We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
68
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelhigh ceilingsfloor to ceiling windowshectic weekclose to the airportbeautiful placepeaceful retreatglass wallstar servicegalapagos islandsairport hotellate flightaccommodating staffthe kitchen staffbetween flightsone nightnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 72 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Having spent two days in the JW Marriott in the city prior to our trip to the Galapagos, the Polo Club Boutique Hotel was a great place to return to after a hectic week in the Galapagos.
We stayed three nights & didn't want to leave it was so relaxing. The photos are exactly as you see them. It's a beautifully kept place with very helpful & friendly staff. JC in particular, who helped us each morning with directions to tourist attractions. Not an easy task- car hire & driving is not for the faint hearted in Quito & the roads quite difficult to follow. Thankfully to JC we had two super days out in our hire car.
We ate in the restaurant & thoroughly enjoyed the food that was freshly cooked for us each time. The menu was small but tasty & reasonably priced.
If it's for a night's stay between flights or a relaxing few days it's a perfect spot.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

Just a few miles and a world away from the development surrounding the Quito airport, the Polo Club is a welcome oasis. The 20 minute ride from the airport (provided by the hotel) will be jarring to the wary traveler, especially at night, as the taxi trundles over broken streets between shuttered shops and cinder block dwellings. But at the end of the ride is a sprawling green oasis enveloped by agricultural land and actual, active polo fields that makes for an admirable way station for rest between long flights or before diving into a distant Ecuadorian adventure.

The fine brick buildings--some new and some repurposed from, yes, a polo club--blur the line between indoors and out. Two or theee of the four walls in the guest rooms are floor to ceiling glass, and the bar and dining room are similarly semi-open to the elements. At 8,000 plus feet here in the Andes, it is cool in the mornings and evenings and often breezy. This takes the edge off the equatorial sun during the day, but may be uncomfortable for the unprepared at poolside. However, what qualifies as a three or facility is an easy five because of the excellent and accommodating staff.

The food is adequate, inexpensive and thoughtfully prepared, but a better choice would be to serve simple local fare instead of trying to make Western guests feel at home with hamburgers and spaghetti. The native fruits and juices served with the included breakfast are excellent.

The hotel is remarkably quiet, aside from the occasional nocturnal outbursts from dogs defending their farms and the reverberations of jets gaining altitude, a sound that registers to the tired mind as distant thunder and serves to remind that one's time here is short and should be enjoyed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Tacomataster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

Don't let "airport" property influence you from not considering this jewel of a boutique hotel if you plan on visiting Quito and other tourist sites. The Polo Club Hotel is only 25 minutes from new town Quito, museums and other local attractions and just an hour from other sites including the Mitad del Mundo and other charming cites. Federico the manager is amazing, he arranged taxis during our entire stay even when we transferred to the Quito Sheraton for 2 nights. Federico gave me his cell phone number just in case we had any problems or questions and spoke English very well. The service from the staff was outstanding from our complimentary morning breakfast to coming to our room to see what time we would like dinner. The room was spacious and cozy with beautiful views of the polo fields, ponds and other surroundings. We stayed at the Polo Club for 2 nights and then transferred to the Sheraton and back again for 2 nights before our departure back to the US. Upon our return from the Sheraton my daughter and I both agreed it was nice to go return to the tranquility of the Polo Club hotel and the personalized service from Federico and his staff. I would highly recommend Quito Polo Club Boutique hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

We arrived late night to the airport and chose Polo Club so we could launch our trip the next morning and go back to the airport to pick up an additional traveler. Frederico was extremely professional and courteous - helped us find the hotel and also plan our northern trip the next day. He went out of his way to contact our future hotel to help secure a driver. This place is a fantastic gem! The rooms are gorgeous - window-filled and natural lighting.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAmelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Me, my wife and kids loved our experience here! We arrived about 10pm and truly thought our Taxi driver was taking us to the middle of no where. Once we arrived and realized we were in good hands, what a great find!! The rooms were very different / nice with the glass rooms. All was very clean and luxurious. The staff were all super nice and the breakfast and eating area were very elegant and the food was very good. Loved the indoor/outdoor feel. Would visit again without a doubt!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews