We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service I have ever had from a 'four star' hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Patrick's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Msida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst service I have ever had from a 'four star' hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I had booked to stay in this hotel before reading more about it. The pictures looked wonderful and the location was perfect.

As soon as I arrived to check in I was greeted by the rudest receptionist I have ever had the misfortune of meeting. Not only was she arrogant, she even told me off for reading the hotel agreement I was signing, which also had my credit card number on it.

If it were not for having booked for my stay on Expedia, hence had paid for my two night stay in full, I would have left immediately.

The room was mediocre, old and the sheets were clean but stained. The air conditioning system did not work.

The terrible service did not just end at check in, I found most of the staff to be very rude and unhelpful.

I do not know how this is supposed to be a four star hotel.

It is three star at best.

I had really been looking forward to my 'weekend romantic getaway' and they really dampened my excitement.

Thankfully Gozo and Xlendi are so beautiful that we didn't have to spend much time at the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the valley facing side unless you wish to hear loud music from the club downstairs un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alby_fleuvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl G, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Allow to thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback relating to your recent stay with us.

We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations and that you were disappointed with the service and the room you were allocated.

We have taken immediate measures to ensure that similar issues do not reoccur.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that we may have caused you.

Yours sincerely

Karl Gaffiero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    277
    123
    63
    38
See reviews for
116
382
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ely
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stopped in Xlendi at lunchtime looking for a suitable restaurant, the first place we went into was the Saint Patrick's Hotel and sat ourselves outside at a table overlooking the harbour. We ordered drinks, a local antipasta starter and main dishes of lamb cutlets and swordfish. Along with the drinks we were served a green olive tapenade and various breadstick etc. we both agreed that it was the best tapenade either of us had ever tasted. When our antipasto arrived it had an array of olives, sun dried tomato tapenade, local pickled onions and goats cheese, all of it tasted great however the show stopper was the lamb cutlets, 9 of them arranged around a hollowed out tomato filled with mint sauce, it looked and tasted fabulous. The food was the best we had during a weeks stay in Malta, the price was amazing for the quality of food and service and the location was picture postcard perfect. Don't miss this place if you are in Xlendi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greymanEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

19th March 2012 we went to the restaurant which is near the sea side. Lunch was a night mare and we never had it. We arrived at 2:15... Old grump man gave me the menu immediately....no politeness.....We were there in the sun. At around 3:00, after around 45 mins waiting and we wave for him and always saying he is coming and never came. Afterwards he came to us and he told us...What do you need and he told us back..very rude...I am sorry NOW the kitchen is closed.... And I told him why did you gave us the menu and...if now the kitchen is closed.... he told us he can only do a baguette SINCE THE OVEN IS SWITCH OFF AND IF IT CAUSE PROBLEMS TO THE OVEN IF SWITCHED ON AGAIN.....I told him that is the service at ST Patrick Hotel? People looking at us to show them the horrible service that they offer!! I never recommend this Horrible Hotel which is named as 4STAR and I think its not even 1star hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MM380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl G, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Allow to thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with valuable feedback relating to your experience at our restaurant.

We deeply regret that we were not able to provide you with better service on this occasion. We are currently in the process of restructuring our resources at the restaurant in order to be able to offer a higher level of service on a more consistent basis. We would be honoured should you choose to return to the St. Patrick’s Hotel in the near future to witness these changes for yourself.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that we may have caused you.

Whilst looking forward to welcoming you to the St. Patrick’s Hotel, I remain,

Yours sincerely

Karl Gaffiero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xlendi hotels

msida-malta
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have booked this Hotel to a couple friends of mine who was spending a 2 days in Gozo as hotel where i was staying was fully Booked for this weekend.
I was so glad to hear from them that they was so please with this hotel.
They told me that the staff was great and Breakfast and Dinner was fantastic. Room was nice and clean.They told they will sure book other weekend break at this nice hotel.
Anthony Arpa - Malta

Room Tip: A nice hotel for those spending days on this nice Island of Gozo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesegmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This Hotel has a lot going for it, but has a lot of potential not realised. We stayed in March and had a thoroughly good Holiday. I t is important when staying at this Hotel to upgrade to the sea view rooms with balcony. we spent many hours looking out to sea or watching the sunset and on one day just watching the torrential downpour, with millons of gallons of water cascading of the mountains in a series of quite spectacular waterfalls. The hotel is clean and the room and beds extremely comfortable. the staff were mostly friendly and welcoming. There were several missed opportunities we felt: The food in the restaurant was mediocre on the one night we tried it and although there were only 6 diners, the service was appallingly slow and chaotic. The dining room is totally lacking any atmosphere and that is why it was almost empty.( but we discovered a really nice family run restaurant nearby, called the Valley View. they have a really good set 3 course menu for just 10 euros and a good selection of wines. )
The coffee and orange juice in the hotel at breakfast is appalling. Fresh coffee would make all the difference to a reasonable breakfast buffet. ( why is it that in any country that grows oranges, they dilute the juice with 90% water?)
Just one further small irritation was that on checkout, we were charged for a drink we did not have from the mini bar. It was onlt 1 euro, but they wouldn't shift on it so we paid. I think their loss, in terms of goodwill was more than our financial loss. In balance then, a good hotel whth excellent views across the bay but which with a few tweaks could be excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmesburyDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Good all round hotel lovely staff, good food and very clean everywhere, It was a perfect base to go diving from.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbles41bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 km away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.7 km away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
7.0 km away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
6.0 km away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Property: Saint Patrick's Hotel
Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing