We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old world charm with modern flair”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palmtree cottage

Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Kitchen/diner Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Kitchen/diner
Living room
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Main bedroom
Bathroom with large walk-in shower area. Heated towel rail.
Twin bedroom. 2 single beds. Wall mounted TV. Antique fireplace.
Enclosed outdoor area, Charcoal barbeque
Palmtree cottage
Yes - there is an actual palmtree!
Palmtree Christmas
Local pubs and diners only a 5 minute walk from Palmtree
Scenic shore walk from Moville to neighbouring village of Greencastle - 2 minutes from Plmtree
Village square - 5 minute walk
St Patrick's Day parade 2016
St patrick's Day parade outside Palmtree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Moville, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
733mary
Whitby, Canada
1 review
“Old world charm with modern flair”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed in Palmtree cottage with my two sons in early September. We loved the place. The cottage has been updated with great care and has all the comforts of home. We were a short walk from the town and several great eating places and at the same time Moville is easily located for sightseeing in Donegal or Derry. I hope to return to Palmtree for another holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sara c
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic house in a lovely place”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Palm tree cottage was in a good location to explore all the lovely scenery around. The house itself was very clean and well presented with everything that you might need readily available. All in all the four of us had a fantastic time and will definitely visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaz14
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great cottage in great location”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here from the sat till tuesday, lovely cottage with everything you need in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarafitz3...
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect week that really surpassed our expectations!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and our 3 children stayed at this beautiful cottage for one week. Our children range in age from 16 to 3 yrs old so finding a holiday to suit everyone is quite a challenge. However, we had a blissful, stress free holiday at this cottage. Before we traveled Hugh ensured that we had the directions and was on hand at any time if we needed assistance. However, as the cottage was immaculately presented and catered for everything we could need, we only had to ring to say goodbye and thank you! The house, furniture, bed linen, towels etc were spotless and the 3 large bedrooms more than accommodated our family. We were most impressed with the large family kitchen that really did contain everything we needed for day to day cooking for our family. Not once did we comment that we would have needed anything other than what was there. Hugh also very thoughtfully included books, magazines, dvds and an instruction manual/welcome pack which were appreciated. As the cottage has a downstairs bedroom and bathroom it would also be excellent for visitors with mobility difficulties

The cottage had a large secure garden to the rear with lots of room for the children to play, for us to eat outside and also to barbecue. The locality itself is a quite street which is easily walking distance to the town centre of Moville with all of it's shops and facilities.

Moville itself has everything you need including a bank, pharmacy, restaurants, bars, grocery stores etc. We also found it to be less expensive than other parts of Donegal which we have visited. The younger children really enjoyed the seaside park and the nearby Leisure Land which is great value for money at 10 euro for unlimited soft play and amusement rides. Our eldest enjoyed daily fishing off the pier and our visit to Fort Dunree which is definitely worth a visit. We explored the whole peninsula and thoroughly enjoyed our day trips

All in all I would recommend staying at this cottage and holidaying in this area of Donegal. I am not easily pleased but would say without hesitation that this cottage is faultless and we cannot wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nbreak
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a wonderful 4 day stay here in Moville. Very well equipped house far beyond the usual for self-catering. Close to a lovely shore walk hat was a great way to start and end the day. Lovely area. Enjoyed the Area sight seeing and the little ferry at Greencastle was great for getting us to the Antrim coast as well. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey O
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We love the stunning Inishowen Peninsula and have been coming for years staying in a nearby hotel. This time we needed more space and flexibility and this accommodation fitted the bill! A 5-10 min walk to Moville centre to the stunning Shore walkway and local amenities. Quiet residential area for a relaxing stay. Accommodation provided all home from home essentials. We would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheran C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd stay of many”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

2nd time staying here - lovely house decorated and furnished to very high standard. Everything in house is new and they are adding to it by increasing decking area for a BBQ

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing