We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good facilities and obliging staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solana Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

The room was large and very clean with balcony and well serviced , clean towels daily .
The amenities good , inside and outside pools and a good little mini gym
Staff helpful and friendly.Had a nice bar in the entrance and delicious ice creams.
Did not eat at the Tosca restaurand but the Bellini which was buffet style was not impressive.
The evening meal more expensive than the surrounding restaurants, for set menus , and though the salad buffet was varied and fresh the same could not be said for the hot food.
Breakfast was disapointing and the tables not cleared often enough and having run out of hot oatmeal not replenished. it was all a bit messy and not managed . There was a good range of cold meats , but fruit selection poor and only strawberry yogurt in large bowls .

Room Tip: Ask for one at back of hotel.the front is next to ail road which is busy and noisy but will be less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zannie1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Guests,

We are thankful that you have chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent holidays in Malta and we equally appreciate that you have shared your opinion with all of us.

Your generous comments on our room facilities, cleanliness and facilities are very much welcome, whereas your sincere feedback towards our food offerings have been taken on board.

While extending to you our best regards for the remaining part of 2017, we now look forward for another opportunity in hosting you again in the near future.

Grazzi Ħafna!

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

During a recent hiking trip to Malta our group stayed at this hotel. My wife and I found the rooms clean and comfortable and the hotel staff very helpful. The breakfast and dinner service was superb. We were a large group and the hotel had no problem looking after us. We had a particularly pleasant bar-b-q on the rooftop one night, but they close in the autumn.There is a grocery store across the street and it is a short walk to the beach. Bus service is fast and convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear building are much quieter; avoid front balconies; they look nice but the street ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank woozietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent visit to Malta and we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your opinion with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our restaurant and that you have highlighted the cleanliness and the amenities of the room, as well as our Team whose main goal is the happiness of our guests. We are equally happy to read that the BBQ on the roof was so well received!

While hoping to host you again in the near future, we extend to you our

Warmest Regards,
Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The traffic war very loud. Sorry, we could not sleep very well in this bed. Breakfast was ok.
The bus-station in front of the hotel is very good. We used it for our tours very often. We also liked the pool on top of the hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank haraldp822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent visit to Malta and we appreciate that you have taken the time in reviewing our Hotel online.

We are thankful for your kind comments towards our Breakfast offering, the Pool facilities and the location. We regret reading that outdoor noise might have affected your overall enjoyment as we would have definitely obliged in allocating you a quieter room, had it been brought to our attention.

While thanking you for your custom, we look forward to hosting you at the Solana Hotel & Spa again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Stayed here for a week with my best friend in a studio, which was a nice big clean room at the back of the hotel. Enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners. Lot of choice in food. Friendly and helpfull staff. A few nights a week there's a very good singer performing in the lobby. The hotel is nearby the busstop to Valetta, or the bus to the beach (if you don't want to walk)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guests,

We are grateful towards your sharing this favourable review with all of us!

Your comments on our food offering, our courteous and efficient Team and our facilities and location, are much appreciated.

We look forward in welcoming you and your best friend to the Solana Hotel & Spa again in the not-so-distant future.

Warm Regards,
Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel now on several occasions. The hotel is situated in the heart of mellehia, a beautiful town beside the sea. Everything that you would need is within a short walking distance; supermarkets, pharmacies, restaurants, bars, clothing and souveneir shops etc.
There are also many bus services that run outside the hotel to take you where you need to go. The ferry is a short bus journey away which brings you to the island of Gozo and there are also boat taxis along the nearby beach to bring you to the beautiful blue lagoon.

The hotel has great facilities; café and bar with music evenings and an amazing rooftop pool!!

The staff are incredibly friendly and always strive to provide you with the best service. From Pierre in reception to Ivan, Melvin and the chefs in the Bellini restaurant, all are so nice and accommodating.

I would highly recommend the hotel to friends and family and will most certainly be returning in the near future thanks guys!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bebhinn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for your constant loyalty towards the Solana Hotel & Spa! Nothing gives us more pride in seeing guests returning over and over again to our Hotel and receiving such overwhelming comments from such guests, motivate us to keep striving further to ameliorate our already established level of service and product.

We also appreciate your kind recognition towards some of Solana's Team Players and on behalf of all the Solana Team, we now look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future!

Grazzi Ħafna!
Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I stayed at this hotel in August 2017 with my family and really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the beach, and restaurants and shops are on its doorstep. The hotel also offers lots of services, such as shuttle buses to and from the local beaches and other towns which is very useful to get around.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundeesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing such a glowing feedback with us.

We really appreciate that you highlighted that the Solana Hotel & Spa is situated right in the centre of the village of Mellieħa, just next to the main bars, restaurants, bus-stops and attractions. The nearest beach, Mellieħa Bay is also Malta's most popular beach and is some 25 minutes away by walk or else 3 minutes via public transport.

We trust that your holiday plans will bring you back to the Maltese Islands and we hope to host you again for another enjoyable stay!

Best Regards,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My wife and I are cold weather folk but thought it time to head somewhere hot for a short break so 5 nights in Malta was just what we wanted and the Solana hotel was perfect for our needs. At the opposite end of the Island to Valletta, quiet, peaceful, close to the beach and restaurants.

The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful and offered us a larger suite for only a small amount extra which we accepted and whilst there was no sea view the balcony was a lovely place to sit and relax. The room was spacious and cool.

The bar and breakfasts were really nice, good value with a wide selection. The bus stop to pretty much anywhere is right outside the door and the additional airport transfer offered by the hotel was great value and super easy. Nice restaurants and supermarket also right outside the door.

The rooftop pool was a great place to sit and relax with a fantastic view of the beach/town at day and night. We went at the end of the season however and the rooftop bar was not open. Everywhere throughout the hotel was clean and well kept.

There was only one issue, my wife and I love a good Jacuzzi and one of the reasons we booked was because Solana offered an "unheated rooftop pool and a heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi". They do not have a Jacuzzi. It is stone cold and doesn't bubble. When we enquired at the front desk we were first told "we don't have a Jacuzzi" then that "maintenance would go have a look" but when we saw the maintenance guy he said "that's how it's supposed to be". So, not a Jacuzzi. Maybe there was some lost in translation going on and it's a nice hotel in a nice location run by nice people for good money, we were too busy relaxing to be bothered by it and that's what Solana is, nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolanaHotel, Manager at Solana Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen to sojourn within the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent holidays in Malta and we are equally thankful that you have spared some of your time in sharing with us this review.

We highly appreciate your generous feedback passed towards our core services and products but we regret reading that we may have disappointed you with the Jacuzzi. While assuring you that we will get to the bottom of your valuable comments, we also wish to publicly apologize if we have fallen short of the standards which we are established for on this occasion.

For the benefit of our online community, the Solana Hotel & Spa offers the use of the Jacuzzi, which is incorporated with the Indoor pool, along with another Hydro-Therapy Bath, which is even more relaxing and comes with stronger jets at a higher water temperature.

We wish to thank you again for submitting this feedback as this will enable us to strive harder for an even better service next time.

Please feel free to contact us directly, should your holiday plans bring you back to Malta. We will endeavour in making your next trip with us exactly what you hoped for and much more.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 km away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
3.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.0 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,052 reviews
12.4 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
4.2 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solana Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solana Hotel and Spa

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#3 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: $77 - $1,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solana Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solana Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solana Hotel Mellieha
Solana Hotel Malta
Solana Hotel And Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing