We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely way to forget everything for a few hours.

Visited on 17/10/18, very enjoyable way to pass a few hours whilst in Cornwall. My OH and I are... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
ThreeCrazyCats83
via mobile
Country delight

Visited during a quiet time of year and enjoyed a pleasant stroll in the larger estate. It was a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
andyjohnfarlow
,
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Read all 5,533 reviews
  
Reviews (5,533)
Filter reviews
5,533 results
Traveller rating
3,491
1,351
455
156
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,491
1,351
455
156
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope bridge jungle area eden project lost gardens of heligan formal gardens woodland walk the kitchen pineapple full bloom gardens are beautiful magical place different areas every corner farm shop well worth a visit hard work salad
Filter
Updating list...
5,340 - 5,345 of 5,533 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2009

I am sure that these gardens are lovely and from reviews I have read sound really great place to visit but we never made it past the entrance as just felt prices were really high. We went about a week ago whilst on holiday in Cornwall but decided that £50 for a family ticket for my partner and I and 3 children and then £20 each for my mother and father was just too much. We did have a look to see if we could tell what you were getting for that price but were further put off by notice saying noise should be kept to a minimum. We decided £90 for a few hours in some gardens where the kids weren't allowed to make much noise was just not a worthwhile use of our holiday money or time.

3  Thank emsy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2015

We're really sorry to hear that you didn't enter the gardens when you visited.

Please note that these are actually our annual ticket prices. For these prices you would have been entitled to visit the gardens as many times as you liked in a year along with discount in the Heligan Shop, Tearoom, Plant Centre and a number of other benefits.

Our day admission prices are around half of the prices that you have been stated and can be found on our website.

We really hope that you are able to come and experience the gardens should you visit Cornwall again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We went here on a sunny day and thoroughly enjoyed it. At just over £10 it is good value and there is plenty to see. The jungle is atmospheric and even those with mobility problems should be able to see some of it. The gardens were very pretty and we enjoyed the show from the hidden cameras in the hide (as in BBC's Springwatch).
The gardens are well laid out and the map very informative on which areas are steep etc..Follow your visit with a trip to nearby Mevagissey, which is a pretty fishing village.

1  Thank johnofhornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This is a truly wonderful place. An edwardian garden that feels like the world 100 years ago is within reach. And a few minutes walk away a Jungle that feels like the world before humans arrived, This is one of the best gardens to visit, Excellent use of the land and visitor friendly. A garden shop that appeals and offers sensible items as well as produce from the gardens for sale and offered in the restaurant. Well worth the cost and you get a free compass to get around.

Thank Soulhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We arrived bright and early in beautiful sunshine. Our first stop was the cafe for breakfast and then energised we set off down to the lost valley and jungle. It had been a few years since out last walk of the gardens and then it was sleeting! Over the years the whole of the gardens has come into its own and is a very pleasurable day out. We decided to walk up to the formal gardens across a field in the mid day sun arriving at the top in need of a drink. After a bottle of water we set off to explore the rest of the gardens. Too many photo opportunities to list here but all in all a great day out and worth every penny although I believe the entrance fee is modest. Their website is excellent and helps you plan your day.

Stout shoes are recommended and I would agree wholeheartedly having seen a few people struggling in flip flops!!

We rounded off our visit with a browse in the plant shop and came away with a bargain or two...........

1  Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2009

If you love exploring beautiful gardens and grounds this is a must see and you can easily spend a leisurely 5 hours there. The place is superb just see our pics.

Thank polymol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews