We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda El Santiscal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Lovely old building in its own quiet location, sympathetically restored and with good amenities. Charming staff, fabulous breakfasts served at table, good restaurant choices both lunch and dinner. Comfortable air-conditioned room. Glorious backdrop and views. Lovely pool to cool down after a hot day's sightseeing!

Room Tip: We spent a little more for the terrace room overlooking the beautiful countrywide. Worth every penny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you very much for your opinion. We are really pleased that you enjoy your stay with us. Maybe will see you soon, we hope¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

The best breakfast we had in two weeks travelling in Portugal. We recommend the restaurant as well.
No frigo in the room.
All the staff is very attentive and very kind.
But finally why do we have to give our impression with at least 190 characters ???

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vanclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thanks a lot for your opinion. We are very happy that you love our breakfast. We do not know why you have to write at least 190 characters???. it is Tripadvisor rules. Sorry¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Great place for a relaxing night. Bar and Tapas great. Very historic charm.Out in the middle of the country near Arcos . Super night. I would recommend highly. Have the local wine and sit in the courtyard

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cglasbyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank so much. We are very happy that you have fun and an unforgettable night in our andalusian central courtyard. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Very nice Hacienda close to the well known Arcos del frontera white village. Perfect place for a one night stop. Friendly staff from the reception to the restaurant. Superior room with view: very nice accommodation with amazing view, quiet and restful, king size bed, bathroom with all facilities. Restaurant food quality and presentation is average with half board but price/ quality ratio is correct if you decide to take that deal.
Hacienda with huge potential to develop , some suggestions to the owners and management staff:
- let's hire restaurant waiters who can speak at least a second language, Spanish is the only one and difficult time to time.
- Half board is something you sell with the room as special package: even the price / quality ratio is good, lets propose something more evolved. Meal was average.
- Half board is not a a la carte choice which is normal for the price paid but let present it in advance and put the menu on the table.

Let's propose some activities in the guide menu in the room, let's add spa facilities and last but not least , small details make a big difference. Wish all the best to the team for future endeavors.
Best regards.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room with view, suite is nice during winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank titi02051971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you very much for your opinion and all your recomendations. We will try to address some of your recommendations whenever possible, although it will be quite difficult with reference to languages. The staff is local and this is a small town, so we try to encourage our employees to be here, to help create jobs, even if they do not have enough training or speak languages. We hope you can understand it. As for the spa, it is an important investment and you have to think it through carefully. However we do have the possibility of our guests booking personalized massages in the room. Thanks for everything and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

On the way to the ancient city Arcos de la Frontiera we decided to stay overnight in Hacienda el Santiscal, a real gem in the nature, a family managed institution. This is a 600 years old, perfectly maintained building, located on a shore of a small picturesque lake, just 10 minutes drive from an ancient city. A calm and relaxing spot with a glassed veranda facing a beautiful tiny blue pool surrounded with a green grassed pool area.
We were friendly welcomed by Francesca, an owner, who helped us to choose our rooms and rushed into a refreshing pool. A generously filled glasses of gin and tonic, preceded a a fine dinner served by a friendly team.
We consider choosing this nice spot for a future, for a few days stay, as a relaxing base for exploring southern part of Andalusia. Highly recommended

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PUMAtrack70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Manager at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you¡¡¡.We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

What a peaceful oasis after a hectic Holy Week stay that included many processions in Granada. El Santiscal is lovely and the staff very eager to please, kind even after I goofed up the in-room safe. It was especially good to find it after our GPS let us down and we successfully searched it out on our own, what a reward to arrive at this spot. You will enjoy it! PS It's not right in the town of Arcos, rather on gorgeous acreage just outside it, probably the reason our GPS got confused.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mclaughc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Owner at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you very much. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We tried to do our best. We hope that you come back as soon as possible. Best regards from sunny Andalusia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

A wonderful place with character and very welcoming atmosphere. Small and cosy rooms situated in a good location to explore the beautiful surroundings. The owners, hosts, are taking good care of their guests. The service was excellent. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant which offered very good quality. Breakfast was very good as well and served in a nice location.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roswitha_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you very much for your nice comentaries about the Hacienda and our services. We are happy to welcome guest like you who understand the caracter of our small charming Hotel.
I wish to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arcos de la Frontera hotels
3.9 km away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
604 reviews
3.8 km away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
268 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
Hotel Meson de la Molinera
#8 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Cortijo Barranco
Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
58 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Los Olivos
Hotel Los Olivos
#4 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
292 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#5 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda El Santiscal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda El Santiscal

Address: Avenida Santiscal 173, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Arcos de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arcos de la Frontera
Price Range: $92 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda El Santiscal 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very name of this exquisitely restored and noble 15th-century manor house evokes a sense of romance and adventure as profound as the Spanish Golden Age itself.The term "Santiscal" comes from a Roman country villa located in the grounds of the Hacienda that was discovered in the late nineteenth century.Story has it there was once a knight called Juan de Armario. In 1485, when Ronda was laid to siege by the Christians, he was the first to enter the mine where the moors kept all their supplies and died in the venture. As a reward for his bravery, the King granted the knight’s sons five estates at the foot of the Sierra del Santiscal mountain range, where they built what would become the family residence, today called “Hacienda El Santiscal”. This beautiful fortified building has magnificent views to the Lake and its Nature Park thanks to its strategic location. You can now enjoy it for yourself.Our countryside property is located in Arcos de la Frontera, a historic city, capital of the Route of the "Pueblos Blancos" of Cádiz (White Villages), near the Nature Park of Grazalema, declared a Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO.Arcos de la Frontera, declared a Historical Monument in 1962, is one of the prettiest towns in Spain, perched on a high rock from which hung a multitude of white houses together with a medieval castle that is testimony to the magnificent past of this romantic and legendary town which belonged to the Arab court of Medina Sidonia.Today, Hacienda El Santiscal, is a unique accomodation that has maintained the flavor of yesteryear in its walls with the conforts of today, without losing the charm of the old manor houses, as has successfully adapted to the new times in order to become a green hotel, as they credited the two quality labels obtained in 2011, the spanish "Parque Natural de Andalucía" y the european one "ECEAT". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda El Santiscal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda El Santiscal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing