We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
905 results
Traveller rating
414
256
139
54
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
256
139
54
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carob tree heated pool private beach steam room the cliff family pool half board relaxing holiday walking holiday peace and quiet overlooking the sea adult pool maltese islands lovely setting main restaurant games room the general manager
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 905 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Didn’t stay here but the location over from the hotel is beautiful, with large stones enclosing a courtyard not short of Dubai standards.

The dinner we had was really good with attentive staff throughout. Will have to visit the hotel at some point.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank beas006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

This is a beautifully formed hotel, blessed with magnificent views and (in the bar) good, welcoming, staff. The hotel is pricey and would be worth every penny if it came up trumps on its usp, that is peace and quiet. But it does not - and in so many ways it is difficult to know where to start. It is useless refurbishing rooms if the pool is filthy, full of ungathered insects, including large beetles, left to fester for a whole day, with one desultory clean up per day. Chlorine powder was administered daily - but no signs at all as to whether and when it was safe to venture into the pool! The outdoor shower by the poolside is in serious need of repair and redecoration - and it would be nice if guests did not need to shower quite so close to floor cleaning equipment stored in the shower itself! The loungers round the pool are mouldy, filthy and must have been there since day one! The noise in and around the pool, including by children in the adults’ pool, goes totally unchecked by a totally absent management, who are never to be seen anywhere round the hotel. Service at the beach club restaurant is poor and appears to be marred by a certain atmosphere between the staff. Breakfast is fine, though the food display is somewhat chaotic for a five star hotel. Cats pawing around the tables and familiarly leaping onto guests’ laps make you wonder where they’ve been and what germs they transfer onto empty plates, cups and saucers and napkins. This hotel must have known far better days, possibly some years ago, but now needs a total overhaul - and a wholly re-constituted management team familiar with 21st century expectations of a five star hotel charging five star prices. Until this happens, I wouldn’t burn my money spending any time at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Although I had a lovely holiday, I wouldn't class this as a 5 star hotel.
The location is certainly relaxing, away from a beach, in a quiet village with few amenities. The Hotel mini bus is OK, and there is a great local bus service into Victoria, which we used at a cost of E2 per person each way.
Our room was large, leading onto its own terrace overlooking the pool (122), but the bathroom is in need of upgrading. Both Pool areas are also in need of refurbishing, especially the mattresses and umbrellas, which would certainly help in increasing the star value. The food is excellent, although there had been an explosion of flies, which made it almost impossible to eat outside for breakfast and lunch in particular, and really spoilt our mealtimes. The Hotel staff are all very pleasant and helpful. On my last morning (I like to swim early), the pool staff decided to add the chlorine powder at 9.30 am and we were told not to swim in the pool before 12.30. No notices were put out and I had to stop a child of about 4 from going in, this was not acceptable.
even so, we had a lovely relaxing holiday at this Hotel, just need to upgrade more for the class of Hotel are were expecting.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gloria1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

The location and facilities at the Ta Cenc are fabulous, however we stayed in quite a rundown room compared to last year - the hotel badly needs upgrading and the wifi was not good sadly.
Apart from that, the food, service and staff were wonderful. Breakfast is 10*!

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

The accommodation was ok, you have a mini bar in the room and great clean amenities. The pool however is full of beetles every morning and no one from the hotel staff seems to care about it (quite a lot of large beetles).

I also had a 75min massage, which was quite disappointing as the masseuse yawned the whole time and it felt more like someone stroking you, but definitely not a massage.

The other negative is that you have no service at the pool. You CAN order drinks (you have to walk to the bar) but no food at the pool.

The WiFi is non-existent. I had to use 4G all the way as the signal was terrible.

Overall, quite average. Sorry can’t say I was impressed. Hope this feedback (especially the pool) will help the owners to do something about it...

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Ari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews