We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
199
150
44
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
150
44
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet setting country retreat pool area half board spanish style a great place to stay enjoyed our stay el kettle spain francesca glassed views seville courtyard character village
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 421 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2017

Out of the ordinary in every way. We loved it. We loved the sheer peace and quiet. We loved our terrace room - the best - and sat out there and loved the view or sunbathed. Loved the pool on a hot day. Loved the walks you can take. Loved the food all cooked to order. Loved the charming staff. Loved the fact so many guests were Spanish. Loved having the pool to ourselves most of the time.
But this is not fancy up to date - if that is what you want. The food is good home cooking and old fashioned but all fresh. You ring a bell for service. It is quite a way from Arcos but cabs are cheap. So it isn't for you if you want a parador. Our only two complaints are soundproofing between rooms was terrible - we had a next door bathroom by our bed and it wasn't great- and making us pay for every cup of tea as there are no kettles in rooms and the extras add up. But - really is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank l0ngbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Guests: Thank you for your comments that we really appreciate. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would just like to point out that your room is not contiguous to anybody else's bathroom, since the head of your bed and the wall of your room is completely glued to your own bathroom, so the only sounds you could hear were yours and not from another room. Also the room is totally isolated from any other by the terrace, the hallway, and its own bathroom. We imagine that at midnight due to the absolute silence that exists in the Hacienda, any noise however small is magnified and this is why you may have heard some sound. We are sorry. With regards to the kettle and as I informed you at the reception, you could have asked for it and had it in your room during the day, since from 23 a.m. has a free infusion service, mineral water and coffee in the hallway. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017

If you want to relax and destress you need to come to Hacienda El Santiscal. When you enjoy more the crowdness of a city it is not a good option. It is just want you want with your holiday. The property is very clean and relaxing decorated.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bart_geerts_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you very much for your comments that we truly appreciate. Indeed our Hacienda is a quiet place where silence and nature are important part. We understand that there are already many places with many people, traffic, noise and lots of fun, so we offer the opposite. Lovers of relaxation, silence, good reading and good company will find here what they are looking for. That is our difference. Thank you for understand it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

we enjoyed our stay at el santiscal - the place has a great deal to commend it - but there are important points to watch for - our room had a great terrace, others don't, the traditional breakfast is great, the continental is very limited, the evening meal should be seen as a one or two night max event, take your own tea bags (you will need to work hard to secure a kettle during the day), and its a great pity that there are no walking maps - the place could really benefit from circuit maps for variety of walks in the local area - an easy cost free opportunity for improvement.

Room Tip: we had the one and only large terrace in room 2 - the premier room we had was good - be very careful if you choose other rooms
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dougwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Madam:
Thank you for Your comments. We are happy that you enjoy Your stay. Being a XV century Historic building, all rooms are exactly like it was originally that's the reason why all rooms are different and only one has terrace. Attending Your comments from now we will only served the Traditional breakfasts and we will have only Continental on request for all those who doesn't want to eat toomuch in the morning. We have not also kettle in the rooms, but we will also provide this Service on request; you only have to ask in the Reception, and you can keept it during Your stay. The same for walking maps; if you ask in desk we can inform you with a large variety of walking, activities and culture visits in the sorroundings. Anyhow, we will take notice of Your comments and we will do our best to improve them. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017

We did a roundtrip in Andalusia with a rental car and stayed here for one night. the nature is incredibly beautiful and dinner during sunset simply breath-taking. Everything was perfect - I might sound like a salesperson, but the property, scenary, pool, food, everything was wonderful. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a calm, pieceful and stress-free location, this is the place to choose.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you very much for your nice words. We are very happy to contribute to your relaxing holidays. We wish you be back soon. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017

We were a group of friends travelling and were looking to spoil ourselfes a little on this country retreat. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed. We did not feel that welcomed by the lady owner of the hotel, the rest of the staff though was very nice and helpful. The place is pretty but could do with a little fine tuning in the interieur design. We did not care too much for the smelly PotPurry all over the place (had to hide it in wardrobes to be able to sleep), the bedlinen could be washed with a better smelling product and the pink modern carpet in our superiour room did not match the antic furniture at all (we actually ended up stowing it under the bed, it was that disturbing). Wifi hardly ever worked. This Hacienda could be absolutely amazing with some little changes!

Room Tip: Smaller and cheaper rooms were better than the superior
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TinaRahner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-ElSantiscal, Propietario at Hacienda El Santiscal, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

Dear Ms.: Thank you for your comments. Fortunately the decoration of our entire Hacienda can be seen on the internet in the video that we have posted on our website and do not understand that if you did not like it, you made the reservation in our establishment. The bouquets of flowers that smelled bad to you, let me clarify that it is impossible for them to smell, since they are all made with dried native flowers and branches, so that being dry, they can not .
The carpet of your room or any other, are effectively of a more current design, to contrast with dark furniture and antiques, and to take away some of the sobriety. In any case, for good or for bad, it is about likes. So far most of our guests have loved it.
On the other hand, I must apologize, since the wifi line did not work properly due to technical problems already fixed. Anyway we thank you very much for your visit and your point of view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews