We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
129
271
204
72
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
271
204
72
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish couple of hours less than an hour touch pool at home clams otters english sea french rays tunnel flemish brochure eur germany coupon
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 722 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

If you accept that places like this won’t be cheap to visit as they are expensive to run, then it’s definitely worth going to. Sure, there aren’t that many exhibits, but there is still enough to occupy at least a couple of hours, and the kids play area outside is a nice addition. I have to say as well that the staff were very welcoming and more than happy to speak English (as well as obviously French, Flemish and German) which isn’t always the case in Belgium. They do offer cheaper tickets online and also some various offers and combi tickets which are worth checking in advance. In my opinion this attraction is better than some reviews would suggest.

Thank jawsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrien D, Public Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Blankenberge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you find our team friendly and helpful, I will pass on these comments. We hope to welcome you again at SEA LIFE Blankenberge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

In Belgium you can find a lot of discount coupons. It's ideal when the weather isn't that good. I really loved this one and their small shop !

Thank Kellyke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrien D, Public Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Blankenberge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for your positive comment. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you had a lovely time with us. We hope to welcome you again at our parc!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

I love that they rescue sea lions and help them and the sea horses from getting extinct. Other than that , we saw the entire place in less than an hour. Bit pricy for only so much fun.

Thank Jantien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrien D, Public Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Blankenberge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Jantien C. Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry that we could not exceed your expectations. When you follow all our educational presentations (inside and outside) a visit to SEA LIFE Blankenberge takes about 2.5 to 3 hours. Did you attend those? You indicate that you find the tickets rather pricey but unfortunately, there are high costs involved in the care and shelter of our animals. For example, the accommodation and care of one seal costs about 2.500 euros and we do not receive any support or subsidy from the government. We hope to welcome you again in Blankenberge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

When you visit this place, you get a strong feeling of wrongness : animals should not be kept in such a place, they have to do their 'tricks' all day long, meanwhile loud music is playing; we know better now in these times than to treat animals like this. And what are pinguins doing there? This is not a right climate for such animals. Sea horses in small glass tanks, what a life... Water creatures small and very big who are swimming the same small senseless rounds, over and over again... We left there with a very bad feeling!!!

Thank KVdD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrien D, Public Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Blankenberge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Thank you very much for your reveiw. We are sorry that we could not exceed your expectations. Our aim is to offer all our animals the best care and protection possible and we only provide educational animal friendly presentations (not 'real shows').
Did you visit the seal pups in our seal shelter? We invest annually in collecting and curing washed ashore seals along the entire Belgian coast and after three to four months of intensive care, the captured seals are released back into the sea. We also set up breeding programs to protect certain species for the future and concerning the sea horses, SEA LIFE trust works with the Sea Horse trust to protect them from the destruction of their habitat and overfishing. I would also like to inform you that our parc and the living environment of all animals is strictly evaluated annually by a recognized veterinarian. If you have any suggestions concerning the animals, you can always email us at: info@sealife.be

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Best to purchase package deal of Sea Life and Serpentarium if you are visiting Blackenberg for two days or longer.

Good collection of fish and other wildlife, favourites included manta rays, sea turtle otters and sea lion pups.

Tours and shows are available but only saw them in French/ Flemish so maybe difficult for English speakers.

Touch pool is available but was closed during my visit.

Thank Fahad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrien D, Public Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Blankenberge, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at SEA LIFE Blankenberge. Our animal carers and the people who take care of the educational presentations could have provided you with detailed information in English too. We are now in the progress of producing badges for our team that show the different languages known by the people in order to easily approach them in your own language. Hope you come and visit us again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews