We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun”
Review of Aquario Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aquario Hostel
Reviewed 28 August 2016

All you could want from a hostel in this area; great parties between Sunday - Thursday (the parties on Friday and Saturday night are in town) partly since its the only place to go out between those days and partly because the setting is so amazing. Staff are extremely chilled, they allow you to drink your own drink in their hostel, which was the first time I experienced that in any hostel in South America at that point. Aquario is also the pick-up location for boat tours around the various beaches of Ilha Grande as well as the islands surrounding it. Breakfast included, simple but nice (ham and cheese sandwich + fruit). Beds comfortable. For the price we paid, we are extremely happy with what we got. One of the best hostel experiences I have had in Brazil.

Room Tip: Cheapest 4 bed dorm = adequate as long as you dont plan on sleeping before 3am on party nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We have just left the hostel and overall it was the best place we have stayed in in Brasil. Debbie and Big Mama and the rest of the staff were absolutely superb, catering to our every need and making the experience truly memorable, while the room was clean and the public areas comfy. The reviews that complain about noise are laughable given that it is a backpackers hostel- the nights were brilliant and its the centre for nights in Ilha Grande. Thank you so much for an unforgettable time to Fred and the rest of the team!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank tombacon111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Receptionist was incredibly helpful. Parties during the beginning of week were good fun. BBQs were excellent and very good value as the quality of meat was high. Rooms were clean. View of the bay is spectacular. The owner is a good bloke. Overall good hostel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Best Parties, awesome boat trips, paradisean Islands Highly recommended, Sirilo, the sailor speaks english and spanish.. BBQs.. Breakfast really complete, insane viewing. Staff really nice, rooms clean and secure.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Debb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Perfect stay!! The staff and the owner are all so friendly and the location and views are just super. Debby (the receptionist) really is the loveliest person and made us feel at home instantly. She helped us with everything from checking the weather and making decisions about our trip to booking tours and giving us tips about where to eat and go! We planned on staying for two nights but ended up staying for four nights, and we didn't want to leave. Clean rooms and good breakfast too.

Room Tip: Bottom floor, right in front of the hammocks - perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emelie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

DEBBIE was absolutely amazing!!! She was very accommodating and helpful. Had a great time and met lots of amazing people. BBQ night was fantastic. Included a free drinks and unlimited bbq. There was a ton of food and lots of different options. Some of us from the hostel did the paradise island tour and had a blast! The islands are beautiful and the boat driver was great. The owner of the hostel also gave us a bottle of wine. Would definitely come back!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Marsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The location is the best in the island. The staff were very friendly. My friend and I stayed in a private room that was really lovely and had a really good view.
They help you with anything you may need, there are parties all the time and it has such a relaxed atmosphere that you really don´t want to leave.

Room Tip: 109 is the vest of the private rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
2.1 km away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#16 of 17 in Ilha Grande
37 reviews
0.6 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
301 reviews
0.6 km away
Holandes Hostel
Holandes Hostel
#2 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Marlin Hostel
Marlin Hostel
#3 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
58 reviews
0.1 km away
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
0.6 km away
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
#15 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquario Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquario Hostel

Address: Praia da Julia, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range: $48 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Aquario Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing