We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solana Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luna Holiday Complex(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$275
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$386
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,337)
Filter reviews
2,337 results
Traveller rating
1,126
823
250
82
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,126
823
250
82
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstosca restaurantthe busrooftop poolself cateringwelcome drinksister hotelhalf boardlovely hotelstudio roomsteep hillsmall balconybreakfast and dinnerhotel is situatedgreat holidayenjoyable staylovely roombusy road
Filter
Updating list...
1,589 - 1,594 of 2,337 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks stay in the Solana Hotel and I was extremely impressed. I specifically booked the Solana as i wished to self cater and I am very pleased that I did. The hotel is spotless and the staff are very efficient and very friendly. I am a regular visitor to Malta and will certainly book into the Solana on my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms are the back of the hotel are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnieB1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis,and found the breakfast to be plentyful and the receptionists to be very friendly and helpful. I had a problem with the air conditioning not working in my room and when I complained I was moved the following day when another room became available. The rooms were spotless and of a good size. There was 3 of us and requested 2 rooms close by,we were given ones opposite each other which we didnt mind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2012

very good hotel - comfortable and well equipped. Attentive staff, Used self catering option which was very good - only criticism was lack of oven (there was a Micro-wave/grill combi)

Room Tip: our room was at the front with some taffic noise and noise intrusion also on th 'caberet nights' - the acts were unfortunately quite poor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay half board in the salona, and i have to say my husband and I were so impressed with the hotel, I have a wheat and gluten allergy, and the chef and waiter always made sure i was well catered for. The room was spotless and cleaned everyday with fresh towels when ever needed, the staff were all so very helpful and made our holiday very pleasurable, if i had to pick any fault with this hotel it would be not enough paresols around the roof top pool but to be honest it never spoilt it for me at all.
We bought a weekly bus pass on the bus for 12 euros which was great value for money as we were able to explored the island .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We booked this hotel through Low Cost Holidays, and based on some of the reports about poor views from some rooms, paid extra for a “junior suite” requesting a double bed and high room at the back of the hotel.

On arrival we were shocked to discover that we were allocated a room overlooking a light well, with another balcony about four feet away across from us looking directly into our room. The beds were made up as two singles and the air conditioning only heated, despite it being over 30 Deg C outside. We complained, pointing out that the Hotels own room literature suggested guest could upgrade and described the upgraded rooms as having spectacular views across the town or valley - which was not what we were given. The staff did not seem surprised at our complaint, quickly sorted out the bed and A/C, but had no free rooms that day and we were advised to try again the next day.

The next morning they found us another room which was much nicer and looked over the valley at the back, however we were MOST annoyed at being charged 35 Euros additional cleaning charges for moving. We do not consider that the original room met the standards of an upgraded room, unlike the new room there was insufficient space for a settee so could not really be described as a junior suite.

Overall the hotel is not 4 star, furniture was low quality, mattresses were very thin, we have slept on similar thickness camp beds, and when made up as a double, they did not supply suitable sizes sheets etc to be properly tucked in. On the plus side, staff were friendly, rooms were clean and breakfasts quite good, evening meals were edible but not great ( Saturdays are best) and it was difficult at times to see how they met the published themes. We were also very surprised that the light bar meals were all made up earlier; we wanted something without mustard and found that they could not do that. We would expect better from a four star hotel.

Talking to other quests around the pool, we found that we were not the only ones who had requested a move because they found the first room offered unacceptable, it must be a nice earner for the hotel. They should make it clear that there are sub standard rooms and charge accordingly, not try and fob them off on guests, and then charge for cleaning when moving to a better room especially as we had already paid for an upgrade.

The Hotel would be fine as a 2 star, just not what we expected as a 4*, We would also recommend B&B, not half board, there are plenty of eating choices around.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in light well at all cost
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irledrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent holiday in Malta and for taking the time in sharing your recent experience. We strive very hard at offering our esteemed guests a positive overall 4-star holiday experience and are very disappointed in learning that in your opinion the hotel would be fine as a 2-star, especially considering the high level of furnishings and amenities located throughout the property.

We do not consider it professional to publicly go into all details of your original reservation, however should you prefer to discuss this situation more profoundly, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Meanwhile, we would gladly welcome a second opportunity where we can win your trust in the future. Should you indeed consider this option, please do not hesitate to contact myself personally where I shall ensure that this time, your overall experience not only meets, but exceeds your expectations.

Yours truly,


Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews