We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort - Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort – Recommended”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Spent a whole weekend at this hotel during this month with my partner. The hotel and staff are very warming and the hotel is very nice. We were welcomed and shown into our room which was very well prepared and everything was organized. We had everything we would need at out hands and the room service provided us with anything we could require. The food was very good as well everything you would expect from a such a resort. Weill defiantly do it again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adegiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your February weekend break at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa and very much trust there will be future opportunities where we can welcome you again to our resort!

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    638
    215
    103
    60
See reviews for
457
748
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attard, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My partner and I spent a weekend at this hotel during this month.
Firstly, the hotel has just been refurbished and looks absolutely beautiful. All the staff are nice and very helpful.
We stayed in a Deluxe 1 bedroom Apartment, which was on self-catering basis. We had all we needed in the apartment, with all cooking pots and pans, and even wine glasses! Everything was clean and we really enjoyed it!

Prices are quite reasonable, and staff take good care of their customers!

Bottom line is: I would recommend this hotel to anyone! And we will definitely go again!

Room Tip: You must take a sea view room! The view is absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muscat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback on the refurbishment carried out at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, over the past few weeks. All our efforts are in fact constantly aimed at bettering our esteemed guests’ holiday experience!

While assuring you that we shall continue taking good care of our guests, we shall look forward to having you back on board in the future.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Do yourself a favor and escape the humdrum of Valletta and other areas such as St Julians where urban sprawl and the English invaders have spoilt what is left of true Maltese culture and go the extra mile to the north west of the island, to Mellieha.

The Pergola is a standard 4star hotel with mediocre decor and above average food (for those on half/full board) but, what sets it apart is the sheer friendliness, efficiency and warm hospitality of it's staff as well as it's prime location, close to Mellieha Bay and the other spectacular northern sandy beaches. It is also only an hr by public bus which run frequently into Valletta.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with the hotel's cleanliness faultless. It is great value for money considering I had a pool-view room which was massive with huge bathroom and was on half board for 4 nights and only paid £130! The hotel also has a spa and indoor pool as well as 2 outdoor pools and a fantastic restaurant/cafe with views over the bay, only used in summer. It is also great for families as they not only offer rooms but self-catering apartments too.

They are also more than willing to organize a host of day trips and tours for you to Sicily & Gozo, bicycle rentals, diving excursions, etc.

I highly recommend this hotel and upon returning to Malta would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scuesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa and that you will not hesitate in choosing our resort again in the future!

While thanking you for taking the time in sharing your recent experience with our prospective guests, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a wonderful weekend! It was an excellent hotel, very clean and it also had very good service. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was very tasty and the prices were very reasonable ! I do recommend this hotel for any type of holiday in Malta !!! :->

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had a positive experience during your recent stay at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa.

While thanking you for taking the time in sharing your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birzebbugia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We found the hotel excellent in all the aspects, as in service, food, spa, room and all facilities.
I sincierly reccomend it to everyone visiting the island of malta. :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Guest,

It gives us great pleasure to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay within the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations, and look forward to welcome you again to the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa in the future!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We found the hotel and staff really warm and welcoming.... Food was brilliant, service was excellent, spa was like heaven... the room was spacious, nice and clean....in a few words I do recommend it for all type of travellers....

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view over Mellieha valley and church, Mellieha Bay and in a clear weather o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing this positive experience with all of us TripAdvisor followers! We are very pleased that you were made to feel welcome and comfortable throughout your recent stay with us, and we highly appreciate all your encouraging comments.

While thanking you for having chosen the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa for your accommodation experience, we now look forward to be able to host you again in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My family (Mum, Dad, Son 11 Daughter 13) have stayed at the pergola 3 times since 2007, always in July/August and I have already booked for later in 2012.
First time we had a 1 bed appartment and B&B, booked through "on the beach" at a very good discounted rate.
Second time we booked the same again but on a half-board basis (we found the standard of food at the hotel so good the first time)
In 2011 we booked a 2 bed appartment as my mother in law came with us. They obviously have a limited number of 2 bed appartments and I booked direct with the hotel. Even tho I haggled with them over the rate I got a lovely appartment with an absolutely stunning view of the bay and church.

The hotel does have an odd layout as it is built into the side of a hill, I have always found the staff ready to help with directions and we're all used to it now anyway. There is an underground car park with maybe 12 spaces, if it wasn't charged as an extra I suppose it would be permanently full, I think it's worth a few quid to have somewhere shaded to park in August.

I have always found all the staff to be helpfull, friendly and polite, they are obviously very busy in peak season but have always made our holiday a good one.
The standard of cleanliness is very good, both in the rooms we've had and in the public areas, in my experience anything out of place is attended to promptly.
The food is excellent in terms of quality, quantity, freshness and variety - not much in the way of "kiddies food" but I count that as a positive. Breakfast and dinner are buffets with a good range of hot and cold, at breakfast eggs are cooked to order, themed evenings and a barberque once a week, bieng in the middle of the Med you would expect fish to be varied, fresh and plentifull - it is, and plenty of other choices. Meal times here are something to look forward to.

The hotel and Mellieha overlook Ghadira bay which has the best sandy beach in Malta, this gets very busy in August but the water is very clear and at a good temperature and shallow, so well worth a visit or several. The road down to the beach is steep and twisted and about a mile, I wouldn't reccomend the walk in either direction - especially not back up the hill. Catching a bus to the beach can be difficult at peak times as most buses are full by the time they get to Mellieha, coming back is much easier as they are near the start of the route in this direction.

Bieng of strategic importance in the Med, Malta has a very rich and varied history and is well worth exploring. If you are well organised this can be done by bus but it is easier to hire a car (drive on the left of the road). Although it is at the North of the island Mellieha is a good base for this because the Island is not very big and if you stay here you are near the best sandy beaches for when the exploration gets too much. Scuba diving is also worth a try also - explore the sea as well, My daughter and I love it and reccomend the Seashell Cove dive school located in the Tunny net complex in the bay, a very proffesional, family run business.

really looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that not only you already enjoyed three family holidays at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, but you are trusting us with a fourth stay! We assure you that we shall be doing our very utmost in ensuring that you will once again have an excellent holiday experience.

While thanking you for taking the time in sharing your feedback, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 km away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,214 reviews
0.8 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,885 reviews
4.1 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
5.0 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel & Spa

Property: Pergola Hotel & Spa
Address: Adenau Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pergola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing