We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely way to forget everything for a few hours.

Visited on 17/10/18, very enjoyable way to pass a few hours whilst in Cornwall. My OH and I are... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
ThreeCrazyCats83
via mobile
Country delight

Visited during a quiet time of year and enjoyed a pleasant stroll in the larger estate. It was a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
andyjohnfarlow
,
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Read all 5,533 reviews
  
Reviews (5,533)
Filter reviews
5,533 results
Traveller rating
3,491
1,351
455
156
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,491
1,351
455
156
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope bridge jungle area eden project lost gardens of heligan formal gardens woodland walk the kitchen pineapple full bloom gardens are beautiful magical place different areas every corner farm shop well worth a visit hard work salad
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 5,533 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Went here with family from Australia. They loved the place. I visit very often with my 3 children and there's always something new to see and do. Highly recommend the lost gardens of heligan for a day out without the hustle and bustle of rides and attractions.

Thank Jemz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

The story behind the re-discovery of the gardens and the work of two guys in particular was fascinating. An endeavour indeed but, that was some time ago. The formal gardens were interesting but hardly any plant colour at all. To be honest, all a bit barren. I can accept this in the middle of winter but this was June. Had to kind of use imagination as to what it may look like.

Some lovely hidden gardens on the various trails. Jungle and rope bridge were good. Rare livestock also to be seen. But, the hidden gardens appeared to have hidden the flowers.

Bit underwhelming really.

Thank Dillan1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

This year saw the first heavy snowfall in 10 years along with a very wet and cold start to the year.

We’re sorry that the gardens were not at their best at the time of your visit but do hope that you’re able to join us again soon. From wildflowers to formal gardens, the gardens are now looking beautiful set to the backdrop of clear blue skies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We visited shortly after it first opened and were delighted to be able to make a return visit. For us it had lost none of its magic and it was wonderful to see how much the gardens had grown now they are established. You certainly need to be aware there is a lot of walking to be done and some of the climbs are not for the faint hearted. However it is an exceptional good way to spend a few hours and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Everywhere is extremely dog friendly and they even provide a doggy treat and a poo bag when you arrive. Also there are lots of doggy poo bins around the site which are all marked on the site map you get at the entrance. We had a superb cream tea and a cider at the cafe which was excellent value for money. Onsite car parking was free. All the staff were extremely pleasant and no doubt we will return in the future.

Thank 1norfolkdumplings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

25 years seem to have flown by and we’re really pleased to learn that you have been able to join us for a return visit.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We last visited Heligan 14 years ago with our American relatives. It was beautiful and we had such a lovely day. The gardens at that time really reflected the time before the tragic events that befell this lovely estate. We were more than disappointed this time that it had been changed to give children entertainment with animals, playgrounds and fast food. Imagine a burger station at Heligan. Also the odours that gives off in such a beautiful environment. Children don't need entertaining. They find adventure where ever they go if you let them as is the case at Trebah Gardens. Heligan has been totally spoilt and is moving if you are not careful into a theme park. How ghastly. We are more than sad.

2  Thank Lysias54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thank you for coming back to visit The Lost Gardens of Heligan after a 14 year break. We’ve received many return visit reviews which have been very positive (you’ll find one directly above your review) so are sorry to learn of your disappointing return.

When Sir Tim Smit’s journey began, he arrived at Heligan with the intention of looking for some land to create a rare breeds’ farm. Little did he know what secrets were to be discovered amongst the brambles of time. 25 years later, we have gone full circle and are now a Rare Breeds Survival Trust certified rare breed farm park as well as BBC Countryfile Magazine’s ‘Garden of the Year’ 2018.

All play areas are in keeping with the Heligan Estate and are built using Heligan materials by our on-site team. You will also find play areas in Great Gardens of Cornwall such as Trebah Garden.

Once again, we are sorry that your return visit was not as you had hoped but do hope that you will return once again to see how we continue to grow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

These gardens are not for pensioners or people with bad legs ,the terrain is extremely hilly and the rough paths treacherous. I was underwhelmed at the flowers on show and in the gardens in general and at over £14 entry it is poor value for money.

1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Here at The Lost Gardens most of the 13-acre Northern Gardens is accessible and there is full access to the Hide (the indoor heart of our Wildlife Project), and the Steward’s House however, due to the topography of the land, the wider estate is hilly and unsuitable for some. We would disagree that it is unsuitable for pensioners as we often meet all ages of visitors from all walks of life throughout the gardens and estate.

We are sorry to see that you were unaware of the accessibility of the gardens prior to you visit and that you left feeling underwhelmed. We have passed your comments onto the relevant departments to avoid similar disappointments in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews