We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, relaxing and unbelievably breathtaking”
other travellers have booked this property
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
179 reviews
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Located on waters edge with beach
open plan living-dining room with beautiful views of the fjord and surrounding mountains
Great views from the cottage, rain, hail or shine.
Well equipped kitchen
Upstairs bedroom with king size 180cm bed
Ground floor bedroom with queen size 160cm double bed
Upstairs bedroom with two single 90cm beds
Bathroom, towels and clothes washing liquid supplied
Entrance hall
Kayaking on the fjord
Queen Mary 2 visiting Flåm
Boating on the fjord in summer
Ever-changing colours
Late autumn from the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flam, Aurland Municipality, Sogn og Fjordane, Western Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 179 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tony H
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous, relaxing and unbelievably breathtaking”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very efficient from booking through to our entire stay. Sue and Anders are wonderful hosts, and we learnt so much about the Norwegian way of life.
The chalet was ideal for our 2 week stay. It had everything we needed, and we cooked every night. Very comfortable bed, wi-fi was excellent.
The location is fabulous and unbeatable, how do we follow that? We used the boat to potter about on the fjord. The hire car was invaluable to explore the surrounding area, so much to do and see, we never got bored
We loved the view and the tranquility. There was nothing to dislike apart from going home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drchikee
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice cabin and hosts”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Unfortunately, the only supermarket in Flam is closed on Sundays, so do make sure you bring along anything that you might need if you do happen to check in on a Sunday. The cabin is not supplied with toiletries in the bathroom apart from a small piece of handsoap. Also, you will not be able to prepare your own meals despite having a well-equipped kitchen, until you can get a supply of groceries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the edge of the fjord.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDFLONDON
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I loved our week here. There was just the 2 of us but the lodge accommodates 6 so we had plenty of room to spread out.

The view from the lounge / kitchen and small deck was incredible looking down the fjord. The house was very well equipped with dinghy with out board, BBQ, wood burner, fishing line etc. We filled our days walking, boating and just relaxing looking at that view. Sue and Anders kept their distance but welcomed us warmly and I am sure would respond to any issues quickly. Our only issue was running low on 2 stroke for the outboard but Anders bought a new fuel can ove within 30 minutes of us sending a text.

The only negative points about the lodge are that the kitchen equipment is coming toward the end of its life and the bathroom is down stairs.

Flam is very small but visited by many cruise ships who spill their hordes onto the dock to wile away a few hours. They seem to be herded mostly onto the touristy train up to Myrdal or bussed off to other sites. Along as you avoid downtown when the ships are in, which is easy, you avoid the crowds altogether.

It was my first visit to Norway and I loved every minute. However despite the lack of contact with the cruise ship tourists I would probably stay somewhere else on the fjords next time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laandx1
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great way to see Norway's beauty!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a great location! We would come back here again as soon as possible! ALL areas of this rental were 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malgorzat...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The cottage itself is lovely, clean and very well equipped. The view from window and veranda was amazing. The area is so peaceful. The owner of the cottage was very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended for family or relaxing holidays.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJMandKDM
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, amenities, lovely hosts, a treat for us.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Fretheim cabins are a delight. Location takes you away from the busy tourist and cruise ship area but easy walk for supplies.The views up the fjord are exquisite from the cabin windows and balcony.
All aspects of the accomodation make this a very comfortable place. Lots of dining space & crockery etc, good beds, shower, washing machine.
Sue and Anders are caring, well organised hosts whose friendly approach we found to be charming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSS62
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Fabulous Fjord cottage”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was exactly as described. Beautiful setting. Owners very accommodating. Cottage was modern and very cozy with every modern convenience you would want. Very comfortable beds and kitchen very well stocked. Washer and dryer were nice extra also. While Flam can get quite touristy during the day, we hiked, biked and ran around the surrounding area so it didn't bother us at all. With a car, we could have explored even more of the area. We trained there from Oslo and then took the boat to Bergen. This was probably the highlight of our 10 day stay in Norway.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing