We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing hotel in rural Gozo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing hotel in rural Gozo”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights after a 4 night stay in Valletta. What a difference in the pace of life! This hotel epitomises relaxation. The hotel is situated in the north west of the island, very close to the Azure Window. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by a very professional and efficient Sylvie at the desk. We arrived a bit earlier but were in our (free upgraded) deluxe room within 20mins. We were wandering the grounds and she tracked us down to show us to our room. The room had a wonderful view, from the balcony, over the pools and to the surrounding countryside.

We ate in the lounge the first night and had lovely cocktails (blue hour between 6-7 means cheap cocktails!) and a nice pasta and burger. For the second night we tried a restaurant not far from the hotel. The breakfast was amazing - plenty of choice and service was excellent.

The room itself was very well appointed. Large bed and large telly. You could sit out on the balcony for most of the day soaking up the relaxed atmosphere and views. The gardens are beautiful. My wife went for a swim in the heated indoor pool and enjoyed the facilities there (it was still too cool to swim outside!).

All in all, we were impressed with our stay in the Kempinski and would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay on this beautiful island of Gozo.

Room Tip: If you like a balcony with plenty of sun, try to choose a room on the right hand side of the pool co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    296
    98
    35
    13
See reviews for
259
674
50
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Only stayed two nights but fantastic hotel, rooms (junior suite) on ground floor was excellent, first class as expected for a Kempinski hotel.

Spa is fantastic and childresn clud first rate, our children did not want to leave

Loaction is very, very remote and restauarnts out side of complex limited

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLichfield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTER
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Totally amazing hotel and spa. Myself, husband and 4 year old Daughter stayed last week and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is simply beautiful, staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you, service is friendly and faultless, rooms and all areas of the hotel are immaculate - fantastic house keeping team! food was simply divine, spa was stunning, child friendly and every member of staff made our Daughter feel like a Princess. We have had the opportunity to stay in many 5 star hotels over the years (as I have worked in the industry for over 20 years!) Its often hard to please a guest if they come from a hotel management background however, this hotel, food and staff exceeded all our expectations and was exceptional in every aspect! As my Husband says Kempinski is our preferred hotel chain from now on. We would love to return to this hotel in the future and cannot wait to stay at another one of the Kempinski properties. THANK YOU SO MUCH to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EMMAANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I hesitate to write this review as we enjoyed our visit to the kempinksi in gozo so much that I'd rather keep it as our secret. Essentially this is a extremely well appointed and exceptionally run hotel in a quiet rural location ( but with a couple of good eating places within a 5-10 minute walk) and reasonably accessible by public transport ( bus stop outside the hotel) if you fancy a couple of glasses with your lunch in Victoria which is the local town.
Staff were unwaveringly helpful and service was impeccable with some very nice touches ( free wifi when the Hilton in St Julians wanted 20 quid a night!!) and free water at night. Breakfast buffet was spectacular in terms of quality ( I will never regard my usual UK premier inn in the same way again) and did my waistline no good at all.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms a tad nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chompercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

No view unless you are on the top floor, zero sound isolation meaning no sleep between midnight and 6am unless you wear good earplugs, mediocre yet costly restaurant, need to book some treatments days in advance, distracted service... how does this hotel get so many stars from so many people???

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Roberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenzoKnight, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to take part in our survey. I regret to hear that you had reasons to complain.

It is always important for us to receive constructive criticism and praise in for us to take the appropriate action. As a team we endeavor to make our guest’s stay with us a truly memorable and special experience.

With regards to the mentioned view and sound insulation of our rooms, I would like to point out that almost all our rooms have a country or pool/garden view not unlike the photos on our Trip Advisor Page or Website. We are faced with limits in soundproofing our rooms due to the fact that our hotel is built with traditional Maltese limestone which is an important feature of the classical architectural style.

I also have taken note of your comments regarding our restaurant. Our L’Ortolan Restaurant is an award winning A la Carte fine dining restaurant which one might find ‘costly, however I believe that our restaurant offers a fair price value when compared to similar establishments.

Thank you also for the comments regarding our spa. Due to high occupancy on that particular weekend I regret to hear that you did not find an available time for your desired treatment, where we always recommend every guest (at any time of the year) to book well in advance in order to ensure availability.

On behalf of my team, I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future to be able to show you the improvement of our services. Thank you once again for your time,

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Sven Fritzsche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Went to Kempinski Hotel back in October and have wanted to return ever since. Although the decor is quite rustic, you do feel that you're not staying in a very quaint place in a very quaint village on the tiny island of Gozo. The rooms are cozy, although I wished the heating went a bit higher at that time of year. Having said that though I'm only ever comfortable when the room temperature is 26 degrees Celsius so you can compare and I think they would have gladly raised it for us had we asked. But the bathroom is luxurious and the room was very clean, all throughout our stay. We ate at the restaurants throughout the weekend and I have to say the service is impeccable and the food is delicious. On average though the evening dining came to a €100 per couple.

The best part of Kempinski however is the Spa. It is truly one of a kind and there are hundreds of treatments to choose from. It shows how serious they are about the real health benefits of spa treatments. They have countless treatment rooms, each with its own design tailored for the different treatments they have available. I tried the Swedish but I was also curious to try Ayurveda treatments. They were also building up an extension to add Turkish baths. The pools were also very warm and the jacuzzi was large enough to accommodate more than 2 couples at a time which would otherwise feel very awkward - something I have experienced in other Spas in five star hotels.

All in all, it was a weekend to remember and I felt that I had relaxed weekend and a perfect break. If relaxing is what you're after, you're in for a treat. I will definitely be back if I'm in Gozo.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for a week in March and loved it. The hotel itself is an imposing building in beautiful yellow stone, with three stylish pools sheltered by the buildings. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful - I can't recognise the comments from EzrainChicago. Our room (superior) was very large with walk-in shower and jacuzzi overlooking the pools from the 6th floor. Breakfast was superb, with a great choice, and being able to sit out on the terrace with it in March was very pleasant - temps in the high teens. Dinner in the Ortolan dining room was excellent - and substantial - watch out if you take the Maltese Widow soup as a starter - it is filling!

Room Tip: We took the Superior room to have access to a walk-in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
2.7 km away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
18.0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.3 km away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,185 reviews
4.8 km away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
710 reviews
29.6 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Property: Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing