We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$271
US$263
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$305
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$310
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aurora(Mellieha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,371)
Filter reviews
2,371 results
Traveller rating
1,141
827
257
86
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,141
827
257
86
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstosca restaurantrooftop poolthe busself cateringsister hotelwelcome drinkhalf boardlovely hotelstudio roomsteep hillsmall balconybreakfast and dinnerhotel is situatedenjoyable staygreat holidaybusy roadweek stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,706 - 1,711 of 2,371 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Just back from 2weeks at the Solana Hotel and enjoyed every minute. Following a small problem on our arrival, the staff more than exceeded our expectations with regard to proffesionalism, helpfulness and friendliness!! The hotel itself is lovely and we wanted for nothing during our stay.Fresh towels etc every single day, tea coffee etc filled daily. Special thanks to Duty Manager Pierre for all his help during our visit and all of his staff. Nothing seemed a bother to them and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others and will definately return ourselves. Well done to you all at the Solana. first class !!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed 3-10th December. The staff were helpful, and the rooms were clean and spacious. We went self catering so we had a wardrobe built in the corner with a fridge, sink, a microwave and 2 hob plates in it. We only used it for breakfast though as there were so many cheap restaurants nearby.
The only problem was the traffic noise from the main street (which our room overlooked). I am a light sleeper and the lorries and buses can be quite noisy. Also instead of a double bed, it was 2 single beds pushed together, but I'm not sure if that is normal for the area or not.
The bus to Valletta takes an hour from here, so bear that in mind when planning any trips, the hotel is also quite close to the ferry port for Gozo

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel if possible
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucy78green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday in the Solana Hotel, (13th to the 20 Nov 2011 )booked through easy jet holidays. This is a lovely village with a church and scenic square close by.
The self catering accomodation was of an excellent standard and very clean and well maintaned. The indoor pool was a big plus, as far as we were concerned and we used it every morning before breakfast.The staff (without exception) were helpfull and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would recommend to others and will stay at this hotel again without hesitation.
There was a regular bus service to anywhere on the island from nearby and we travelled to Valetta, St Julian etc. on a regular basis

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 447PatH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Week at the Solana Hotel, Mellieha, Malta 9-16th December 2011, fabulous week at this hotel. Exceptionally clean, staff really could not be nicer and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was exceptional and many thanks to Carmel Debono, the chef who was fabulous and his cooking has to be savoured. One of the group has walking disabilities and the hotel could just not do enough to help. Rooms were excellent and facilites great. Thanks to all who helped make this a brilliant holiday - hotel receptionists, Carmel, room manager, Jason the fantastic barman, all the other bar staff and all the other waitresses/waiters. Also a big thank you to the cleaners who kept the room(s) absolutely spotless. We will most definitely be going back to the Solana and believe me, as a group, we are hard to please but you would have to be really bad not to appreciate all that the hotel and all the staff at the Solana have to offer. Again, many, many thanks for everything from both the Strange and Prior families.

Room Tip: If you have walking disabilities, Room 1205 is a very good room. Unfortunately, our room which was 1204 (I think!) had a balcony which faced in to the hotel, but we just used our friends. If you contact the hotel before your holiday, they do all they can to ensure that your needs are met. They certainly met ours without any problems at all.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Not been to Malta before so was tempted by an Easyjet flight and accomodation offer for £99 per person - OK so had to pay extra for luggage and arrange own transfers but it's still amazing value to stay in such a quality hotel so cheaply. We were in a self catering unit so can't comment on food. Our room was huge, about 40ft from the door to the balcony. It was nicely furnished with small dining table, sofa and TV, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and a perfectly adequate, if a little cramped, kitchenette in a big cupboard. We were at the front but didn't find the traffic noise to be a problem. The only noise irritation really was the shop down the road blaring out the same 6 christmas songs in unending rotation - (I seriously do NOT wish it could be christmas everyday!!)
We used the bar a couple of times, quite pricey but that goes with the territory for hotels, and it was a really lovely place to relax. All the staff were fantastic - can't say better than that!
Would I go back again? A resounding "Yes" and I'd even be prepared to pay a bit more!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank backnerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews