We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Welcoming Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed at the Solana from 3 to 10 December 2011. Originally booked to stay at the sister hotel the Pergola but received notification that it would be closed when I was due to arrive in Malta so was transferred to the Solana.

I have visited this hotel in the past and have found the amenities good and the staff very helpful and welcoming. On this visit I made friends with a number of the staff and although each and every member of the Solana staff were helpful in their own way, I must mention some by name. Abigail who normally works at the Pergola was a great person to get to know as she advised on various places to visit on the island, Miriam, Susan, Maria who were fantastic staff who worked in the restaurant for either breakfast or dinner - and also bar duties. Amanda on reception where nothing was ever to much trouble for her and he has been mentioned in a previous review - Carmel one of the chefs. He always made an effort when he was on duty to come out of the kitchen and speak to literally every person in the restaurant, whether it was at breakfast time or dinner.

This hotel is first rate and I would thoroughly recommend the Solana to any visitor to Malta.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank adt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

Just back from 2weeks at the Solana Hotel and enjoyed every minute. Following a small problem on our arrival, the staff more than exceeded our expectations with regard to proffesionalism, helpfulness and friendliness!! The hotel itself is lovely and we wanted for nothing during our stay.Fresh towels etc every single day, tea coffee etc filled daily. Special thanks to Duty Manager Pierre for all his help during our visit and all of his staff. Nothing seemed a bother to them and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others and will definately return ourselves. Well done to you all at the Solana. first class !!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed 3-10th December. The staff were helpful, and the rooms were clean and spacious. We went self catering so we had a wardrobe built in the corner with a fridge, sink, a microwave and 2 hob plates in it. We only used it for breakfast though as there were so many cheap restaurants nearby.
The only problem was the traffic noise from the main street (which our room overlooked). I am a light sleeper and the lorries and buses can be quite noisy. Also instead of a double bed, it was 2 single beds pushed together, but I'm not sure if that is normal for the area or not.
The bus to Valletta takes an hour from here, so bear that in mind when planning any trips, the hotel is also quite close to the ferry port for Gozo

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucy78green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday in the Solana Hotel, (13th to the 20 Nov 2011 )booked through easy jet holidays. This is a lovely village with a church and scenic square close by.
The self catering accomodation was of an excellent standard and very clean and well maintaned. The indoor pool was a big plus, as far as we were concerned and we used it every morning before breakfast.The staff (without exception) were helpfull and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would recommend to others and will stay at this hotel again without hesitation.
There was a regular bus service to anywhere on the island from nearby and we travelled to Valetta, St Julian etc. on a regular basis

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 447PatH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Week at the Solana Hotel, Mellieha, Malta 9-16th December 2011, fabulous week at this hotel. Exceptionally clean, staff really could not be nicer and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was exceptional and many thanks to Carmel Debono, the chef who was fabulous and his cooking has to be savoured. One of the group has walking disabilities and the hotel could just not do enough to help. Rooms were excellent and facilites great. Thanks to all who helped make this a brilliant holiday - hotel receptionists, Carmel, room manager, Jason the fantastic barman, all the other bar staff and all the other waitresses/waiters. Also a big thank you to the cleaners who kept the room(s) absolutely spotless. We will most definitely be going back to the Solana and believe me, as a group, we are hard to please but you would have to be really bad not to appreciate all that the hotel and all the staff at the Solana have to offer. Again, many, many thanks for everything from both the Strange and Prior families.

Room Tip: If you have walking disabilities, Room 1205 is a very good room. Unfortunately, our room which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Not been to Malta before so was tempted by an Easyjet flight and accomodation offer for £99 per person - OK so had to pay extra for luggage and arrange own transfers but it's still amazing value to stay in such a quality hotel so cheaply. We were in a self catering unit so can't comment on food. Our room was huge, about 40ft from the door to the balcony. It was nicely furnished with small dining table, sofa and TV, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and a perfectly adequate, if a little cramped, kitchenette in a big cupboard. We were at the front but didn't find the traffic noise to be a problem. The only noise irritation really was the shop down the road blaring out the same 6 christmas songs in unending rotation - (I seriously do NOT wish it could be christmas everyday!!)
We used the bar a couple of times, quite pricey but that goes with the territory for hotels, and it was a really lovely place to relax. All the staff were fantastic - can't say better than that!
Would I go back again? A resounding "Yes" and I'd even be prepared to pay a bit more!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank backnerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

An excellent hotel.We had booked room studio from 2nd till 9th December.Staff is very friendly,room clean,cleaning service was done every day.Great breakfast..large selection.great chef Carmel,bartender Rugby.The swimming pool indoor great!!!Filip-our son was going every day there.Nice saturday evening-live music!!!Nice atmosphere!!!We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarzyna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 km away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
3.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.0 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,874 reviews
3.6 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,047 reviews
4.2 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $37 - $1,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing