We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“1 Grandad, his 2 daughters & 12mth old Grandson”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cerna Apartment

A private Apartment with Unobstructed Sea Views of Mellieha Bay, Malta
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A private Apartment with Unobstructed Sea Views of Mellieha Bay, Malta
Modern clean lines Unforgettable!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
A private Apartment with Unobstructed Sea Views of Mellieha Bay, Malta
Modern clean lines
Unforgettable!
Enjoy a relaxing dinner on the balcony
Unwind and relax!
A perfect holiday home
Comfortable living. Fully air conditioned rooms.
Child friendly!
Master bedroom, fit for a King
Enjoy a pre-dinner swim
Enjoy the clean, crisp smell of fresh linen after a day by the sea
A stone's throw away from the beautiful sea
All the latest technology at your fingertips
...for those magic moments
Breathtaking views...
...anywhere you look
Its a modern build
Idyllic, peaceful, or picturesque... call it want you want.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ShellMalp...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“1 Grandad, his 2 daughters & 12mth old Grandson”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just left today! We have had a fantastic week.
So we chose this apartment to suit our family needs. My dad turned 60 this year so to celebrate, myself and my sister treated him to a destination of his choice. 4 years earlier we had come out to Malta and stayed in Selima. He wanted to come back with his young grandson and enjoy a different part of the island. So searching we found Cerna Apartments. We could not have found better.
Situated on the 2nd floor there is a small lift which helped creaky knees after a long walk take a buggy back up to the apartment.
It has been cosy, relaxing and kitted out with everything for our needs.
So back bedroom is a double. Then we have 2 rooms pretty much the same. Good sturdy bunk beds with a 3rd pull out bed underneath. And of course a cot. So could easily sleep 8 adults and a baby. Now we are all a tall family but the bunk beds were surprisingly longer than we thought and we all slept comfortably. Lots of spare linen and towels.
The bath rooms are both showers.
we used a little washing/laundry bowl and filled this up as a make shift bath for my boy. Placed it in the shower cubical, few toys and he had a blast. And shut the cubical doors to keep the splashing in.
The kitchen living area has everything we needed. Fantastic for me to be able to prepare daily food for a baby rather than having to stay in a hotel and worry about nutrition in restaurants.
There were toys and books already in the apartment. It was so safe for my baby to crawl and get about the apartment. He had so much freedom.
Now the balcony. This is where my dad spent his hours at the apartment relaxing. Looking out across the bay with the apartment binoculars watching the boat coming and going. Or just reading his books or watching his grandson safely admiring the view as he pawed the view from the glass balcony. Grandson and grandad 100% happy watching the gentle waves below.
The beach is 5-10 mins walk and we took the beach towels and bucket and spade provided in the apartment. The beach is lovely.
The bus stop to Selima Buggibba Valletta etc are all a 2 minute walk to the end of the road. The Luna supermarket sells weekly bus cards to hop on and off buses and explore. There are plenty of restaurants located within a few mins walk or hop on the bus up the hill. A larger Supermarket is located up in town within 10min on bus.
However didn't need immediately as Christine had already provided us with a stater kit of milk, bread,butter, ham, cheese etc.
Christine and Joe are so welcoming and we are so grateful for their hospitality.
Even arranged for our taxi pick up and collection with a car sear so we wouldn't need to haul ours out. This is their family summer home and family is at the heart of this beautiful apartment. Our family loved it. Hopefully we shall be back soon.
So many more positive things I could say..... so instead I shall just say .....book it! It's a dream place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
I would like to thank you so much for your very positive review. It was a pleasure meeting you all especially darling little Seph. It was lovely having you stay and so glad you enjoyed your holiday, and your stay in Cerna Apartment and that you found everything to your complete satisfaction. You were fantastic guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorer4...
1 review
“Modern apartment a stones throw from the beach”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was my first holiday rental experience taking my wife and three young children. As you can imagine booking for the 1st time I was somewhat apprehensive. I need not have worried. Christine the owner was really prompt at answering any of my questions prior to our stay.

On our arrival date, Christine was happy to liaise with me by text which was really convenient. She was also really accommodating when we landed as we had to wait an hour to collect our rental car from Hertz at the airport . On arriving, Christine and her husband Joe couldn't have been more welcoming. The apartment was really well stocked with toiletries and food to get us going for our stay.

The apartment is really modern with quality kitchen appliances and sanitaryware. The things that really worked for the five of us was the two shower rooms/toilets. Both had great shower pressure. Good Wifi, AC in all the bedrooms along with ceiling fans. I even managed to get my caffeine fix in for the week as the apartment has a coffee machine.

The apartment is situated on a promenade in Mellieha Bay over the road from the sea, literally a few minutes walk from the beach which kept the kids happy! Christine even supplies beach towels and a few bucket and spades!

Getting to other parts of the Island by bus is no problem as there are probably more buses on the roads than cars, or if you rent a car most parts of the island are just a short drive away.

We had a really comfortable stay, and wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Alex thank you so much for your review. It was lovely meeting you all and a real pleasure having you stay in Cerna apartment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your complete satisfaction. We really look forward to welcoming you again perhaps in the not too distant future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenhan13
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A friend and I spent a glorious week at the apartment in June 2015 - we couldn't have asked for a more friendly and helpful welcome. We had a taxi arranged from the airport and someone to meet us with the keys and show us around, despite it being very late! We had everything we could possibly need, the apartment is very modern with great facilities and the view is unbeatable. Would highly recommend and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A complete home away from home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Cerna Apartment and glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit us again. Christine & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfie L
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best apartment we could ask for for our graduation trip!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My five friends and I are graduating this summer, and we decided to go around the South of Europe for our 17-day graduation trip. Malta was the last of our 9 stops, and where we spent 4 days and 3 nights. You could read all the details below, but if you want a relaxing and blissful stay, trust me and book this apartment now!!! :-)

One of the first and best things about the apartment was the apartment owners, Christine and Joe. When the six of us arrived at the Malta Airport at around 11pm, we were greeted by a taxi service that was arranged by Christine and Joe, even though the taxi driver arrived late. Despite the delay, we arrived at the apartment after a 40 minute ride, personally greeted by Christine and Joe. They were not only awake at late night hours to hand us the keys and give us a comprehensive guided tour of the apartment, but they have also been extremely friendly and helpful with Malta queries, and instantly made us feel at home. The apartment even had pictured manuals for a variety of things such as how to use the stove and ovens. Instantly felt like home.

Location: The apartment is located in Mellieha, which has plenty of beach, sun and water. When we arrived, one of our first impressions was the calming sound of the waves hitting the shore which was literally a stone's throw away. The apartment was 10 metres away from the shore, in which we could dip our feet or swim or snorkel. We knew we chose the right place for the last stop of our graduation trip.

We began to explore the amenities that came with the apartment, and here is a list of the things we absolutely loved: Wi-Fi (of course), dishwasher (for the wine glasses and coffee mugs), washer + dryer (for our beach clothes and towels, simple breakfast (yoghurts, coffee), TV (for the World Cup matches we were following!), and two shower bathrooms; all of these amenities worked perfectly. There were 2 bedrooms with fitted bunk beds + an extra foldable bed, together with 1 master bedroom that had a large double+ bed. This meant that the apartment could actually fit a party of 8. Very spacious, we loved it. There was also a spacious balcony with a long table and chairs with two sling chairs, on which we spent the majority of our socialising (a.k.a. wine) time.

One of the best beaches in Mellieha was 5 minutes walk away from the apartment. Right next to the beach there were convenient stores (to top-up sunblock creams), restaurants (if you fancy Maltese wine next to the beach) as well as water sports centres (we opted for the banana boat and a cruise to Comino + Gozo, both of which were awesome).

On the same road of the beach, there were bus stops that had buses going into different parts of Malta. We had to go to Valletta to meet some friends but after an hour's wait, two buses that came were consecutively full. Luckily, at the place of booking the cruise there was a taxi service that brought us there.

After having an amazing time in Malta, we had a very tailored check-out time of 4pm, which was perfect for our evening flight. Joe personally came to pick up the keys and bid farewell. Needless to say, the stay was perfect and definitely above our expectations. We missed the apartment and Malta so much we simply did not want to leave. All in all, one of the best holidays I've had. Because of this stay, I can say I will definitely be back in Malta, if not in this apartment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of owners, full amenities, amazing location.
Liked least: Honestly nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Cerna Apartment. Good luck for your future. Christine & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen b
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well stocked home away from home”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cerna Apartment lies in the heart of Mellieha, a few yards from the sea with a balcony big enough to dine on whilst enjoying lovely views of the ocean. As we were arriving quite late with young children our host, Joe, very kindly met us at the airport and led the way to the apartment - a drive of 40 minutes or so. The apartment is in a quiet area (we went just before the holiday season) and is extremely well stocked and comfortable. There are mini supermarkets nearby and some lovely restaurants in Mellieha itself and also Mellieha Heights - a village about a kilometre away.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Cerna Apartment. Christine & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explorer6...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay in Cerna apartment. So sorry regarding sun in the balcony but December is a rather cold month. It is better later on in the year. I hope we will welcome you back to Cerna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick E
Sannois, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La situation
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
It was a pleasure having you stay at Cerna Apartment. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for your review.
Christine & Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing