We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Hermes(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Windsor(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marina Tossa(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$267
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sant March(Tossa de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$222
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Delfin(Tossa de Mar)
US$147
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diana(Tossa de Mar)
US$258
US$246
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Golden Mar Menuda(Tossa de Mar)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
50
180
226
90
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
180
226
90
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolsuper close to the beachfull board basisold towntapascentral locationfresh fruitcastleannexbungalowbarcelonacatalangerman
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 657 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Visited Don Juan Tossa in beginning of June, 2017.

Cons:
All inclusive is not worth the money - later found out all staying gets breakfast/lunch and dinner buffets. Plus you need to pay a 10€ deposit for a plastic band(?!) which you get back but they throw the band away anyway, so unsure what this is for..

The only extra is the drinks at the main bar (the poolbar was not open at all) for the all inclusive. You only get water in glasses and not in bottles, this is rather the hassle when you run back and forth between the rooftop pool and the main bar... same with beer etc... they should make an exception during days when they haven't opened the pool bar.

Food - cheaper quality than expected, you'd be better to eat at the fine restaurants in the old town. Food was almost always overcooked and been 'heated' for too long making it extremely dry. (It's a buffet sure, but they could've maintained it better)

Room - got a standard room facing the tennis court and rooftop pool (not view from above, rather across)

The door to the room was hard to shut from time to time, there were actual scrapes on the floor as the entire door was kinda tilted.

Bathtub, the tiles were basically falling off and the drain is was also need of some freshing up..

The actual sleeping area had moist damages which was very off-putting.

Rooftop pool - no mattresses on the sun beds (which was also of a cheaper standard and really uncomfortable) so maybe you could lie there for 1-2 hours before you felt like your back was breaking...
The actual pool itself is not heated (can't expect that really but even tho the weather is at 30 celsius plus, the pool is at like 15....) and need of renovation for sure, dirty pool at the bottom and dirt marks on the water outlets... they only seem to cover the edges with fresh paint every year but that's about it..

All in all the hotel has rough edges, but staff is very nice (some had a hard time with English) and cleaning was also very tidy but refill of shampoo you had to ask for... (you get these tiny shampoo paper bags for 1 time use)


Pros

Staff always available and ready to help if issues would arrive and solved a late checkout with ease (for a charge 20€/person)

Location is great, got a nice supermarket close by on the way to the beach (where we ended buying all the snacks as the ones at the hotel were subpar.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Juan H, Dep. Atención al Cliente at Hotel Don Juan Tossa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

First of all, sorry for your bad experience in our hotel.
We want to ask your for our more sincere apologizes for not being able to fulfill your expectations.

Your suggestions will be taken into account to keep improving our services and adjust them every time more to your needs and preferences.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2017

Stayed there in September for around a week.Room was clean with balcony,overlooking local bar and restaurant. Bar was opposite the street and busy at evenings but during the night it was quiet and no problems with sleeping. Staff speaks English,Spanish and Russian which was really great.As we had all inclusive I can't fault anything.Food tasty and loads of it,free drinks at the bar and at the pool. Evening entertainment with spanish dances and karaoke.Overall all good

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street have sun all day long
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Justina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Juan H, Dep. Atención al Cliente at Hotel Don Juan Tossa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Dear Justina,
Thank you so much for your visit and for taking some time to review Hotel Don Juan Tossa at Tripadvisor!
We can't wait to see you again in our hotel!


Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017

Spent a 5 day break here in late August. It's a great value for 4 star hotel. Great location super-close to the beach, amazing food, good service. We really enjoyed our stay at Don Juan! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Juan H, Dep. Atención al Cliente at Hotel Don Juan Tossa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Dear Irina,
Thank you so much for your visit and for taking some time to review Hotel Don Juan at Tripadvisor!
We can't wait to see you again in our hotel!


Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

Visited this bar whilst on our recent break. Ceiling littered with Serano ham. A sharing platter of Serano ham, salami and manchego cheese 30Euro, great find in Tossa old town, worth a visit to enjoy authentic cuisine and atmosphere

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank angelldust27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Juan H, Director General at Hotel Don Juan Tossa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear traveler,
Thank you so much for your visit and for taking some time to review Hotel Don Juan at Tripadvisor!
We can't wait to see you again in our hotel!


Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

We booked a weeks holiday here despite reading about the poor food and grumpy reception staff and we're so glad we did! The hotel is predominantly visited by Spanish (or at least it was the week we stayed), and the food is predominantly Mediterranean style to suit as you would expect. It is, however, excellent!! Breakfast is very varied and the 'show cooking' bar even puts on fried eggs and lovely ham, mushrooms, beans and omelette to cater for the more British taste. There is also an excellent cold meats selection, cereal, croissants etc. Dinner was also excellent; most nights there was pork, chicken, fish, beef, pasta and there were 'themed' nights such as a Catalan night when the food was typical of the local area. The restaurant manager, Javier, is friendly, helpful and didn't mind my attempts at Spanish with my limited ability!! The ladies who clear the tables require a special mention too, as they work tirelessly and as soon as a table is vacated they have it cleaned and ready for more diners. As for the reception staff, they were friendly, helpful and again, accommodated my poor Spanish attempts with good heart, (I didn't realise Catalonia had its own dialect!!). The room we had had three single beds and was a good size, the bathroom fine and well lit. Our shower wasn't working when we arrived, the head was broken, but it was fixed the morning after and a chain put on the sink plug, which we hadn't mentioned as it wasn't a major problem. Someone else mentioned road noise from that side of the hotel and it's true. Not so much bar noise or scooters, but the binnies come at 5am and the road-washing lorry at 6am! After the second night we didn't notice it though. The bar staff were excellent; Julio and Pedro in particular, (the only names I can remember!). The guests, mostly all Spanish, were lovely. We had several 'conversations' in pigeon English and Spanish, it's amazing how you can communicate if you try! There is nightly dancing from 10pm till midnight. It's not disco, it's all Latin but we enjoyed it and it's amazing to see just how many people can salsa, cha-cha and dance their socks off! Just get up, mix with the locals and you'll love it! The terrace pool, being high up, gets the sun all day and has plenty of sunbeds, so no fighting for them. I reckon I've talked enough now, but I'll end by saying we're going back next year! Loved it!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Juan H, Director General at Hotel Don Juan Tossa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Dear John,
Thank you so much for your visit and for taking some time to review Hotel Don Juan at Tripadvisor and for your kind words!

We are glade to fulfill your expectations and you had a great time during your stay.

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews