THANK YOU.
Thanks for coming, for your comradeship, for choosing us, for thinking that it was the perfect place for you........, for everything.
Gracias y Hasta siempre¡¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is very authenthic spanish, has a great atmosphere and very friendly host and cook.
besides that it is located on a very good location, near the mountains, the coast as well as Sevilla.
And the food i very delicious. we hope to come back here!
Karin and Jan

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Karen and Jan:
Thanks for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you liked our services and amenities. We hope you return to visit us. This is a region with many attractions and our Hacienda, we believe, the ideal place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. A very warm greeting from our chef and the whole family of "El Santiscal"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2013

stayed two nights and enjoyed the restful surroundings as well as the location which is very well- situated for trips in to the mountains and to see the 'white villages' around Grazalema - not to mention Arcos itself which is well worth an extended exploraton. The nature (birds especially) is easy to see here and quite exotic for those like us who live further north.
Warm personal welcome, friendly, good food, and discreet service.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Our standard room initially seemed small but on balance it was excellet too. Swimming pool not tested as the weather turned cool cloudy windy when the pool was full :-)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paquig, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

We agree with you that Arcos de la Frontera certainly worth an extensive visit and required historical documentation, not in vain all the top of the city was declared a historic monument. Its strategic location, hanging from a high Rock makes it seem incredible that the houses can be there without falling.
We hope you come back soon to visit us and to enjoy our village and its surroundings. Here we wait for you. Merci beaucoup et a bientôt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews