We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TravelocityUS$119
Orbitz.comUS$119
Hotels.comUS$119
TripadvisorUS$119
Vio.com
Etrip
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
28
47
49
45
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
47
49
45
79
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 248 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a place I was so excited for, but ended up leaving a day early. The beach was exquisite, the water perfect, and the grounds nicely maintained. Paradise, really!!!! However, I wouldn't recommend this place unless they make a lot of improvements. First, the room was terribly shabby. There was a urinal in the shower, giant spiders in the bathroom, and the room was hideous. Nothing on the walls, very outdated, cheap and shabby furniture. The tv didn't work, there was no plug for the bedside lamp, and the bed was adequate, but with old army blankets. There were no screens on the window, so we couldn't listen to the ocean. I asked for a nicer or newer room and they said no, even though there was hardly anyone there. (during off-season) Second, the service: very unhappy employees more interested in Facebook and tv than helping. Many young people doing hard labor, and really nickeled and dimed for everything from ice to a beach chair. Finally, the food: it was greasy, unoriginal, and they only had about a third of what was listed on the menu. I actually got bad diarreaha from the food, luckily I had an antibiotic. This place has potential but is terribly managed. I hope they improve but I will not go back and do not recommend.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EllieGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided on a whim to take a one-night trip to Koh Samet and only researched places to stay the day before online. Options were slim given we were going on New Year's Day but we decided to just show up via taxi from Bangkok and see what adventure awaited us! We were told our options would be slim but knew we wanted to stay away from the party scene so we took an open-air jeep to the far end of the island. By talking to other people on the taxi we learned that Samet Ville Resort had a couple rooms open. My traveling partner spoke Thai which we thought might help our check-in process. I can't remember what our room cost, but the only option available was a beachside family bungalow/cottage.

I'm a pretty easy-going traveler and we obviously mistakenly thought this resort was going to be a surprising, pleasant find for our 1 day/night on the island. I could literally write pages about what happened during our very short stay, but I'll list a few top +'s and -'s that could help future visitors decide what's important to them.

The good stuff:
1) Beach was beautiful, stunning rocks and secluded areas to explore. Photos taken at sunrise and sunset were simply stunning.
2) Resort location was across the road (yes a dirt road but that added to the adventure) from the other side of the island which was an amazing nighttime walk after sunset. The next resort up the beach was walking distance as well and the food at Apache Restaurant was some of the best of my entire vacation.
3) Beachfront bungalow with the waves at sunrise was so relaxing and I definitely appreciated how secluded it felt. Coming from the hustle of Bangkok, a day on that beach was just perfect.

The stuff that makes for a poor rating:
1) Customer service at the resort was non-existent. Service at restaurant was horrible. Beach and resort areas were not very clean.
2) Accommodations were outdated, at least in our bungalow. Some of the other cottages looked newer but most of them were old. We did not even use the shower in our room, but used the main shower by the restaurant/front desk instead. We slept on top of the covers on our beds and put towels over the pillows because nothing looked clean. Towels were threadbare as were the sheets/blankets.
3) The resort staff's interpretation of island time was very stressful when we tried to book our water taxi out. We booked the night before and had to keep asking the front desk when the taxi would show up once the departure time passed. There was a huge crowd of people all waiting to leave and getting anxious about missing connecting travel plans. We stood on the beach and ran up to the taxi with the minute it "docked", thank goodness because not everyone fit on and those who were waiting by the desk probably had to wait another hour for the next taxi from that company.

Overall, given our lack of advance planning we were very happy to have visited Koh Samet, and found it an island we fell in love with. We definitely did not fall in love (or like) with Samet VIlle Resort and hope that those who plan ahead would at least understand the quality of the resort before booking. We took the pamphlet/brochure to the front desk and asked them where those photos were taken, we were told they were taken at another resort down the road, haha! So don't believe what you find on the resort website, but do believe the reviews.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

There are a lot of reviews for this property and reading them sort of confused us before booking. We took a bit of a risk and booked at the hotel for 3 nights. In this review I am attempting to clearly explain what to expect from Samet Ville

1) Rating - This is definitely not a 5 star property. If I were to go by the international rating standards I would put it somewhere between 3.5 - 4 stars. This of course does not mean its a bad resort. It just isnt in the 5 star category

2) Facilities -

a) Restaurant - The hotel has a fairly good open and covered restaurant with a sea view. The menu is mostly south east asian but you can get steaks, pizzas and pastas and a few other cuisines as well. Food quality is pretty good. The fixed breakfast menu can get a bit boring after a couple of days though. The bar is a part of this restaurant. The food prices are higher than most places across the island.

b) Swimming Pool - Nice clean pool surrounded by greenery. Has a nice sun deck with reclining deck chairs as well. Its a bit small but was rarely very crowded. About 15m in length at the most.

c) The Beach and beach equipment - The resort has its own private beach (Ao Wai). The water is blue and warm, sand is very soft and clean, pretty ideal according to me. It is about a 500m stretch and quite isolated. A lot of the beaches across Koh Samet are pretty busy and have lots to do. This beach is mainly meant for kicking back and relaxing. For beach chairs you either have to pay a fee (50 baht) and deposit (200 baht i think) or you can get them for free if you have one of the more expensive rooms. They also have other beach equipment like mats, tubes, snorkeling gear etc...which can all be rented.

3) Rooms - We had taken a superior sea view room which was practically on the beach. I didnt see all the other rooms but definitely some are newer than the others and the quality is very different. We were paying about 3500 Baht a night for this room (breakfast included). The room was worth it from the view point of view. One on end was the ocean and on the back it was complete greenery and almost in the middle of the forest. The inside of the room was not the best though. Paint was peeling off, the bathroom and shower was just the basics, Old TV, NO ROOM SERVICE/TELEPHONE and gloomy lighting. It was a very large room and fairly clean. The bed was comfortable. You can hear all sorts of loud insects and birds all through the night. I kind of enjoyed the sounds but my wife didnt.

4) Location of the Resort - Now this is the big one. Koh Samet has a couple of popular beaches which are busy and touristy in the north east. As you move south along the east coast the beaches become a bit more isolated. Ao Wai, where our resort was is in the southern most beach on the island. The problem is that there is only one road to connect all the beaches and resorts and its not maintained at all. Its practically a dirt track. You need to hire a bike or quad bike to go from one place to another and is definitely not easy to maneuver the road. We managed on a bike but we made sure we went quite slow and covering about 5 kms would take 30 mins or more and it would be very bumpy. If you need action on the beach and do not want to risk the commute I would recommend to stay in the north (Hat Sai Kew or some neighboring beaches). I personally enjoyed the luxury of living on an isolated beach and then riding up to the busy beaches in the evenings for fun but it can be pretty annoying for some. There are also lots of open air jeeps that go up and down on the road. Im not sure of the prices because we never used them.

5) Getting there and away - You need to arrive at Ban Phe which is about 3 hours from Bangkok. You can reach Ban Phe either by bus from the Ekamai bus station (take a taxi or airport express from the airport) or even go directly by cab (expensive). From Ban Phe you have to take a ferry to the beach/resort you are going to. There are 3 options for this - a) Take a public ferry which is fixed timings every day b) A speedboat - this can accomodate about 10 people and is more expensive and not necessarily fixed timings c) a private speedboat which is expensive but takes you directly to the resort - a) and b) options stop at various beaches on the way. Ao Wai is the last report on the island

6) Service - Language is a problem with some of the attendants/waiters but if you are regular traveler you will easily manage. For people who are used to traveling in more developed nations or only English speaking countries - it can be a bit of a shocker.

7) The hotel website - The hotel website definitely showcases it as way more luxurious than it really is. Please do not go expecting a 5 star resort.

In short, if you would like a private beach, basic clean rooms and dont mind braving the commute to see the other beaches on the island then it is recommended. If you are looking at partying extensively or a very luxurious stay - choose another place.

Room tip: Some of the rooms looked very old and shabby. We had a slightly newer room. The garden view rooms seemed nicer than the sea view rooms but the sea view in itself is very nice.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vikasjawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Samet Ville is not very nice. The rooms are old and in need of some serious TLC and service needs major improvement. The mattresses here are the hardest I have ever slept on. Picture spending your night sleeping on your dining table. It is far from the main party beach and the road there is a rough and scary one...borderline dangerous! The restaurant is terrible!! They are on a nice beach and it was nice to have only a handful of other people on the beach with us. If you want a night of peace and quiet and are willing to pack your own food then it's okay. You won't wan't to stay here for longer than that though... Too bad they don't fix it up and offer better customer service b/c the location makes a good quick peaceful getaway.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biviana929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It has almost the same name of one of the best hotel "samed villa", but it Is certainly not!! This is samet ville, just here you know that they are trying to trick you

Checkin poor, understaffed for the load of passengers getting off the speed boat, took 40" in an organized mess to get the room

Got a villa for 4500 bath, no sea view, two materass on the floor for the kids with no sheets, no amenities in the bathroom, bring your toilet paper! A real dump the villa

Restaurant, food not bad but service so so poor. We gave our room no. To charge the bill and after 30 minutes none returned to our table so we left. 2 hours later at 10pm a fu.... waiter knoks and yells at our room, waking up the kids, he wanted us to sign the bill--- to strangled him is the minimum we wish to do

Breakfast stay away, mediocre

Our son got injured in the rocks, we asked for first aid help at the reception, the manager handed us a bucket with used, unsterilized products, and the bucket/gaze etc were full of blood from the previous patient . Wow a aids bucket!! To be sued right there. We did not use it of course

Beach nice and quiet, unfortunately dirty, nonody clean up the trash

Pool, no umbrella, no towels, unattended, heavy chemicals

Beach has 3 long chairs that s it!

Clientele 90% thai, how did we end up there?
Keep out

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sutopi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews