We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazingly relaxing spot - lovely hosts.”

Review of Rodel Valley

Rodel valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rodel valley
Kitchen cabin one Bathroom with sauna cabin one
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Rodel valley
Kitchen cabin one
Bathroom with sauna cabin one
Steam shower with sauna cabin two
Kitchen cabin two
Living room with wood burning stove cabin two
St Clements church at sunset
Rodel
Village of Rodel
Watch some Harris Tweed weaving
Loch walk near the cabin's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rodel, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrewsmi...
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly relaxing spot - lovely hosts.”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely cabin, extremely cosy. Wood burning stove, Jacuzzi bath and sauna!! House is kitted out to a very high standard and we had a lovely stay. Owners made us very welcome and we were lucky enough so have a demonstration of Harris Tweed being woven – all by person power – pedalling in fact. Will be back soon – thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: high standard
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JediTrek...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break in a Fantastic Cabin!!!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Fortunately the 2nd time I have had the pleasure of staying in cabin 2 at this remarkable cabin! Luxurious, clean and everything you need for a relaxed week of walking and sightseeing on the picturesque setting of the Rodel Valley. The Cabin is immaculate, and the Shower/steam room/monsoon is nothing short of spectacular, Lovely Kitchen and such a nice touch to receive wine and chocolates on arrival, then 4 days in Home bakes and fresh eggs from the chickens outside! Can not rate this accommodation highly enough...absolute 5 star...we will return!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendi S
2 reviews
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked Rodel Valley Cabins for a four day break with our two dogs and were hoping for a relaxing time .This is exactly what we had , the hospitality of Stephen and Rebecca was outstanding and we arrived at the cabin to wine and fresh eggs . The cabin itself was home from home it was so well equipped that we wanted for nothing , it was so clean warm and cosy and easy to maintain . Apart from the cabin itself one of the highlights of the trip was being able to weave some Harris Tweed on Stephens loom . Stephen took us to his shed which contained the loom and let us weave some tweed and explained the workings of the loom and told us about the history of Harris Tweed which we found extremely interesting, so all in all we had a fantastic break and can't recommend these cabins highly enough , oh! And not forgetting Rebecca's home made shortbread it is absolutely fabulous . Thanks again to both of them , we'll definately be back .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillet-H...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday, amazing lodges'”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in July with my partner and extended family including 2 kids a dog and 7 adults. The lodges were utterly gorgeous with everything you could possibly need. Located in the quiet south point of Rodel, they were idyllic in setting and incredibly comfortable. The owners of the cabins could not have been happier to help or more generous with fresh eggs and wine on our arrival and always offering their advice on places to go and see!

We stayed for 5 nights and loved every minute of our stay from the jacuzzi bath to the sauna and steam shower which were very welcome after a 30 mile cycle around the island. I am hoping to go back next year with friends and will hopefully continue to visit Harris as I doubt I will ever not be in awe of the beauty of this island and the friendliness of those who live there!

Thanks again for an amazing holiday!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation and location.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just back from a fantastic week's stay at the Rodel Cabins. Along with my family, 7 adults, two kids and a Jack Russell , we stayed in both cabins , a superb holiday experience was had by all. The cabins are superb in every detail, the sauna's were used most days and steam showers were great after a good walk. I have stayed in Rodel before and on Harris several times, however the Rodel cabins are a unique and high quality holiday experience. We will definitely be going back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek H
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Easily the best self catering accomodation that we have ever stayed in. A superb location with excellent walking from the door. Everthing we could have wanted in the cabin including a bottle of wine and home baking on arrival. Even golf clubs in the shed. Fantastic bathroom and superb sauna to relax in after a good days walking. Harris is the most beautiful place with beaches to rival anywhere in the world. The wildlife was plentful, being able to watch two buzzards from the bedroom window of our cabin.
Excellent meals at the Anchorage, Leverburgh and the seafood takaway was a very pleasant and delicious surprise.
Well worth the effort to get there.
Rebecca & Stephen were excellent hosts and we will definitely be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRD14
Auchterarder
1 review
“Book a holiday here!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from a week's stay in Rebecca and Stephen's lovely cabin. This was our first visit to Harris and it won't be our last. The cabin is spotless and beautifully presented. The bathroom in cabin 2 is great - with a jacuzzi bath to relax in. Rebecca and Stephen add all the extra touches which make your stay memorable - fresh eggs, home baking, wine and even a Harris Tweed demonstration! Rodel is a good base and we enjoyed our walk down to the harbour and church. Thanks for a lovely holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing