We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and cosy”
Review of Frutt Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frutt Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melchsee-Frutt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2018

I really fell in love with this hotel. Firstly, the staff are really incredible; very friendly and professional. Secondly, the food is outstanding, like Michelin star type quality. Thirdly, the location is very beautiful; lakes and mountains. It's fairly pricey, but it's worth it. I would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Langridj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

Our stay came close to perfection, but only just.

The building, the rooms, the interior concept - it's truly the perfect Mountain Lodge. It looks good and feels good. And looking out of your room window is an almost transcendental experience. The landscape opens up on you and your inner self starts to connect immediately. With the hotel situated in the lap of the surrounding mountains it's almost like residing in a bird's nest.

If you want be away from everything or residing right in the middle of the ski slopes, you succeed in both. And that's rare.

Almost: the SPA is beautifully done. Almost perfect. It's just slightly too small. And there is a huge difference between really exceptional staff and some, who are just acceptable. And that's no good.

Almost, 2: The restaurant Titschli, a beauty in itself. A lot of motivated people. The menu rather interesting and the sources all local. Almost again, because some of the service staff are truly excellent and others, unfortunately, well below the line. A pity for the ones, who really succeed. Close to perfect then, when you tell the responsible people that things are not the way they should be, you get an instant response. And this with fierce determination. That's a plus.

Almost, 3: Pricing. It's very expensive. You get a lot for what you pay, especially location and architecture. No doubt about it. But as you are not in St. Moritz or Zermatt, these high prices are rather questionable, to say the least.

Go there, enjoy your room as you probably never have enjoyed a hotel room. This is perfection. And maybe the other issues are being taken care of.

Room Tip: Book a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mortimer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Really have to point out the excellently friendly service! We felt very welcomed with our dog. The location is quite spectacular and the amazing view best seen from the huge windows in the large bedroom. Food was very good and the spa the perfect to unwind. We will go back

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Momo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place with excellent view
Very nice room very comfortable and big one
Nice bathroom with excellent view
Good breakfast
The food is just good
People are nice
Nice place for business meetings but also for family holidays

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This is a great place to stay - not great outside but very pretty designed inside with great views over the lake - suggest you book a lake view room. All is super modern and perfectly thought through which makes staying here such a pleasure. You can just enjoy the amazing views or pamper yourself in the beautiful spa - which is really worth while visiting. Staff are super friendly and we also enjoyed diner and breakfast - great choice and great food. The only draw back we noticed was that there is no air conditioning in the room, which means that on a hot summers day you just can’t get your room to cool down at night (even with a fully open window) which can make it difficult to get a good nights sleep. Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sensula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at Melchsee Frutt Lodge to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Getting up there is part of the experience, great drive up the mountain (at even hours). We tested the 4x4 feature of the car :) On top there is only a huge public parking (16chf, no matter how long you stay, hotel does not reimburse the cost), the Lodge does not offer a parking. It is possible to drive up to the lodge to drop luggage, we found the streets up there confusing.

The hotel is very pretty. Contemporary mountain style, combining wood in a Swiss- Scandinavian style.

We had asked for lake view which I would recommend to get. Interior of the room feels very Christmassy and cosy. Rooms are spacious, the bathroom featured a tub and shower.

Breakfast was included in our rate and offered a wide regional selection of food and specialities.

We also dined twice at the International restaurant and were impressed by the menu and quality of food.

Also there is a private screening room where every night a different film can be watched at no extra charge. We watched once and liked the experience.

Also we used the Spa 3 days. It all seems absolutely new and very well maintained. The pool area is medium size, the hamam and sauna rooms are very spacious and have great view onto the lake.

We would have loved to do the morning Yoga lesson, but as it was daily from 9-10 am and breqkfast already closed at 10:30, we disliked the timing. 8am or 8:30 session would be better.

On our check out day (Monday) we asked for late check out (regular: 11:30), but it was only possible for an additional 1.30 hrs at a surcharge of 30 CHF, which we found ridiculous given the pricing of the hotel.

Overall we spent an amazing weekend in a magical surrounding in a very nice hotel. Would definitely recommend to stay there and am tempted myself to return in winter for staying.



















Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FrlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Great location, great hotel, very friendly and polite staff. A huge budget room had a beautiful mountain view, fridge, Nespresso mashine, a bowl of fruit, an umbrella, a very comfortable armchair...
You can enjoy your free first drink in the bar on terrace - the centre of hotel`s life in summer.
The wellness pool is unforgettable: a colorful lighting, massage jets, heated beds and a such magic view...
It`s a pity, we did not complete a hike "four lakes" this time. I am shure that next our stay in this hotel we will do it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okoxanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melchsee-Frutt
9 km away
Barghuis Jochpass
Barghuis Jochpass
#4 of 23 in Engelberg
108 reviews
35.1 km away
Swiss Holiday Park
Swiss Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Morschach
316 reviews
29.1 km away
The Chedi Andermatt
The Chedi Andermatt
#1 of 11 in Andermatt
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
122 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#3 of 6 in Hasliberg
47 reviews
12.2 km away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 4 in Sarnen
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frutt Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frutt Lodge & Spa

Address: Frutt 9, Melchsee-Frutt 6068, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Melchsee-Frutt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melchsee-Frutt
Price Range: $288 - $892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frutt Lodge & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a guest at the frutt Lodge & Spa Hotel, you will be treated to a unique location on the sunny plateau of Melchsee-Frutt 1 920m above sea level. The hotel is Europe's highest-altitude 4-star Superior hotel situated on a lake, offering breathtaking views of the starry night sky. These amazing views can be enjoyed right from your room. The 58 rooms and 9 suites are furnished in natural materials, with warm wooden pieces and stylish detail. The interior design is reminiscent of a classic lodge style and provides a fascinating contrast to the distinctive exterior. Culinary delights come courtesy of two restaurants and a hotel bar & lounge offering regional cuisine and a selection of fine wines. By the way, according to Gault-Millau, the hotel’s wine list is one of Switzerland’s top ten. After a busy day, guests can relax in the 900 sqm in-house Spa wellness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frutt Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing