We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid !!!!!!!”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #45 of 93 Restaurants in Ware
Description: Sue and her team are excited to welcome you to the White Horse Free House a family friendly pub/restaurant nestled in the village of Wareside Herts. Enjoy home cooked food and traditional Cask ales.
Restaurant details
Description: Sue and her team are excited to welcome you to the White Horse Free House a family friendly pub/restaurant nestled in the village of Wareside Herts. Enjoy home cooked food and traditional Cask ales.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Just had the most awful experience at this terrible pub. Fake frozen Greek food which tasted disgusting in every way. Just wait til you meet the landlady !!! Delusional and completely full of herself not to mention extremely rude, I wouldn’t let her work in a morgue !
Luckily there is a beautiful pub opposite called The Chequers which has amazing food and atmosphere.
Will never step inside the white horse ever again.

7  Thank sarahcc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you Sarahcc87 for your review however we do not believe your review to be polite or genuine. Our dishes are freshly prepared daily. Our lovely staff including the landlady Sue as will be noted from our other reviews on Trip Advisor and other websites have all been praised for the friendly service offered and warm welcoming. We would be happy to discuss your grievances further on 01920464433.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 37 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

We are vegetarian and were very pleased to discover the White Horse at Wareside.
This restaurant has a very welcoming culture supported by all the staff.
The menu has a wide choice of Greek food satisfying all tastes.
The food was professionally served and is of the highest quality.
We had Halloumi starter served with a well dressed salad. The vegetarian mousaka main course was delicious as was my Wife' s vegetarian Kebab.
We look forward to returning soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PeterGJMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food and liked the menu. Sue and her team really do appreciate your kind words and feedback PeterGJMunro. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

My partner and I happened across the White Horse whilst looking for somewhere warming and a late lunch. We found both in ample measure. A charming pub and restaurant with superb food in generous helpings and topped off by pleasant and first class service, particularly from the young lady who served us whom I believe is Ellen. A thoroughly lovely afternoon and a venue we very much look forward to returning to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food and your visit to The White Horse. Sue and her team really do appreciate your kind words Shaun M. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018

We were met with a warm welcome from owner Sue and waitress Alice who couldn't have been more helpful. The food was excellent, all freshly cooked , and so filling we didn't have room for dessert, which I'm sure would have been equally as delicious.
My vegetarian moussake was well worth waiting for, I hadn't had one for years.
Unfortunately my father had a fall on way to the toilets but again Sue and especially Alice, were excellent and helped to treat him, thankfully he was ok. I am sure we will be back again, thank you Alice for looking after dad.

1  Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hi Diane, thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We do hope your dad is feeling better from his fall. Sue and her team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile

Great friendly service and a warm welcome. The food is mouthwatering and portion sizes very generous. The menu has something for everyone including a great kids menu. Our party had the meat platter which was delicious as well as the Pie of the week and Fish and Chips, and two kids meals. We we so full there wasn’t room for the lovely desserts! The restaurant is very clean and tidy as are the toilets. Prices are reasonable too. We are looking forward to returning especially in the summer when the kids can use the play area and enjoy the outdoor space.

2  Thank MCdude38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Guest Relations Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Thank you so much MCdude38 for your review. Sue and her team are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and the food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 
Ware, Hertfordshire
Ware, Hertfordshire
 
Ware, Hertfordshire
Stanstead Abbotts, Ware
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing