We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe!”
Review of Aquario Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aquario Hostel
Reviewed 8 February 2017

The staff is very nice and helpful (Debb is amazing!) and the position of the hostel is great. At night they organize parties and during the day nice excursions to the islands. Perfect to meet people but The rooms are definitely NOT the best (very small and not very clean).

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ciliegia87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Best receptionist ever: Debby! Best view!! Best parties!!! The transfer arrives right at the Dock of the host. Shower was good enough. Nice
Places to chill and look at the sea. Short walk to the city. Like.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TrippyAcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

We made a booking and it was upgraded ...we got 1 room for 3 persons....the view was perfect....weather was good...nice people who work there...helpfull
..friendly...good rooms...quite....every night a party but we didnt here it ...we loved it!!

Thanx

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I was a bit nervous at first. I was traveling alone and got in later than expected. From the moment I arrived at Aquarius they were welcoming and very helpful. The rooms/beds were clean, staff SUPER friendly. I can't stress enough how far out of their way they went to help me with anything I needed. I only stayed two nights (really consider staying in Ilha Grande longer than two days!), but I made really great friends in that short time. I went on the boat trip which was really well worth it, the bar is super fun with lots of dancing and guests from other hostels and hotels venturing over. I ended up forgetting my jacket (with memory cards of all my trip photos in the pockets!!) and i wrote them once I realized, they gave my jacket to someone who lives in the same city as me and I just got it back last night!! Really a wonderful little hostel with a huge heart. Loved it and would most definitely return if ever in Brazil again. Also, freshly baked cake for breakfast. So good.

Room Tip: the bar stays open late so if you're a light sleeper and staying in a shared room try ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paige s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Staff is extremely helpful (thanks again Deb!) Perfect location and amazing trails and beaches. Staff gives good information and routes how to get to nice spots. Rooms are clean and breakfast is also good!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and enjoyed our time on the island, which is beautiful. The hostel itself was ok. Our private room was very basic (as you would expect with the price) but cleaned daily. Fantastic view of the sea and you can hear the ocean coming in against the rocks of a morning! The shower was awful though...sooooo slow and not so warm! That would be my only criticism of the room. Breakfast was good...bread, cheese, ham, cereal, fruit, cake, quiche etc complete with great views. Shared kitchen was available (not the best facilities) as well for those looking to save costs. We didn't use it much though as other people don't know how to clean up after themselves properly. The staff at the hostel were friendly. Debbie speaks good English and was full of knowledge about the island and ideas for things to do. Wifi is only available in main reception and surrounding area, not from your room which was absolutely fine for us. Seemed to be quite a few power cuts though during our time which left us with no wifi or light in the room.
As a lot of other people have mentioned on here, this is a party hostel. If you don't plan on being up all night partying, I wouldn't recommend staying here. Me and my gf are not party goers but our room was around the side away from it all so we slept ok. In future we would stay at a quieter place. But overall we enjoyed our time here and I would recommend this hostel to those looking for late nights (people younger than me!!!).

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jon_L_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This is a party place, not a hostel. The party's were nice, rooms were dirty and the water was cold. People were having sex in the rooms all the time. The location is good but That's it. I changed hostel for the last night.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
2.1 km away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#16 of 17 in Ilha Grande
37 reviews
0.6 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
301 reviews
0.6 km away
Holandes Hostel
Holandes Hostel
#2 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Marlin Hostel
Marlin Hostel
#3 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
58 reviews
0.1 km away
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
0.6 km away
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
#15 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquario Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquario Hostel

Address: Praia da Julia, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range: $48 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Aquario Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing