We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for families in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I stayed at this hotel in August 2017 with my family and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the beach, and restaurants and shops are on its doorstep. The hotel also offers lots of services, such as shuttle buses to and from the local beaches and other towns which is very useful to get around.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundeesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing such a glowing feedback with us.

We really appreciate that you highlighted that the Solana Hotel & Spa is situated right in the centre of the village of Mellieħa, just next to the main bars, restaurants, bus-stops and attractions. The nearest beach, Mellieħa Bay is also Malta's most popular beach and is some 25 minutes away by walk or else 3 minutes via public transport.

We trust that your holiday plans will bring you back to the Maltese Islands and we hope to host you again for another enjoyable stay!

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

My wife and I are cold weather folk but thought it time to head somewhere hot for a short break so 5 nights in Malta was just what we wanted and the Solana hotel was perfect for our needs. At the opposite end of the Island to Valletta, quiet, peaceful, close to the beach and restaurants.

The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful and offered us a larger suite for only a small amount extra which we accepted and whilst there was no sea view the balcony was a lovely place to sit and relax. The room was spacious and cool.

The bar and breakfasts were really nice, good value with a wide selection. The bus stop to pretty much anywhere is right outside the door and the additional airport transfer offered by the hotel was great value and super easy. Nice restaurants and supermarket also right outside the door.

The rooftop pool was a great place to sit and relax with a fantastic view of the beach/town at day and night. We went at the end of the season however and the rooftop bar was not open. Everywhere throughout the hotel was clean and well kept.

There was only one issue, my wife and I love a good Jacuzzi and one of the reasons we booked was because Solana offered an "unheated rooftop pool and a heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi". They do not have a Jacuzzi. It is stone cold and doesn't bubble. When we enquired at the front desk we were first told "we don't have a Jacuzzi" then that "maintenance would go have a look" but when we saw the maintenance guy he said "that's how it's supposed to be". So, not a Jacuzzi. Maybe there was some lost in translation going on and it's a nice hotel in a nice location run by nice people for good money, we were too busy relaxing to be bothered by it and that's what Solana is, nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to sojourn within the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent holidays in Malta and we are equally thankful that you have spared some of your time in sharing with us this review.

We highly appreciate your generous feedback passed towards our core services and products but we regret reading that we may have disappointed you with the Jacuzzi. While assuring you that we will get to the bottom of your valuable comments, we also wish to publicly apologize if we have fallen short of the standards which we are established for on this occasion.

For the benefit of our online community, the Solana Hotel & Spa offers the use of the Jacuzzi, which is incorporated with the Indoor pool, along with another Hydro-Therapy Bath, which is even more relaxing and comes with stronger jets at a higher water temperature.

We wish to thank you again for submitting this feedback as this will enable us to strive harder for an even better service next time.

Please feel free to contact us directly, should your holiday plans bring you back to Malta. We will endeavour in making your next trip with us exactly what you hoped for and much more.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Two good swimming pools, a very good fitness room. the hotel room was small but very comfortable and clean, the staff are very nice polite and friendly a lot of Maltese food, the hotel itself was very clean and had a very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dillon X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are overwhelmed by your very kind comments about all the important aspects, which are close to our hearts, here at the Solana Hotel & Spa.

While trusting that there will be another occasion where you would want to explore our Islands, we hope to welcome you again during your return trip.

Warm regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Silence, property,, good services, two good swimmingpools,a very good fitness room, a lot of maltese food,I had a good time in this hotel ,but it is far from the beach ! I reccomand this hotel for a nice holliday in Malta!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mihaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the online community.

All of us are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel and your kind comments about the cleanliness and the amenities of the Hotel, as well as the standard of our food are much appreciated. Much obliged!

We hope to host you again in the next future!

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We really enjoyed to stay in the Solana Hotel. It was my second time here. The receptionist was very friendly and as soon as they noticed that my mom has birthday they offered a better room. The hotel is very clean and has good atmosphere. We were on half board. The only thing we surprised as it's a 4 stars hotel, we cant have water for free for the dinner. If you don't buy any drink they take the glasses. Apart from it I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: I would suggest to change the shower gel to a quality one in the bathrooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barabás M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your loyal custom towards the Solana Hotel & Spa and we really appreciate that you have chosen us for this special birthday occasion.

Your generous comments on our high standards of cleanliness and our Team's approach in giving our esteemed that important personal touch, are very much welcome and we are delighted that you have shared with us such a valuable recognition. Thank you!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the nearby future.

Grazzi Ħafna!

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The room was small but comfortable and had good facilities. It was clean and had everything we needed. The hotel is nice and the spa was good. The real bonus was teh staff....they were fabulous! Nothing was too much trouble and they really made us feel welcome and looked after. The hotel is closing for refurbishment until next year but we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chaz_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having taken the time to review your holiday experience within the Solana Hotel & Spa with all of us.

We are delighted to read that you have appreciated the facilities, the cleanliness and that you have highlighted our Team's efficiency as one of our main assets of our Hotel. We will be honoured to host you again next year and we are more than sure that you will appreciate the improvements planned at the Hotel.

While looking forward to welcoming you again, we take this opportunity in sending you our best regards,

Grazzi Ħafna!

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed a week at the Solana Hotel and Spa at the end of September 2017. We arrived late and were immediately put at ease by Reception and they went out of their way to provide us with some food. The Hotel was clean and airy and the room we were allocated, although it had no view, was huge and well equipped as was the bathroom. The restaurant provided a varied choice of food to cover all tastes and it was all fresh and well prepared and displayed with the chef always available for the customers. The public areas were spacious and clean and the staff were always available and attentive. The downside of the hotel is its location which is on the main road and on a steep hill.

Room Tip: All floors can be accessed by lift, but rooms at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank openside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guests,

All of us are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and we thank you for highlighting the quality of care and service that you received from our Team while you were staying with us.

Your kind comments regarding the level of standards in Housekeeping and the food product are much appreciated and we are pleased that you have taken the time in sharing such a positive recognition with all of us.

We now look forward to welcoming you again to the Solana Hotel & Spa in the nearby future!

Warm Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 km away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,850 reviews
3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.6 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
2.2 km away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
2,244 reviews
12.4 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $99 - $1,634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing