We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Super location with stunning views,returning in october for long weekend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porth Tocyn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwlchtocyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porth Tocyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super location with stunning views,returning in october for long weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We first visited this hotel in 1985 and have been visiting ever since.Delightful small country house style hotel,log fires at night, fresh flowers and well-used antique furniture.Staff are all bright and cheerful, it has a happy atmosphere.The hotel has stunning views of the sea and the mountains beyond. The menu changes everyday and the food is very good.Nick has a good wine list which is sensibly priced and you never feel you are paying over the odds, the down side is it encourages you to over indulge !
All the bedrooms have been sensitively refurbished and the pool area is a great place to relax all day in the sun.
Lots of lovely walks both to Abersoch and surrounding beaches. At this time of year the heather is in full bloom and a walk on the headland is a must.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    23
    23
    11
    14
See reviews for
45
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

we booked a room on monday 15 august for the sunday 21 august, my fathers funeral was on the thursday. by friday i realised i was too distressed to go. we informed hotel on friday giving 48hrs notice. man we spoke to was extremely unpleasant, bearing in mind he was speaking to a recently beveaved person.he stated he would only refund 100 pound deposit if he could relet room. very bad manners,poor attitude and zero communication skills!! glad we didnt go to be in the presence of such an uncaring man. he kept saying he was running a business and didnt know why people think they could cancel at short notice, they wouldnt be expected to if they were going aboard!!!!! i suggest this man keeps my 100 pounds and invests in a course on manners and interpersonal skills.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Thank you Nick and the rest of the very attentive staff for a wonderful stay!
The view is breath taking of Welsh coastline and farms. The reasturant menu changes daily and is not only delicious but more creative than others. creative. The accommodations exceeded our expectations. The bed and bedding was top notch and the bath not new but more modern
Then what you would expect in this very charming inn. Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kidsarebigsailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed four nights in one of the cottages, which was great for our 3-generational group. Definitely shabby-chic: the main living area was lovely, luxurious linens and towels, esoteric selection of reading materials, bit of a quirky layout. Semi-opaque bathroom doors required very un-luxurious draping with towels.

It's a five minute (steep!) walk down to the beach, and 10 minute (narrow) drive into Abersoch, which is a bit short on parking. Cute village full of clothes shops and eateries. Great views across to Snowdonia when the weather is good.

We had lunch and dinner at the hotel twice. Lunch was reasonably priced and very good. Dinners were uneven, and pricey. Venison and beef main courses were wonderful, but we were horrified when the 'tian of crab' appetizer turned out to be the same as the lunchtime filling in our crab sandwich.

Basil Fawlty comparisons with the owner Nick (see previous reviews) are apt. Eccentricity was amusing, rudeness wasn't. Don't visit if your enjoyment is dependent on being fawned upon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celticgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We have just returned from a weekend in Abersoch and from the moment that we arrived at the hotel, we knew that we were in for a treat. I have been to Abersoch many times over the years but I have never stayed in this hotel before and it was my boyfriend's first trip to Abersoch, we were so pleasantly surprised, it was just perfect. Nick greeted us with a warm welcome, has a fantastic sense of humour and is a real character. All the staff were attentive and friendly, going above and beyond their duties. The hotel itself is stunning in every way, from the decor, the pool, gardens, bed linen and fresh towels to the un-missable views. We sat out and enjoyed a perfectly chilled glass of wine whilst we took in the evening menu. The food can only be described as 5 star! It is as perfect as everything else in this country house hotel. After supper we sat in the bar until bedtime and enjoyed the company of other guests and the friendly staff who were so helpful with 'off the beaten track' destinations to visit the following day. I could write an essay of praise here but not a word of complaint. The location is peaceful and we had a wonderful nights sleep waking to the view of the calm sea followed by breakfast which was superb (go for the full English!) and the whole weekend's weather added extra sparkle! We will be back and we can not wait! The best location in Abersoch in our opinion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thewalters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmfirth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

eh -up all those looking for something classical & traditional-something missing in most restaurants today. take a look at Porth Tocyn...celebrated wife's 40th on 3rd July with good friends. what a fantastic time we had. i have read the negative comments that people have left on trip advisor and im going to tell you this ( from a true Yorkshireman) don't believe em- those who have left negative comments probably get exited at dining out at TGI fridays!!- you wont find a better place to celebrate a special occasion than Porth Tocyn. Nic is a fantastic host and you get personal service all night with great banter from a bloke that is truly passionate about his hotel, guests and food. Not like some restaurants in abersoch that simply fill the staff with spotty students from Cheshire and are managed by numties!!
trust me- if u want a meal in an atmosphere that you will look back on in years to come with happy memories then take a chance on Nic- he wont let you down.
PS. Id set up a carbon copy of Porth Tocyn in Huddersfield tomorrow if i could.
Sithee
neil XX

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkshireman099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

I and other family members have visited Porth Tocyn hotel regularly over the past 10 years. This family run hotel is a very special place, the service is individual & excellent with high quality staff . The food is exceptionally good, with varied and interesting menus. The setting is wonderful with views across Abersoch Bay to Snowdonia, so its worth having a sea view room. The lounge decor is homely and relaxing rather than grand, with an inviting open fire on cooler days. Every time I visit its a real pleasure and a wonderfully nourishing experience, I go home revitalised with many happy memories and always look forward to returning. The beaches & coastline of the Llyn Peninsula are wonderful for walking. Abersoch & Porth Ceriad beaches are within easy walking distance of the hotel. We have always had a warm welcome here and have never had a bad experience in 10 years of visits, so i would unreservedly recommend Porth Tocyn Hotel to families and couples looking for a holiday in this beautiful part of North Wales.

Room Tip: Room 3, double aspect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa201116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwlchtocyn
29.0 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
20.6 km away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
21.7 km away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.0 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
27.8 km away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
21.8 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Tocyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Tocyn Hotel

Property: Porth Tocyn Hotel
Address: Bwlchtocyn, Abersoch LL53 7BU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Bwlchtocyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Tocyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Porth Tocyn Hotel Bwlchtocyn
Porth Tocyn Abersoch
Porth Tocyn Hotel Abersoch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing