We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay with Very Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here on holiday as a family of 4 ona b and b basis, 2 kids of 6 and 7. We got a ground floor suite, which was huge, clean and saved waiting for lifts to the higher floors from breakfast. although ground floor they were still the fisrt floor looking out onto the road, which was quietish in the night. The a/c was a bit noisy but the rooms were cool enough to leave it off when we were there.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and gave us an additional childs bed when asked within 2 minutes when we arrived late at night. The breakfast is a buffet in the basement floor and can get busy, but the waiting staff were very efficient at keeping the tables clean. The food was fresh and plentifull, with continental and some fried eggs, beans and sausages. Top tip is to get a table outside on the patio, bit quieter and cooler. The pools were quiet as the beaches are so superb, with plenty of loungers available at any time, although some had seen better days. I loved the way you could not leave a towel on to reserve the loungers, any offending towels left over lunch for example were cleared away, it got top marks for this.
Slightly annoying that you had to pay 8 or 9 euros for the week for a key for the safe in the room.
All the reception staff werer helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The entertainment staff were excellent, freindly and spoke many languages, they ran games by the pool and games room which were all done very well, my son loved playing a couple of them each day.
the entertainment in the night varies, but is well run and really suitable for the younger kids, we went a few times and enjoyed it. The parrot show is worth a look for the tricks.
We didn't go in the inside pool or gym.
The prices in the bar are competitive, much cheaper than a hotel or a coffee shop over here.
In Monte Gordo there is plenty of choice of restaurants and you can get a touristic menu for about 10 Euros; soup, manin course, sweet, coffee and a beer or wine. We liked Ed and Willems and El Sol. The beach is beautiful with lots of space in between the rent a sub bed concession areas to put your own towels and umbrella.
The sea is warmish once you get used to it, with a gentle shelving sandy beach, it did get some waves but they were great fun to jump into for the kids. Ice creams and snacks are available in the many cafes on the beach for reasonable prices, cheaper than the UK mostly.
We took a taxi from Faro to the hotel which took about about 35 mins.
The river Ferry across to spain is worth doing, cheaper than a bus over here, the spanish village is very pretty, and has a free zoo in a park across the tributary to the right of the ferry, with tigers, lions, monkeys, bears, zebras, the kids loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank filboy2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of October 2010 with a group of about 100 mostly golfers. The hotel is in a good location quite near the beach, bars, and restaurants. The rooms are spacious, but very basic, and dated, and in need of upgrading. The food is adequate, but not anything special, the evening entertainment, when provided was not very good. All in all not a great hotel, ideal for a short stay, we were there for 2 weeks, but were out and about most days, we only had breakfast and slept there. The pool area lacks something, and again needs upgrading.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steelpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Really close to the beach, close to the city night life, good pool and OK recreation staff
Poor elevator managment at trafic hours, no ramp in main door (have to go back door / park acess), an OK service from all staff.

Room Tip: If you're with kids you should not go to higher floors. If u´re into pool u should check the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cartagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

lovely spot restaurants and shops on doorstep try mobys lovely couple english they will tell you all about the place we went to villa real and over to spain on the ferry it was great free zoo with tigera lions ect, it was only 5.8o on the ferry for 2 kids an 2 adults comming back it was even cheaper visit mobys you will love it a few english meet there x place was lovely and clean pool was freezing free parasols round pool x

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank basil1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We booked this hotel based on the price we could get through Jet2 holidays - who were offering £100 off per booking. I was travelling with my friend and the price we had for two rooms, bed and breakfast, transfers and a case each was unbeatable - and I rarely go for package hols - much preferring to sort short haul flights and hotels separately - but for this price we bit their hands off. On arrival at the hotel, which was before 12 noon, greeted warmly and told rooms would be ready at 1.30pm, so quick change, luggage safely stowed and we went off to the pool. Area quite small but functional and clean, yes some of the chairs have seen better days but nothing awful. We were comfortable there for a couple of hours while we waited for the rooms. Its active and noisy round the pool - if you are looking for peace this is not for you - go to the beach! Delighted to find we both had good sea views. Rooms were HUGE and clean, bathrooms big too - not somewhere you would soak in luxury but clean and strong even shower. Beds comfortable - a big sofa, easy chair and two chairs and a small dining table. Sizable balcony with the usual two plastic chairs and a table.
The beach is just across the road, and it is a great, great beach. Gently shelving sands into chilly but fun waters - lifeguards aplenty, get out there with a lilo to bob about on in the calm in the mornings and use to surf in on in the more wave ridden afternoons. Two padded loungers and an umbrella in the concession area 10 euros for the day - but if you prefer to lounge on the sand it is spacious and comfortable. Beach is backed by reasonably priced bars, cold drinks and snacks always on hand.
The evening buffet was not to our liking but no one got poisoned, the bar entertainment was kids disco then a show - the usual algarve fare - but no reason to stay in, take a right on leaving the hotel and within minutes you are on the main prom full of restaurants and bars There is also a nightly market type affair, and music all the way down - quite lovely. It's not posh, as Vilamoura is further west, but clean and all the places we chose to eat were good value and excellent quality.
Day to day, breakfast OK - no full english but plenty of hot and cold choices. Tea woeful, but nothing is perfect :). In the rooms, clean bedding and towels every day and all done by 2pm at the latest - no knocks during PM snooze time! We found most staff smiley and helpful.
Really, you are coming here for the beach and the weather, and the hotel is a great location and a great price. If you like clean and polite you will be fine here. Be warned tho - If you prefer to only share your holiday with fellow Brits, you are not only looking at the wrong hotel you are looking at the wrong resort, we heard English only 3 or 4 times the whole time we were there. But we found no real problem with any staff anywhere we went. Go! Enjoy that beach!!!

Room Tip: e-mail the hotel direct. We did, and got sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kateLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

No Activities at all in this hotel, neither in the Day or Night time - very boring, Food average and boring, dining room layout was like a 'school' canteen, no meeting or greeting on arrival at the hotel, if you have children with a buggy, then you will struggle getting up the steps. Pool facilites were Very Poor, old beds, no towels, no outdoor pool bar, in fact there was never anyone around the pool during the day.

In-door pool required you to wear a swim cap, at a charge of 3 Euro's if you wanted to use the jauzzi, again a charge of 4 Euro's. Thank God we only booked for 4 nights, very disappointed, this was my grandaughters school holiday vaccation, not recommended to go to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't waste your hard earn cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank grandaughter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Monte Gordo is a sleepy "town", not much to do...not many shops, rather plain with no charm.If you have a choise, choose Tavira instead..a village with charm and beauty. OK. Monte Gordo has got a wide beach...but thats not allways a good thing. Spotted a lot of glass and "stuff" lying around in the sand too. Its a nice place to exercise in...run and bicycle though. But this hotel was NOT a 4 star hotel as they claim to be..far from it! Furniture ragged...lamp-shades crooked...carpets dirty, in the Loby. The room in wich we stayed, were cooooold unless you started the heat, and the a/c LOUD! Not cleaned when we arrived, big room, but the sofa was stained and looked dirty in general. BUT, the worse part were the beds! Bring your own mattress and pillows! I have NO CLUE to why a 4 star hotel believes that no guest should sleep comfortably? The beds are hard as granite and the pillows flat and hard as nails! NOT a good thing!!! Be prepared to ache! The food in the restaurant were ok...a bit "taste as yesterday and the day before" but thats only because they used the "leftovers" from the day before, but in "new clothings" with changed dreesing or sauce...etc. but its ok..Im a friend of not letting food go to waste, I just wish the cook was a bit more skilled in the art of seasoning. It tasted plain..thats all. BUT, all in all, the food was ok...We, my friend and I, grabbed an orange, for dessert, but didnt eat it at the table..so we thought of bringing it to the room..think again...not allowed. We were stopped and had to leave the fruit..or eat it sitting down in the dining room! The staff were friendly, all in all...except our cleaning-lady that was unable to read. The "please do not disturb" sign had no meaning to her, although we tried to explain what it stood for, she ignored it not once, not twice..but THREE times. So..bring a lock! The SPA we tried a bit...and it was so and so...The BIG thing, for me..is this strange "law" that applies in Europe...at least in the south and middle parts..is that you HAVE to wear a bathing-cap..in the pool and in the jacuzzi..NO buts and ifs about it! STRANGE!!! And soooo annoying! Your hair will never recover! No one knew WHY this was so important...and no one seem to be as annoyed as I...but maybe Im wrong. BUT..bring your own cap ladies..tha ones the lend out, is TOOOOO small for any head..and it feels as the brain is being crushed!! Did we enjoy Portugal? Yes we did. Especially the trips away from Monte Gordo, Im sorry to say, but we liked it just the same.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crumpetandtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Gordo
0.4 km away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
209 reviews
0.2 km away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
463 reviews
0.1 km away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
103 reviews
0.0 km away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
2.8 km away
Hotel Apolo
Hotel Apolo
#1 of 2 in Vila Real de Santo Antonio
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Praia Monte Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Praia Monte Gordo

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: $71 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Praia Monte Gordo 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Yellow Praia Monte Gordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellow Monte Gordo Beach
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing