We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars? Yes it is.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Me and my partner stayed in Solana hotel for one week and both were very satisfied with our choice. You definitely get a lot for your money here, two pools, jacuzzi, spa, restaurant and bar with a pretty good menu. I know when it comes to a hotel rating system, you should deduct one star off Maltese hotels... But not in this case, i think Solana deserves those for stars. Staff was very friendly, rooms kept clean and towels changed whenever we needed that.
If you are a party goer, i'm not sure if it would be the right place for you, because Mellieha is a quiet village, so you would have to hire a taxi and go somewhere else for a night out. But if you are in Malta for sight-seeing and sunbathing, this place is perfect.
For the price i have payed, i can't imagine getting a better deal. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shortie691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,755 - 1,761 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

Good points:

- Good value for money
- Very clean
- Excellent and pleasant staff
- Large room

Bad points:

- Swimming pool was murky, and there wasn't adequate space to get changed.

- The mattress. Seriously, it was very poor quality, and clearly cheap. I didn't sleep well at all, throughout my stay. A high quality bed is an absolute must for a 4 star hotel. As a good nights sleep is one of the most important aspects of any stay.

Because of the mattresses - I can't recommend this hotel. Which is a shame, because aside from the mattress, everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbie_20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We booked this hotel through a package holiday company and were delighted when we arrived! With a lovely airy reception with a bar, seating and wifi it is exactly what you would expect from an upmarket hotel.

We stayed in a studio apartment which contained everything we needed. The bathroom had a high standard suite, the room contained 2 single beds, a table and chairs, a tv, a dressing table, wardrobes and we loved the kitchenette in the cupboard! The balcony was an added bonus for catching the final rays of the sun. It was perfect for those who wanted to eat breakfast or lunch indoors and go out for dinner in the evenings. The one negative was that on the advise of those on tripadvisor we requested a room not at the front of the hotel and we ended up with one anyway. It is quite noisy but we found it wasn't too much of a problem.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but we used the bar a few times and they were very friendly. The roof terrace was rather windy in April but I would image it would be perfect in the summer. The indoor pool was an added bonus.

The local area is beautiful although it is quite a walk to the beach, but it is easy to get buses back up the hill for usually about 58 cents. I would recommend checking out the restaurants you eat at in Mellieha before you go there however because some of them were a bit dodgey but Giuseppe's was wonderful and highly recommendable.

I would recommend a trip to Valetta, which cost about 48 cents one way - a bargain! Also the trip to Gozo was lovely and the bus and ferry cost just over 5 euros all together so another fantastic day out for relatively little. One thing to be cautious of is that some buses stop running and we were advised by the lady in the tourist office to go to St Julians on the Saturday night because the buses run til 3am on Saturdays...They don't. We ended up stranded there and having to take a trip to Valetta then get a bus to Mellieha to get home and it was only about 9pm when we tried to come home. Some people on trip advisor recommended buying a bus pass but it's not worth it as single rides are so cheap and the pass is about 13 euros.

Essentially, the hotel was very good and the place was lovely, and the island itself is beautiful and I would definitely recommend a holiday there (although be aware that if you go in April it probably will rain!!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandlozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We've just returned from a ten day stay here and had not complaints on any score. The room was large and pretty well appointed (apart from a tiny TV - but who goes on holiday to watch TV!) and always cleaned and tidied. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Location was ideal for us: away from the main tourist centres of the south and Valetta but everything was easily accessible. We used buses for half the time (stopping practically on the door step) and a hire car for the rest and easily got to wherever we wanted to go.

I guess that it might have been different if we'd been in a room at the front of the hotel over looking the main street as vehicles, especially the vintage buses, struggled up the hill day and night and consequently were very noisy: ask for a room at the back or perhaps in the annex.

Breakfast buffet was good, though started to feel a bit repetitive after ten days. Excellent restaurants in the area in walking distance: L'amigo, Guiseppe's, The Windmill and Hilltop.

Room Tip: first/second floor,NOT overlooking Borg Olivier St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I was welcomed with great friendliness. I am recalling the Room Division Manager - Mr Agius - who was of great help and support - mostly becuase my wife is a celiac and he made sure that all the food served was gluten free. For us this has always been an issue while visting other hotels. At Solana Hotel this special diet was as normal as being at our own home. To top up things the room had an exceptional view of the Parish Street. The food was exceptional and the service with a consistent smile all through out our stay. I highly recommend this hotel to all those who would like to have a real get away from their daily routine. I would definetly visit again this hotel. Also for those who like shopping - this Hotel is very close to a lot of interesting outlets and restaurants.

Room Tip: Contact Management
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed here as a member of a HF Walking holiday group from the UK and was unsure what to expect because of the previous reviews but found it was ideal positioned for touring Malta and Gozo and certainly up to its 4 star status. We all had rooms in the rear part of the hotel which looked newly refurbished and we had a lovely large flat screen tv, sunny balcony and everything you would expect in an unusually large room. Fruit was brought to the room on arrival and the service we received in the bar, restaurant and front desk was first class. I looked up the weekly price for half board accomodation on Tripadvisor for the week we stayed so I could see how much HF were charging us for our walking guides and I thought the value was exceptional. The wifi worked well in the lobby which we used and the half board food was fine.
My only advice would be to make sure you have booked a room in the rear of the hotel and not at the front as I'm sure they are noisy as suggested by other reviews.

Room Tip: Book a rear room. Take your laptop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinexxW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

First the positives. This is a clean hotel. It is run by a family who obviously like to make things look attractive & succeed - the lobby, other public areas, and our room were all pleasing to the eye. Staff were all welcoming and helpful. The roof terrace is a nice area to relax, equipped with plunge pool (out of use for maintenance during our stay) and sun loungers. The indoor pool in the lower basement, and the spa both look very attractive (we enjoyed more than a couple of dips in the basement pool on our own at 8 am.). Breakfast (& dinner which we took once) are buffet-style, so there MUST be something you can pick that you like. On a lesser level, and having read some earlier reviews, I can say that our bathroom towels were spanking white and felt new. Our twin beds were of a good size. The tea and coffee tray thoughtfully had a lever-corkscrew. We appreciated the fridge.

However, there were negatives, one in particular of such significance that it ruined our stay and quite cancelled out the positives. A quiet comfortable room is surely the minimum fundamental requirement of any hotel, quite irrespective of its star-rating. Even at a 2-star establishment, you would not expect spas and pools, but you would expect a decent night's sleep. I note earlier reviews complaining about rooms overlooking the main street of Mellieha. The Solana management continues to let 7 rooms on the first floor, directly over the street, and above the outside tables of their Cafe Puccini. The numbers of these rooms are: 1306, 1307, 1309, 1311, 1312, 1313, and 1314. The double-glazing of the patio doors to the little balcony might as well have been cellophane. The traffic noise was so bad, from 5.30 am to the small hours, that we might as well have been sleeping outside. Boy racers roaring by, rumbling buses, thundering trucks, hiss of hydraulic brakes, you get it all. We came back with terrible headaches due to sleep deprivation. And if the traffic does finally ebb, at weekend you could very well still be kept awake by people talking and laughing at the tables underneath your balcony.

Remaining negatives; The gym was still closed; the roof pool was out of action. Over the weekend, the sheet put on my bed was too small to cover the mattress adequately, had a hole in it, was grey and thin, and ideally should have been retired from service some time ago. One bed had a worn-out mattress whose bed springs dug into the body and twanged loudly every time my husband turned over. The plastic mesh canvas on the sun loungers of the roof terrace was grubby, saggy and beginning to tear in several cases; the furniture looks due for replacement. Lastly, although this didn't affect us personally, the hotel is on a very steep hill street, 5 mins walk from the beach down below.

The Solana probably merits its four-stars by virtue of its indoor pool and spa; but those facilities apart, this felt more like a 3-star to me. It's a shame - staff are trying hard, and the family owners are obviously trying to run an attractive clean place, but there were too many negatives, of which the noisy room was totally unacceptable. By the way, we did ask to see a better room on arrival, having seen our first room overlooked the street, but were given the key only to a larger room also overlooking the street.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hirondelle3968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 km away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
3.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.0 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,053 reviews
12.4 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
4.2 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $90 - $1,602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing